We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosewood Phuket
Nearby Hotels
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
US$174
US$170
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
33
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantprivate plunge poolcommon areaspool areaother guestskids clubthe hustle and bustleplace to staypatong beachsorahomewoodkhaivillabuggyspataxiresort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I went with a friend of mine as she was turning 30th. Such a special number must be celebrate in a special place.

Since the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like a very special person.
We had an amazing room with private pool and stunning bathroom to look at.
The resort is incredible, the views, thw pools, private beach but what it makes it more special is the staff. They are the real asset of that place. Alonso made our stayed to me memorable. All the reception team and the drivers took special care of us. They helped me to surprise my friend who turned 30 as she didn't know anything about her present. Housekeeping and room service team such a great touch with the birthday cakes and the room.Details are what makes you different.

We will never forget this moment in our lifes. Definitely a place to stay and feel like in the paradise.

Thank you Ridgewood Phuket for such an amazing experience. I will definitely be back.

Regards,

Sandra Preciado

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

To deliver a world class resort experience to demanding travellers, just being open in four months: that's an impressive achievement! Actually, we were pleased in all dimensions all our stay!

If one just reflect a little bit: how many interactions with staff, functionality, set-ups, design, service-points could go wrong each day in stay at a resort? Many. To be clear, Rosewood Phuket and its staff actually succeeded not to dissapoint us - and we have high expectations - for a week. On the contrary, They did deliver Excellent moments after moments. Accomodation was great. Stayed in a Sea front pavillon Lovely designed and high functionality. No sea view, but beach access behandling the bushes. Pool area-great! Pool service beyound what you could ask for (Ding!), "spa" Asaya tranquil and Excellent treatment by Excellent ladies. The gym etc. The lush and all grean paradise park...

Bar! Restaurants did actually impress us; Ta Khai the most. Modern Thai food in many Shapes and forms in a wonderful location at the beach. Design and venue and food, but Serviced by a great staff! All three restaurants did deliver on a high level! But we must also mention the outstanding breakfast... to be experienced. Innovative! Cannot be described!

But everywhere there were fantastic staff! Again, cannot be described, needs to be experienced. Really top-class,with style and a high portion of humour! Sora was one of the stars to be mentioned, supporting us and always positive with a smile.

I could stop there and just conclude. We haven't been on perfect 100% hotel yet. And actually even our stay did fail once. The last 20 minutes was a real disaster. Our check-out with a Bill, completely wrong. Our record in share of errors... an embarrasment to Rosewood Phuket (and I homestly still do not know how much we paid too much as we did concentrate on the obvious errors...

But let us concentrate on the other 99% Excellent experience!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eitchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

The architecture of the hotel is pleasant and the beachfront villas are very nice. Although the hotel is new staff it is friendly and competent; there is some room for improvement at the front desk regarding qualified information on excursions and other matters. Food was very good both at the italian restaurant and the thai one.

The beach is ok but not great: this is my only real point of criticism. The area in general is quite heavily exploited and not always of a great level.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

This is a new addition to the Rosewood portfolio having opened in late November. Eventually there will be 71 rooms / suites but at the time of our visit (end February 2018) only 45 were operational.

The hotel is situated on Emerald Bay, south of Patong Beach on the west side of Phuket Island. Given the narrow roads and heavy traffic, this means that in high season you need to allow 75 - 100 minutes for the transfer from the airport in the north.

Rooms are described as villas but in reality, most are junior suites with a large room divided by a portable wooden screen between the bed and the sitting area. Each has a well equipped bathroom with double vanity, an indoor shower and wc and then a small internal courtyard which houses an outdoor shower and bath.

Outside a small private screened terrace provides a sofa, armchair, table and double sun lounger with a small private plunge pool and a view to the sea.

Internal fittings are high quality. A free minibar provides soft drinks and beer. There is a coffee machine and plenty of bottled water. There is a also a sophisticated electrical system for closing the drapes and controlling lighting. The latter will send you crazy for the first 48 hours until you master it - why does turning on the bathroom ceiling lights make the vanity lights go off?

Construction on a long thin site has been tiered to create a number of rows of rooms running across the site for say 200- 300 metres, with those further back from the water sitting on tall foundations. This has been done to create a water view for each villa. It seems those which are not frontline are described as “Partial Ocean” view. I am not sure if the “partial” relates to the fact that on the bay one does not have a full view of the sea, only the bay or that some trees do partly shelter the view. Many resorts would have called this full ocean view. It provides a good view of the cruise ships which regularly dock in the bay.

There is a lot of concrete. The resort is basically built out of it. Think Frank Lloyd Wright meets Manhattan. The villas are built in concrete, the supporting foundations are built in concrete, the paths running along the rows of villas are concrete, the staircases needed to access the pools and waterfront are built in concrete. You get the idea. It takes a few days to absorb this rather brutalist construction. It is contrasted by the wide use of very attractive natural materials, wood and stone to finish the decorations.

Due to the spread out nature of the resort and perhaps the change in elevations, there is a chauffeured “golf buggy on demand” service to run visitors around the site. Personally we found that the walk was not a problem but those with young children or mobility issues may well find it a boon.

The beach is narrow but sandy. It is public so not exclusive. Security guards ensure that only hotel guests enter the property from the beach. Unfortunately, the water is both very shallow and very rocky. It is not ideal for swimming even at high tide but is very warm.

The F & B operation is headed by a man poached from the Ritz Carlton in Shanghai. Subject to my comments below it has made a good start. There are three restaurants. The first, which doubles up for breakfast, is open seven days a week with a short Italian menu for lunch and dinner. It has both an outdoor terrace and an indoor air conditioned seating area. We never had a problem getting a table on the terrace for either breakfast or dinner. The breakfast menu is a combination of a la carte and a buffet. It is a refreshing change from standard international hotel fare with a nice selection of dishes.

In the evening the Italian menu is short but tasty. It could do with a wider choice of starters rather than various different options of ham. In addition entrees are not served with potato unless especially requested. Pizzas are available. Food prices were very reasonable for a 5 start hotel with entrees around $15 - 20.

Underneath the Italian is an outdoor fish restaurant, “The Shack” which seemed deserted most nights and the one time we ate there seemed pointless. Unlike the Italian restaurant, the staff’s English was very limited and they were unable to really explain the options on what was a very short menu. If the idea is to eat “catch of the day” then it helps if someone can tell you what is it. Portions were small and prices higher than the Italian. I was charged nearly $30 for a very small piece of grouper which came with almost nothing. It seems impossible to order any side dishes. Unless there is a radical shake up I can’t see this restaurant lasting long.

The third restaurant is an outdoor Thai restaurant at the far end of the resort next to the beach open for dinner only, which seems to be some sort of partnership with a local business. Service is in open sided “fisherman’s huts”. This restaurant was popular and we were told is busy most nights. Prices are higher than in the other two restaurants. I feel mean to say that the food was not spectacular, but in reality I have eaten better Thai food in London, New York and Bangkok. Perhaps we chose poorly. I also worry about the concept when the dry season is over and how often the restaurant will have to close when the rain is sweeping in, which it can do in this area. In any case you might get soaked just getting to the restaurant.

There is an all day bar near the various pools at which light meals are available.

The water sports section was open but we did not see a single customer in six days.

We did have issues during our stay.

• the hotel limousine promoted by the hotel for easy pickup was fifteen minutes late picking us up at the airport despite us being bang on time and having reported into the Rosewood representative, so we had to wait in the heat. It then had neither any water to drink or even a cold towel. Yes, a first world problem but at nearly $115 compared with $58 for an air conditioned taxi it should not happen.
• On the first night we were first nearly hit by a buggy being driven too fast by a staff member and then after dinner our buggy driver took off without checking that my wife was safely aboard. In fact she was climbing into the rear facing seat and had one leg on the buggy and one off. Only my shouting got him to stop and avoid what could have been a nasty fall and a disastrous start to our stay. It was probably this which made us forsake the buggies but the hotel really needs to introduce a health and safety procedure for their staff check passengers are safe.
• The showers would not hold temperature, hot or cold. A visit from an engineer at least stopped it overheating but in a hotel of this quality one should not have to leap out as it turns cold. I understand the problem is widespread across the site and so far they have not found a solution.
• The outdoor shower will appeal as a novelty to many but had the same temperature issue as above and it is not always fun to have to wash away bird droppings before starting.
• Generally service in the restaurants, notwithstanding my comment about the fish restaurant was very good. For the first four days of our stay I would go as far as to say it was exemplary at breakfast. However, I suspect that Monday and Tuesday must be the rest days for the senior staff because at breakfast on Monday, the service just collapsed. It took repeated requests to get even a cup of tea and food was much delayed and chaotic. The staff were clearly under pressure. When my wife’s eggs eventually arrived she requested some ketchup. Rather than the delicate small dish proffered on previous days the Heinz bottle was slammed down on the table!
• I am sorry to say that this poor performance continued on Tuesday, not only at breakfast but at dinner in the Italian service was very patchy
Does this matter and am I being unfair to an hotel that has been open for less than three months? Well yes I think it does. Ours was a late booking in high season and as such the “partial ocean view villa (junior suite)” in the back row ran out $1,200 a night. I think at those prices one is entitled to expect service to match.

I think the F & B pricing needs to settle down. There are some silly items. In a five star hotel booze is never going to be cheap but is $15 for a half pint (600ml) of indifferent draft German lager reasonable? Contrasted with wine or cocktails at $14 it seems odd. In the same way some dishes on the menus seem excellent value and others just overpriced for what they were. The bar puts out a snack with drinks of small seeds but tops these off with slices of smoked bacon. That does not seem sensitive to Muslim or Jewish guests.

Would I recommend this hotel? If you want a quiet stay away from the frenetic buzz of Phuket then it could be perfect. Don’t expect lively evenings and animated conversation with other guests, but if you want comfort, in a beautiful location, with polite caring staff, then this is a real candidate. You will need a taxi to go anywhere away from the hotel but maybe you won’t even want to leave? If you have read any of my other reviews (see for example Ritz Carlton, Washington), you will know that to me the staff make or break a hotel. Here they are a definite plus. The high season is just ending in Phuket. If in the next few months the flaws are addressed then this hotel has the chance to become an Asian destination of choice, albeit at a price.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrAndrewTurner, Managing Director at Rosewood Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Rosewood Phuket, I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and generally experienced a very good service from our team. I was disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to some of our offerings and service delivery on this occasion. Rest assured your valuable comments will help us to continuously strive for improvement. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rosewood Phuket in the future and ensure that all your expectations are exceeded.

Warm regards,
Andrew Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This hotel is a top-notch resort, make no mistake about it. The rooms are really well-designed, clean, the scenery is pristine and beautiful. The staff is incredibly nice. And the food was great, especially if you like seafood. The ONLY weak spot is the beach - if you are a beach person looking for crystal clear turquoise water and white powder sandy beaches, you'll be disappointed. During low tide, you can't even really swim, as you'll be standing in 3 feet deep water on rocks no matter how far out you go. And yes, this is a rocky beach, the floor of the ocean/bay water is littered with rocks, shells, etc., making it almost impossible to enjoy when it's low tide. Overall, it was a great experience. You will get a gut punch when you check out though - as whatever you were quoted for a rate does not include almost 20% in taxes that they add on, as well as what you rack up in food, drinks, etc., of course.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrAndrewTurner, Managing Director at Rosewood Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Andrew A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Rosewood Phuket, I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed a great experience. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews