We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
199
186
118
79
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
186
118
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacques cartier boldt castle alex bay loft room the river hotel restaurant off season get away beautiful view outdoor pool nice balcony the wait staff the staff was great many years uncle sam boat tours bistro tiki
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We stayed off season, the rates were very reasonable, the rooms are large, comfortable and clean. There is a nice little sitting area, which offered a view of the river. Our room had a nice sized balcony that we would have used if it was a little warmer out. The beds were comfortable, as were the pillows!! I really liked the hardwood flooring in the rooms. The bathroom was good sized, and clean. The towels were soft and clean smelling. Staff were super nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was simple, but hit the spot. The only thing they might want to change is the tub, we had a bubble jet tub in our room, and while it was clean, it looked old, so we did not use it.

Room tip: I think paying extra for river view was worth the added expense.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Not a bad hotel, some rooms could use a little updating but this resort is right on the water. Excellent for boaters to dock right at the hotel, you can see Boldt Castle from the dining area, within walking distance to town.
A small pool great for kids

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank CraigL907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for your review! We are in the process of updating all rooms and hope to have them compete soon. We hope that you will visit us again and see the wonderful changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This was one of my favorite hotels to visit for a weekend getaway, but it is showing signs of wear and not much improvement. It is quickly becoming outdated. The management needs to take a close look at where improvements in accommodations can be made - I would start with the bathrooms and furniture in the suites.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank baeverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are in the process of updating guest rooms and hope to be completed soon. Updates include new flooring, new granite counter tops, new televisions, new beds, new headboards, new fixtures and more. We hope that you will visit us again soon and see the changes we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

My husband and I just stayed at the Riveredge Resort. We had a small but beautiful room with a balcony facing the St. Lawrence River and Boldt Castle. The view as well as the lights at night were very nice.The room was spotless, warm, and nicely decorated. Since it is winter, the hotel's restaurant is only open on the weekend. In the morning they have a continental breakfast - 2 kinds of cereal, 2 kinds of juice, English muffins, bagels, cream cheese, jelly, blueberry muffins, and coffee. Parking is free and they have wifi. There also are both indoor and outdoor pools, a hot tub and a sauna. Staying here was a very pleasant experience.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Visit the area every summer & winter. Winter choices are limited. Arrived on Friday evening. Town is quiet as expected. The sign on the building is partially lit. A few employees are gathered smoking outside the entrance, was like walking through an ashtray. Really dislike that. The employees were very nice and helpful while we were there other than the smoking thing.
At check in I was reminded the the "limited" continental breakfast was 7A-10 on Saturday AM. I went down @ 915 to see it being pushed away on a cart already. :-(
This hotel/resort was built in 1990. The hotel was impressive when it was new. However, there have really been no improvements or updates to speak of since it opened. The corridors to rooms are mauve carpet & mauve fire doors walls of half mauve/ half gray wallpaper, 1980's sconce lighting, blank red panels where some type of fire alarm equipment used to be.
On the entry level, mauve tumbled tile. Worn/tired green carpet in the bar & restaurant on first floor. And all of that "brass" from the 80's.
Rooms seem to be in 3 different stages-
"original"- blue floral wallpaper, tan short pile carpet, honey maple furniture, brass mirror doors, brass lighting.
"refreshed"- blue wallpaper removed & walls painted tan/yellow, did not even paint dirty ceiling. everything else from opening
"remodeled"- in addition to pulling wallpaper and painting walls, carpet pulled up & dark laminate installed. wet bar top replaced & the light for bar (maybe 10% of the rooms)
regardless of room status, bathrooms original, old composite sinks discolored & cracking.
The hotel was closed Jan-April 2008 for remodeling and also again Jan-April 2015 for remodeling. Anybodys guess as to what if any work was done.
Great view. great location. Saddened by condition of property.
If you don't have decent expectaions, you'll be ok. if you have reasonable or high expectations, you will be disappointed.
The view fron the channel facing rooms is the best.

Room tip: Ask for a room with hard wood floor, no carpets.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScottSBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to send my sincerest apologizes for the staff smoking at the entrance upon your arrival and for the continental breakfast being broken down early, that is completely unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. We are a work in progress and are working hard everyday updating our rooms to give our guests the relaxing vacation they deserve. All of our channel view rooms and and most of the second floor have been given new flooring and fixture updates and hope to have the entire floor complete by spring. We have some exciting things planned for not only our rooms but our restaurant and lounge as well. We hope that you will continue to visit us and see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews