We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne , australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very good location on Patong beach, cross the street you are on the beach, the hotel also has beautiful swimming pools, very clean, perfect for children and teens, we are very good in holiday inn, fair prices and very nice rooms.

Room Tip: rooms in the new building, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela777782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,340
    1,032
    241
    66
    33
See reviews for
1,459
1,239
136
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here on our 3rd return to patong and found this was the best hotel out of the lot! its in the best location and is fabulous in the main wing for families and relaxing for couples in the busakorn wing! We stayed in the busakorn wing and loved it! Breakfast was delicious! Will return for sure when i come back and stay in patong in September!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed 4 days with our three kids. Overall, Holiday Inn delivered a decent experience but there were quite some low points.

high points:
- Excellent F&B. All the restaurants located in the hotel as well as the bar propose high quality at reasonable prices. Specifically, the breakfast buffet and the thai restaurant are great. The room service food was also great.
There is one important exception to note: on Saturday, the buffet dinner of the main restaurant transforms into the "Seafood buffet". We inadvertently walked into it on our last night. It was a decent buffet but had absolutely nothing spectacular. Therefore, we were completely shocked to get hit by a bill of 900 baht per person. This is ~4 times the price of a dish in the thai restaurant and ~2+ times the price of the best steak in the steakhouse! Absolutely nothing justifies this irrational price and staff should clearly communicate to customers that Saturday buffet is 3 times the price of the weekly buffet. We would definitely have not chosen that option if we knew the price in advance.
-rooms are comfortable and roomy.
-room servicing during the stay was perfect.

Low points:
-reception staff is not friendly and does not explain anything on arrival (no map of resort, no guidance, no list of in-house restaurants, nothing!... just your passport, your key and off you go!)
-staff in general: half of the staff is nice and friendly, the other half looks annoyed and bored to death.
-rooms overlooking the atrium get all the noise from the bar until late hours.
-the main pool does not look half as nice as on the website pictures. It is quite small. The nice pool visible on the website is only available to the villa guests (quite misleading).
-our rooms were both dirty on arrival (ant colony on one bed, recently-cut hair/beard on another).
-elevators are pathetically slow and there is often a long wait.
-Patong beach is pretty ugly. The beach is not what you expect from Phuket: it is not spectacular (the sand is dark, the water is greasy and brown), it is crowded, noisy (jetskis all over the place) and dirty (the guys who work on the beach throw their rubbish in the wind just on front of you).

Room Tip: Prefer inside halls to atrium halls: rooms in the open-air atrium halls directly overlook the bar an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear cedayr,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We arrived unannounced and mob handed looking for 5 rooms. This is a large hotel right on the edge of the start of the smelly part of Patong Beach. I have stayed here before and so if we could get rooms away from the noise, this would be great.

After the lovely reception staff were beaten into submission and accepted our offer of a lowish price for the accomodation we left for the bar and a cool beer.

The rooms were well furnished, perhaps a little better than normal Holiday Inn standard and the beds were very comfortable. We did not avail ourselves of dinner but did enjoy the huge choice at breakfast the following morning.

This hotel always seems busy and so is ideal location for tourists visiting the hurly burly of Patong but not the place if you want a quiet few days away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I never think of Holiday Inn and "great" in the same sentence but I'm now rewriting that statement.

A lot of soul-searching went into planning this trip. Should we take the plunge and follow the Trip Advisor reviews, pushing aside the preconceived images of a Holiday Inn property? I have to say, we really ummmed and errred about this issue, and after many near-divorce moments (I'm joking), we finally went for the Busakorn Wing at the Holiday Inn.

What a great choice! It is hard to find a better location if you want to be in Patong. You are bang-slap in the middle of the town, metres from the beach and the shopping, but somehow nestled in this peaceful sanctuary. I expected the place to be heaving with tourists and kids running crazy, but no. Not at all. May be they were in the main Holiday Inn part which you can access after a bit of weaving here and there through the wing. But you certainly didn't hear them.

We didn't go for the private villa with a pool because we felt the other rooms overlooking the huge swimming pool were totally fine. And as it turned out, we were very happy with that choice. We got a top, 5th floor room with a lovely, very comfortable king-sized bed and accompanying "soft" and "firm" pillows (yes, if you look carefully, they are marked that way!). The room was clean and spacious and that was all we really needed.

The staff were all very friendly. The room-service faultless and the food reasonably priced and very good. Not my normal experience in brand property hotels where you feel the food is being cranked out on a production line.

Definitely try the Tom Ka Gai soup at the Thai Charm restaurant - best one I had all trip - you could tell it was freshly made and not a coconut cream soup with bits from a can.

Having been to Phuket many times, I will definitely return to the Holiday Inn. You just can't beat all the ingredients they offer from location to price, tranquility to charm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.6 km away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.9 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing