We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was here a few years ago, but I still think a lot about this vacation as it was absolutely bliss. The hotel had a big part in that experience. Back then it was still owned by the Absolute hotel chain. I see that's not the case anymore, so I hope standards are still the same.
When we arrived, they've seemed to have a problem with the room avaibility, so they put us in another room for the first night. This "room" was actually a house with 6 rooms, from a fully equiped kitchen, living room, huge bathroom and a master bedroom. We had our own big private terrace with our own 10 meter long swimming pool. We really enjoyed that first night, felt like royals! The other room was actually not that bad, but compared to the first one of course a lot smaller. We had our own pool too, but it was pretty small (jacuzzi type, 2 persons, not a real swimming pool) but the down side was that this wasn't so private. People who were walking to the main building passed by every 10 minutes.
The food was absolutely delicious, breakfeast was a big buffet with lots of fresh food and a big variety. We had lunch and dinner a few times at the hotel too, which wasn't bad at all.

Tip : I would reccomend asking for bikes (free) and riding to the marina which is like 5 min. away, they had a restaurant too (with an aussie owner if i remember correctly) and served great food.
Tip 2: We also ate one night at a road-side local place, it looked so odd, with golfplated roofs and garden chairs, but the food was delicious and crazy cheap. The lady kept live crabs, fish and lobster in a concrete tub. After you ordered from a menu, she would fish them out with a strainer and prepare it for you.
Tip 3: as for excursions, of course the free shuttles to Pathong and Phuket are a must, but also spend some money booking a day tour to the Similan islands. It's paradise on eath, you can swim with giant sea turtles and all. Bring snorkeling gear!

Room Tip: if you're planning on staying most of the time in the hotel, and you love privacy, take a One Be...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sterrenvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were a family of 5 adults. After sailing for 10 days, we spent a day to rest at the hotel which was next to the Marina. The team was incredibly welcoming and helpful, especially in the Spa where we all had massages and facial treatments.
The restaurant Eclipse offers a great choice of meals in an great environment.

I highly recommend this resort, the facilities and the view are just like in a dream

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed only two nights at Chandara Resort and Spa, so didn't make the most of all the facilities, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Two points stood out as exceptional during our stay:
1. We checked out at noon, settled our bill and stored our luggage, happy to spend the afternoon relaxing by the pool waiting for our evening flight. When we requested a taxi be booked for 7pm to take us to the airport, the duty manager immediately gave us back the room key and had our luggage sent back to the room for us to use until we left at 7. I have never been offered such a late checkout!
2. We were provided two vouchers on checkin for a 15 minute shoulder massage. We didn't use them as I pessimistically expected to be pressed to book another spa treatment while there for our free treatment. While we are checking out, the duty manager noticed that we hadn't used the vouchers, so called and booked a spot for us. We were dropped at the spa, provided with a warm welcome and tea, then taken for our massage (which was a full back, and neck massage, and definitely longer than 15 minutes!) in one of the beautiful treatment rooms. We were then given more tea, and sent on our way without any pressure to book any further treatment.

Despite staying over New Years Eve and paying the customary premium for doing so, we found it great value. While other reviewers have commented that it is dated, we didn't think it was - just a little worn around the edges, absolutely nothing to be concerned about.

Food was standard fare for resorts in this price range, but with a larger menu than other places we've stayed recently.

There were also a couple of restaurants nearby which we didn't get to try due to our short stay, but would be good for someone staying longer that wanted a change.

We took the free boat trip to Naka Island, which was lovely. The tide was too high when we took the morning boat, it would have been better if we'd taken the afternoon one, when there was more beach to enjoy. We paid 150 baht for two beach chairs for the day and about 200 baht per drink, it was just us and one other family on the beach for the morning - a nice surprise for peak season.

If we stayed longer, we'd like to take advantage of the resort's canoes and bicycles to see more of the area.

Something we didn't like during the stay was the choice of music at the restaurant. Lots of nineties pop and ballads which spoilt the atmosphere for us a bit. Britney Spears for breakfast and Richard Marx at lunch is really not my scene. Some traditional Thai music, or even Cafe Del Mar or generic spa CDs or similar would have improved the atmosphere a bit for us.

Overall, a great quiet stay away from the peak New Year crowds, in beautiful surrounds, with excellent, friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrAndMrsLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The resort has seen better days and looking very tired - Im my opinion it is now a 3 / 4 star resort. The resturant and receiption is really old and tired and brings the entire atmosphere of the resort down. The grounds however and the rooms are still quiet nice.

If you intend staying here I would suggest that you book the one bedroom pool villa. They are really nice and well equiped, they even have their own private pools. The resort has its own private beach with numerous beach activities, the resort also offers free speed boats to Naka Island - a must visit for crystal blue beaches and great swimming.

Food quality from breakfast to room service dinning is average however there is no dinning options outside the resort as the location is quiet remote.

If you are looking of a quiet hidout this is the place, away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket, its about a hours ride to Patong and resort does offer free shutlles to Patong which is an addded bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kovilan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Many activities for us without charge, that's our valued, need more day to stay here, just 20 minutes from airport, free shuttled bus to Patong, town, free shuttled boat to Baka island, free others...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
2.2 km away
Supalai Resort & Spa Phuket
Supalai Resort & Spa Phuket
#77 of 97 in Thalang District
117 reviews
8.0 km away
Mission Hills Phuket Golf Club Resort & Spa
Mission Hills Phuket Golf Club R...
#88 of 97 in Thalang District
87 reviews
9.3 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
4.7 km away
Moonlight Cottage
Moonlight Cottage
#6 of 99 in Thalang District
32 reviews
2.1 km away
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa

Address: 99/1 Moo 6, Ban Ao Por, Pa Khlok, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#48 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#56 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: €38 - €2,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa in Phuket, Thailand. Reserve online now and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Chandara Hotel Thalang
Absolute Chandara Resort And Spa
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing