We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Lovely Resort..BUT ....Be-aware !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Reviewed 2 November 2006

Decided to stay here in a pool villa after a week in Bangkok. Have travelled Asia, especially Thailand for some 20 years now and this place although appearing initially well presented, has managed to bypass the warm Thai culture that normally greets you. Staff are lovely and helpful, arent all thai's !! But, some more training to gain average service levels is required, especially in the food departments. The villa's lack warmth and feel a bit clynical with spotlights shing onto bare walls, surely some local art work would finish it off and create a much lacking abience.

There isnt much english spoken but the staff do try very hard, Service was generally poor to average, food served was basic by thai standards, although good sized portions. Two restuarants available but one only open in the evenings and we were the only two people in it at 8pm, was a little surreal. We had a bad experience of food poisoning and although this can happen easily in asia, management were totally dismissive of any responsibility!! Due to prior travel circumstances we have no doubt the scource of this problem.
The hotel management wasnt the best i have encountered either by giving the hotel a "always watching the budget feel". The resort had a not quite finished feel to it, but ..has great potential. We stayed for two weeks and it was too long, the resort is very isolated and even with a hire car, a tedious treck from the main towns. There is nowhere to walk to, absolutely nowhere withing walking distance to go for a drink or casual food.
The private pools whilst cool and adequate (more accurately described as plunge pools id think) are not best suited to anyone with mobilty problems, the main pool is stunning, and generally deserted, the beach whilst nice and clean...doesnt have the clearest water for bathing, local fishing boats and their exposed engines do somewhat spoil the tranquility after a few days with relentless passing of the resort in there daily fishing trips. (maybe 3 or 4 an hour...all day) I would not recomend this hotel or indeed return until the local area had developed somewhat, not that i by any manner like crowds but total isolation isnt great either. Maybe a 3 day stop would be fine. Definately one of the poorer boutique hotels i have stayed at with a definate 3* feel to it, which is a shame as it has great potential!!

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Weegies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2006

We stayed at the Chandara Resort & Spa in end-Sep 2006 for three days. It is a great resort for idyllic, romantic getaway compared to the usual buzz at the other popular parts of Phuket. The resort sits right at a beach of Ao Por Bay and you get good seaview during your meals at both the restaurants at the resort. Rooms are luxurious with private terrace and either private jacuzzi or pool.

As the resort is situated in a pretty inaccessible place, traveling to other parts of the island is rather difficult and expensive (the resort arranges transport on stipulated days and time to the Central Festival Shopping Centre and Patong beach at a charge of about 400B to 800B per person). The restaurants serve decent meals at average price but note that all prices are subjected to (approximately 18%) tax/service surchage. That might actually make your meals a little expensive.

The resort also has a spa with treatment menu that is neither extensive nor reasonably priced. Also, we were misled by a "50% discount on the 2nd spa treatment" offer where the conditions of the offer was not clearly explained despite clarifications. Hence, we ended up paying an exorbitant price of almost 5,000B for a 1.5hr session for 2 persons. We have experienced much better quality spa services at other parts of Phuket that were at a fraction of the price we were charged at Chandara.

Overall, Chandara Resort & Spa is an upmarket resort, ideal for a very relaxing getaway that comes at a rather hefty price.

- Shyangger (Sg)

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Shyanggker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We recently stayed in Chandara Resort. We were impressed with the villa setting and the pool.
But we were disappointed with the service.Here , we are paying an international pricing but we are getting local service. "Please Clean the Room' Sign was placed outside the villa since morning but when we came back from town in the evening..the room was not cleaned at all. And despite the fact that it was 30 per cent full capacity.
Loud air- con hissing sound could be heard at night in the master bed room and we did not have a good sleep throughout our entire stay.
Food choice is limited in the hotel.There arae only 2 restaurants and 1 of them is only opened and made available for dinner.
Should we come back to Phuket again, we would not choose to stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

We stayed at Chandara in Jan 2006. The staff were very friendly and polite (they put a table on the beach for us so we could eat our dinner on the beach on our last night). We had a 1 bedroom pool villa and were amazed at how nice and clean is was. Also it was a really big room, with the added advantage (particularly on honeymoon!) that the terrace and private pool were not overlooked. It was pretty quiet- on one day we were the only guests in the hotel- but because the grounds are broken up into lots of seperate areas it wasn't spooky. The views from the terrace are amazing. In the hotel there are flower arrangements everywhere.
It is quite far away from anywhere else- we stayed 6 nights here and also spent some time in Patong for more nightlife. The other potential drawback is that the beach although lovely has quite cloudy water because boats go past and stir up the sandy bottom (but on the plus side it is quite interesting to watch the boats).

We got a complementary massage at the spa- This was really nice and realxing.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HolidayBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2006

Chandara is wonderful! We had planned to do various trips and outings but the place is so relaxing and peaceful that we cancelled them just to spend our time around the hotel. The hotel is in a very isolated position - no other hotels or restaurants for miles, but somehow that doesn't matter (you can always get a (cheap) taxi into Phuket or Patong if you want more activity). The staff are fantastic, very fiendly and attentive, though not overpoweringly so. It has only been open a few months so is not at full occupancy 40-60% - we had the pools to ourselves. The food is fantastic and although they have you cornered they don't charge silly prices -ok its more expensive than in town, but what would you expect? The spa is beautiful and reasonably priced. The grounds are beautifully planted, the whole place is beautiful and tranquil. Fab views from every angle!

26  Thank ladybirdseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
2.2 km away
Supalai Resort & Spa Phuket
Supalai Resort & Spa Phuket
#77 of 97 in Thalang District
117 reviews
8.0 km away
Mission Hills Phuket Golf Club Resort & Spa
Mission Hills Phuket Golf Club R...
#88 of 97 in Thalang District
86 reviews
9.3 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Bandara Villas Phuket
Bandara Villas Phuket
#8 of 13 in Cape Panwa
198 reviews
34.5 km away
By The Lake Villas
By The Lake Villas
#15 of 43 in Rawai
84 reviews
4.7 km away
Moonlight Cottage
Moonlight Cottage
#6 of 99 in Thalang District
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa

Address: 99/1 Moo 6, Ban Ao Por, Pa Khlok, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#48 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#56 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: €39 - €2,420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa in Phuket, Thailand. Reserve online now and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Chandara Hotel Thalang
Absolute Chandara Resort And Spa
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing