We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tony C
Dublin, Ireland

Good Hotel, Friendly staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2012
Hotel is located at the southern end of Patong Beach and most areas of the town are quite accessibe from the hotel. We stayed for a week and were quite lucky as we had a spacious room on the 3rd floor with a view of the beach. Ensuite bathroom facilities were very good with bath and seperate shower. It was clean and well serviced each day. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We attended an obligatory presentation during our stay but there was no pressure to buy or become members. Our representative , Stefan, was quite helpful and gave us some useful local information for our holiday. There is an indian restaurant beside the hotel, which was quite good and we ate there on one occasion. We opted to eat in various other restaurants uptown on the other nights.
There was a taxi service right outside the hotel and we hired a taxi for most of 1 day at a very reasonable cost to see the sights that we wanted to see and at our own pace.We also negotiated a good price to take us to Ao Nang beach near Krabi on the other side of the bay as we were going there for the next part of our holiday. It was a 3 hour journey but the taxi was comfortable with a good driver and we didn't feel the journey.
Date of stay: October 2012
Room Tip: Look for room with sea view , its worth it
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asst_FO_Manager, General Manager at Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis, responded to this review
Responded 29 Oct 2012
Dear Tony C

thank you for your welcome review of Absolute Sea Pearl Resort and Spa.

Feedback on our performance is always appreciated and we are glad that your stay with us was enjoyable. Your comments have been passed on to our staff and to Stefan who is happy to have been of assistance.

Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€75
  • Priceline
    €88
  • ZenHotels.com
    €67
  • Expedia.com
    €114
1.4 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€323
€253
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €322
  • Expedia.com
    €253
  • Hotels.com
    €253
1.8 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€103
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €101
  • Expedia.com
    €103
  • Vio.com
    €101
0.9 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€48
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €51
  • Agoda.com
    €44
  • Vio.com
    €48
2.2 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€228
  • Priceline
    €228
  • travelup.com
    €221
  • Vio.com
    €228
0.4 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€77
  • Priceline
    €67
  • Agoda.com
    €63
  • Vio.com
    €76
1.5 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€36
  • Priceline
    €30
  • Vio.com
    €23
  • StayForLong
    €41
1.6 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€156
  • Priceline
    €163
  • Vio.com
    €147
  • Expedia.com
    €165
3.6 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
€72
  • Priceline
    €63
  • Agoda.com
    €59
  • Vio.com
    €70
2.1 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free parking
Pool
€100
  • Priceline
    €100
  • Vio.com
    €100
  • Expedia.com
    €100
2.6 km from Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patong
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
30
67
47
28
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
67
47
28
44
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our room was so dreary we never unpacked our case, instead I sent an email to our booking agent Diamond Resorts to complain and eventually we got moved to a fantastic hotel JW Marriott Mai Koah beach.
We had requested to move rooms at the Sea Pearl but because we weren't Absolute members nobody was interested. The hotel was full of sales persons for timeshare Absolute do not get sucked in.
The hotel is basic grubby depressing nothing like the photographs. There were only two sunbeds around the minuscule pool you couldn't see the sea due to advertising for timeshare. Thankfully we only stayed two nights.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
9  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We are members of the Absolute and recently took advantage of a generous offer of an extra week at the Sea Pearl. We have always loved Phuket and the staff there are like family, no exception this time. However, the room we were initially allocated was not anywhere near our expectation, but quickly remedied. However, we are unlikely to return as we found the whole environment of Phuket a bit overwhelming and high pressure - right from eating breakfast where taxi/tuk tuk drivers lined the fence waiting for business. Even while swimming in the pool there were people trying to sell sunglasses over the fence. Relaxing on the beach was impossible with a steady stream of hawkers demanding a sale, and they would not take no for an answer, until we became rude in our responses. It was very obvious that the low season and recession have caught up with the businesses in Phuket, as they were on a mission to sell and you could not even stop and browse without getting pounced on, especially from the taxi drivers, tailors, and stall holders. Even walking down the beach side exposed us to hassles from the hair braiders, massagers etc. I found it very tiresome and made our holiday much less enjoyable than we had looked forward to. The quality of the shopping is still good, but a lot harder to get the true value as many of the traders started the bartering process off way too high - it was easier to walk away than work the price down. There are still many good points, and while the Absolute Sea Pearl is under renovation at the moment, it is getting a little tired and in need of a good spruce up - the staff however are wonderful, and the girls in the massage parlour downstairs good fun and a good way to spend an hour or two during the day. The pharmacy downstairs was also kept busy with lots of tummy bugs, but the pharmacist is excellent and very helpful. One other gripe we had was the scouts on the motorbikes promoting the Absolute chain - when you refused to take one of their "scratchies" which leads to a 90 minute promotion of their properties, they were quite rude, even though we were already members. I think it might be sometime before we revisit, but I can definitely recommend the Absolute Club and will seek other destinations in the immediate future.

Room tip: Members have access to the beach view rooms, but the staff are very helpful and will do what they can to assist you with any queries.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taumanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asst_FO_Manager, General Manager at Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hello taumanu,

I was very pleased to read your review of our resort and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The constantly increasing commercialisation of Patong brings with it added pressures and I can assure you that the local government is aware and attempting to regulate some of these activities.

We are just about to start to refurbish the pool area and our plans will prevent these very persistent hakwers from accessing our guests.

your point regarding the scooter scouts has been passed to the managers of the timeshare operation for action as these incidents do nothing for the company reputation.

Thank you for taking the time to put your review fro all to see and I do hope that you will give Phuket another chance soon.

Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had a week at this hotel and one of our worst holidays ever ,only went for a relaxing week as my other half had a knee operation and we wanted to take it easy around the pool taking in some nice warm sunshine, NOT to be , got polluted with cigarette smoke from time- share chain smoking sales people, even going to breakfast in the al fresco we had to put up with the pollution as these people did not give any concern for other hotel users. The only thing going for the place is the location , right overlooking the beach. Our room had a filthy view of a derelict old building 2mts away and looking down from the balcony a rat infested waist area . GIVE iT A MISS.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view ,, you might get lucky , if not give it a miss, also take a smoke mask.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bobanne46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed at the Sea Pearl Beach resort in May 2012 and it was a lovely experience. The resort is on the foot of the patong beach and is very well located. We got a room facing the sea and that's why it was memorable. We had a balcony over-looking the beautiful sea and the holiday was relaxing though we stayed there just for 4 nights instead of 6 nights that we were entitled to; the reason being we had to go back to Bangkok. We got a one bed-room apartment suitable for 4 adults and it was very spacious. It had a good kitchen with all the amenities for a week long cooking if you wished to. The bathroom had two connections; one from the bed room and the other from the common area. Worth a stay! Relaxing! They have a cafe which serves good breakfast. They also have a good Indian restaurant where we used to normally have lunch / dinner. Taxis wait just outside the resort. The pool was in un-usable state. I can rate this property 3-star.

Room tip: * Money Exchange - There are lots of money exchanges - check the rates with atleast 3 to 4 before you decide to exchange currency. All rates will be displayed. However, you get the best rates for100 or 50 USD denominations. * 7Eleven is situated just 20 meters or so from the resort. So just arrive with your bare essentials.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roshan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asst_FO_Manager, General Manager at Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hello DSouza_Rosh and thank you for taking the time to send your feedback to Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your comments on to my staff and to the restaurant.

We all hope that you will return to see us before too long and look forward to being of service to you then.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

An apartment with no window...well, not strictly true, but a bedroom window that gives directly onto a pile of old bamboo scaffolding backed by a dirty wall doesn't count in my book. A TV in the bedroom, but not in the sitting room wasn't appreciated either. But then as there was nothing much worth watching, it didn't really matter, did it? And our apartment was flanked by the cleaners' room on one side (rather noisy in the morning...) and an office on the other. At least the office was quiet.

Room tip: Try to get a room on a high floor - you might get a view.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank csp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asst_FO_Manager, General Manager at Sea Pearl Beach Tropical Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort csp 1953.

As part of the refurbishment of the resort, scaffolding was used to access the soffits. That work has now been completed and I can only apologise for the inconvenience during your stay as we work to improve our hotel.

Thank you for your patience at the time and for your feedback.

Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews