We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chandara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have just returned from a 30 day stay at Chandara. We stayed in a 1 bedroom pool villa (999) with a wonderful view, we thought it ,the best holiday accommodation we have ever had. Waking up and having a swim in your very own pool was amazing. We are very surprised at some of the negative comments posted. As far as we were concerned breakfast was fine (yes when asked for bacon was always available). The manager and all the staff (especially Annie) were very friendly and helpful. Gardens and pool areas were idyllic , at times we seemed to have them all to ourselves. Courtesy shuttle both to the Island and Patong /Phuket fulfilled all our needs. The restaurant had an extensive menu which seemed to suit all tastes. Walking around the gardens listening to the birds singing and frogs croaking will remain with us for many months to come. Many thanks to the manager who asked about our welfare on a regular basis. Yes it is very quiet, but evening strolls out of the resort were very safe, walking to the Happy Hut Diner and the Marina bar/restaurant or the local village. Many thanks to the Tour East shuttle driver (Simon) for some excellent trips back and forth to Patong .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brentony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

The pictures on the website are very nice and that is the reason why we booked it. The first bungalow we got was next to the blower of the kitchen.very loud... Allthough I especially asked them to give us a calm bungalow. The dinner was a desaster, has not a lot to do with thai food. More for tourists who want to eat European thai food....
The breakfast is poor.
After having heavily complained we could move to another bungalow. Nice and calm.
The pool area is nice but run down as well. The beach is between 2 big marinas and is is not nice at all. it is more likely a pick-up place for a bunch of russians who go on a daytrip (10 minivans) every morning. with coffee welcome and shopping at the reception and breakfast area of the hotel. They even come to the restaurant and take come photos.... no private area for the hotel guests who would like to take their breakfast.
Only one possibility to eat outside. The "happy hut" :) it was really good! There is NOTHING to do else!!! Free shuttle service to Phuket town but the times are ridiculous! They make sure you are back to the hotel in the evening to spend your money there .... otherwise about 700bath for a taxi drive one way.
The price is absolutely NOT OK for the service and quality they offer. We are not picky but if we pay that much we expect a clean and nice bungalow and not some rund down ...
Some might have liked it.... some might have had more luck ... but I can not recommend not by any stretch of my imagination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sziszi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights in July and couldn't fault the resort. Perhaps the only thing was that most of the staff didn't speak English, at all really, but they were faultless in their service and friendliness, and a few mimes and sign language and patience and all worked out well, except for when we asked for garlic bread and after trying to explain it using hand gestures and facial expressions, they went off nodding and smiling and came back with a basket of every bread known to man! Except garlic bread!! But they were so proud and we were happy to pretend that it was just what we wanted! It really is not an issue if you have a sense of humour and respect these lovely people and appreciate they are trying their very best!

The resort is quite secluded and there is really nowhere to walk to for shops, except for a little supermarket just to right of the resort. However, there is a little boat that is free of charge and makes 2 trips a day over to Na Ka Island....... it is soooooo worth it, my husband and I were the only ones aboard on the occasions that we went. It is marvellous scenery and such a pretty little beach, perfect for swimming. There is a little bar on the beach that sells beer, soft drink and cocktails in coconuts!

We were upgraded (never hurts to ask) free of charge on our 4th night there to a pool villa overlooking the ocean! Wow! We spent hours leaning on the edge of the infinity pool watching the long boats and yachts go past, how special did we feel?

The food was lovely,especially the breakfasts, which are in a lovely open air room overlooking the bay, but we still went into Phuket a few times to eat and shop,which is only 30 minutes away. We had a wonderful driver named Simon, who gave us his mobile, he even took us for a days sightseeing on his day off..... of course we agreed a price before we left, it cost us about $25! Well worth it. He took us to The Big Buddha, the Temples and to see some spectacular views. Another "must do" is the Siam Elephant Safari day trip,which we booked through the resort, which is fabulous. They are very well cared for, and well fed!! We were shown how to tap rubber trees for sap and then how they make rubber, how they harvest rice, we rode on a cart pulled by water buffalo and the day ended on a Junk (traditional Thai boat) with a lovely dinner whilst cruising around the bay!

If you are looking for great nightlife and hustle and bustle this resort is not for you, as most of the time, due to the fact that most of the other guests went off on day trips, we pretty much had the place to ourselves! Aaaaaaah..... wonderful!

It was our third trip to Thailand, and with each trip we love it even more! We are off to Koh Samui in 5 weeks....... cannot wait. The Thai people and their homeland gets under your skin and we are totally addicted!

So, la khorn kha ( goodbye) for now.... might see you there.

Cheers, Jude and Garry.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the ocean...... bliss!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jude13SouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Booked directly with the hotel,evrything went smoothly,we had a nice big room 140sq meter with outdoor schower and big jacuzzi,kitcen with big fridge,aircon is very loud impossible to sleep so cooldown the room during the day,resort is still beautifull but needs a refreshment,breakfast is very average no bacon no cheese no cold cuts,the brearolls are good juice decent,food in the resort is not good so you need transportationI drive in Thailand so I don't care,otherwise there is a marina 5 min walking with a good restaurant at half the pricing The Quarterdeck,Swimming pool perfect,shop with a fair pricing for drinks and snacks,free shuttle boat to Nacka Island,go in the morning because a lot of cheap tourist boats come to this island in the afternoon not a five star but a tired four star at a fair price in a very nice place.

Room Tip: Only 3 jacuzzi studio ask 301 or 302
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KhunPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nice service and kind people in this place. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, swimming pools, shuttle bus/boat, library. As most of the guests are group tours and don't spend their time at the resort, we almost used the facilities by ourself. The meals were just OK so I didn't attend the cooking class there. Also, there are a lot of mosquitos around you outside. The big surprise was they bring a birthday cake to me due to that date is my birthday. So considerate and the cake is yammy! Thank you so much. I like Thailand more and more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraloveaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
2.2 km away
Supalai Resort & Spa Phuket
Supalai Resort & Spa Phuket
#77 of 97 in Thalang District
117 reviews
8.0 km away
Mission Hills Phuket Golf Club Resort & Spa
Mission Hills Phuket Golf Club R...
#88 of 97 in Thalang District
87 reviews
9.3 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
4.7 km away
Moonlight Cottage
Moonlight Cottage
#6 of 99 in Thalang District
32 reviews
2.1 km away
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa

Address: 99/1 Moo 6, Ban Ao Por, Pa Khlok, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#48 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#56 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: €38 - €2,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa in Phuket, Thailand. Reserve online now and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Chandara Hotel Thalang
Absolute Chandara Resort And Spa
Absolute Chandara Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing