We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the moment but deteriorating quickly”
Review of B-Lay Tong Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B-Lay Tong Phuket
Ranked #62 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 15 April 2012

3 out of 5 would be a bit harsh as I think it would deserve more a 3.5 out of 5 but as I stay on a mixed impression, we will go with that.

OK so first, the hotel has been refurbished only a few months ago and has some nice features, a spacious and trendy lobby equipped with 2 new Imac and a pleasant pool that was not too crowded at the period I have been there. The view on the sea is not very good: it does not seem to appear on the "official" photos but in fact it is partially obstructed by anarchic electricity wires. The negative point in my opinion was the rooms. The hotel consists of 3 linked buildings and I was in the one that was comprising the lobby (on the fourth floor). Before taking my final room, I visited three other rooms (two on the second floor and one on the fourth floor) that were really not satisfactory. The ones on the second floor had really a cheap appareance, with a plain flooring and most annoying, lots of scratches (easily seen on white furniture) and wallpaper in poor condition (stained and warping). If the refurbishment really took place 4 or 5 months ago, I consider this as a very bad omen of what travellers could expect a few months/years from now as there seems to be an obvious lack of maintenance or cheap quality furniture. Finally, I moved to one of the rooms in the fourth floor, which were better looking with a parquet flooring and a nice bathroom with both a bath and a rain shower (whereas on the second floor there was no bathtub). It was also equipped with some high tech devices (Ipod deck etc..). But still, the wallpaper was not in very good condition and the parquet had scratches, which is quite amazing for a recently refurbished hotel.
As for the service, first the proficiency in English of the staff was really so-so and it was sometimes difficult to understand/be understood. Second, even if they were well trained and always very polite in words, sometimes it was not always the case in manners, and some of them even showed signs of impatience because it was difficult for me to understand their poor English!

About the location, it is OK, quiet but a bit far from the city center. Anyway, who would like to spend some time in Patong, this place might be one of the creepiest and most perverse on Earth. Just do the various trips to Phi Phi and Phang Nga and you will love Phuket!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

We thank this guest for their feedback and will review the room they stayed in.

This guest chose one of our very rare lobby building rooms which have solid black lacquer hardwood floors after he rejected our quite popular trendy epoxy floor rooms.

We continually maintain our rooms and were quite surprised by his comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 668 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had an enjoyable 4 day stay at the B-Lay with friends. The hotel is new, interesting and stylish. The location at the north end of PaTong is great for walking into town for the many restaurants and activities. The breakfast is very good and well presented. The staff was very helpful and very friendly and their English was very good. The went over and above. We had an initial concern going into the stay because the rate was relatively low but we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay.

We also very much enjoyed the Spa. They do a great personal service.

Room Tip: Rooms on First Floor have their own pool, a long pool in front of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomM_Milw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is very,very modern. I could not reasonably complain about my room which adjoined the central swimming pool with its swim up bar as the central focus.
Despite the proximity to the pool, noise from the pool was not a problem.
Noise from the adjoining room and hallways however was a major problem and sufficient reason fo me not to return. On two separate occasions I could plainly hear the lucky couple next door enjoying vigorous intercourse at 3.00am.
Other inconsiderate guests arriving back at 4.00am and having loud conversations down the passageway were too frequent.. The hotel designers did not take into account that the aim of the game in Patong is to drink to excess and party until 3, 4 or 5 am.
The bathroom was excellent and the hotel generally very clean.
The restaurant was uninviting and lacked charm. The breakfast was ordinary, but I found that to be par for the course for hotels in Pattaya and Patong and one of the two lunches I had was disappointing. The bar lacked ambience.
While some hotels have the knack of making me feel special and welcome this was not one of them, despite the very pleasant staff.
The major drawback is that it is too far to walk to and from the action of Bangla Road and JungCeylon shopping center.
After having walked several times I found as a matter of course that a tuk tuk or motor cycle taxi was necessary. The cost is not a major consideration but it is inconvenient if one wants to shop several times a day. On the other hand it is just across the road from the beach
I would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLAYTONG, General Manager at B-Lay Tong Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback.

Inappropriate noise and loud guests in a hotel setting can be extremely frustrating, and we would like to apologize for this. We make efforts to avoid these types of incidents, however, with the hotel running high occupancy and the holiday period of the Thai New Year, it's not always possible to control room allocations. Furthermore, our front office and security team intervene in these circumstances when they are notified.

Also, we will be developing further our restaurant and bar offerings this low season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Amazing art concept greets you and continues to delight the visual senses at every turn. Very well appointed hotel in a convenient location right on Patong Beach with superb staff - friendly, courteous and helpful - who could not do enough to ensure a memorable stay, F&B service is top-rate with alfresco dining & beachside bar, great rooms and facilities. I shall most definitely stay here again when next I am in Phuket :o) *****

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 km away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#30 of 331 in Patong
776 reviews
1 km away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
1.2 km away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 331 in Patong
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 331 in Patong
1,731 reviews
0.9 km away
Beyond Hotel Patong
Beyond Hotel Patong
#105 of 331 in Patong
12 reviews
1.8 km away
Wyndham Sea Pearl Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Lay Tong Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Lay Tong Phuket

Address: 198 Taveewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Patong
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#30 Family Hotel in Patong
#33 Spa Hotel in Patong
#40 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: €83 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B-Lay Tong Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime beach front location at the quiet north end of the world famous Patong Beach within close proximity of the busiest eateries, shops and bars. The resort's 123 rooms and suites have a feel which exudes modern playfulness and funky vibes mixed with Four Elements colors scheme. It offers spectacular sunset views from its 198 lobby bar which overlooks the white sandy beach and sparkling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea. In addition, free Wi-Fi internet access is provided throughout the resort's guest rooms and public areas, just 40 minutes south of Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B-Lay Tong Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b-Lay Tong Phuket, Mgallery Hotel Patong
B-Lay Tong Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing