We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
PeckishAdventures
Luang Prabang

Great swimmingpool!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Aug 2012
This is a nice guesthouse located just off the main strip of Kanchanaburi. It is surrounded by bars, shops and restaurants.

The guesthouse has nice grounds and an amazing "infinity" pool overlooking the river. The rooms are spacious with an ensuite bathroom (with hot water).

Breakfast is included (toast & jam). If you like pancakes or eggs, they are available for a surcharge. All in all great value for money.

Staff doesn't speak a lot of English but are very friendly and helpfull.
Date of stay: March 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Pool
Tripadvisor
€88
€82
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
€18
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
€83
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.1 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €42
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    €107
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The hut river view 1,200 include breakfast.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    €25
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €60
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €52
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €20
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €36
  • Priceline
31.2 km from Ploy Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
116
149
43
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
149
43
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room the river cable tv great shower pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Good value rooms, with complimentary breakfast: toast with jam and coffee and tea.
We stayed 3 nights in a double room with air-conditioning on the first floor.

The room was fine, with a large bathroom with hot water. Everything was clean, not only in the rooms but throughout the guesthouse.
Only drawback of the room is that it lacks proper ventilation. As a result, after we had taken a short shower the room was quite humid. Besides it rained during our stay and our clothes did not dry. More fresh air was needed, but it was not possible to keep the door open due to the mosquitoes.

The swimming pool is wonderful, with a view on the river. This is also the place where breakfast is served.

This guesthouse is situated right in the middle of the guesthouse area and so it’s a short walk to all the other restaurants. You can even walk to the bridge over the river Kwai, it takes only 20 minutes to half an hour.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manneke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2012

the website made it sound like we'd have an outdoor shower, we didn't we have a couple of trees in the room, it was a nice room, but not such a big deal. it was clean, but the a/c had tons of dirt and so we kept sneezing throughout the night. the people aren't very friendly, they aren't unfriendly but you're basically invisible to them. the location was great, the breakfast was good - the pancakes were great, but the coffee left much to be desired.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkMikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We (wife, my parents and yours truly) stayed here for two nights to go to Hellfire Pass Memorial Museum and travel back from there via train over Bridge on the River Kwai. Room was up to Guesthouse standard and bed extremely comfortable. Infinity pool and dining area down by the river is the jewel in Ploy's crown. Staff were extremely helpful and organised a driver to take us up to Hellfire Pass and back to Nam Tok Station to catch train back to Kanchanaburi over the River Kwai. You won't be disappointed with Ploy if a great value Guesthouse is what your budget demands.

Room tip: Ask for a Garden Room behind reception.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RugbyCharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We enjoyed our three night stay in a garden room. The guesthouse is located down a side road off the main strip. Surprisingly it was very quiet as the rooms are also set back from the river and the noise of the busy speed boats. There are lots of nice and secluded communal areas located on different levels with lovely views of the river. The restaurant/bar area also has a beautiful view and it was a lovely start to the day to sit and have breakfast looking at the river.

Our room was average in size and mostly taken up by the large bed built upon a wooden plinth, not ideal if you have any mobility problems. We had a television (with English speaking channels), a fridge, wardrobe and dressing table. The ensuite bathroom was however quite large. The 'garden view' consisted of a very small enclosed garden area which was 'OK' but by no means stunning. Our room was very clean with good quality bedding. It was cleaned every day and we were provided with fresh towels and sheets. There was also a free supply of drinking water available. The majority of staff could not speak good English but were very friendly and always polite.

Breakfast consisted of an endless supply of toast, marmalade and tea or coffee, and was more than adequate. My partner ordered bacon and eggs on one occasion for an extra charge and said it was satisfactory.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

We ate at the Thai restaurant located nearly opposite the guesthouse on 2 occasions. The western food was not so good but the Thai food was excellant.

Room tip: We stayed in a ground floor garden room. It was very peaceful.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The entry to the Ploy Guesthouse is on a very busy strip of road where bars, restaurants, shops, massage parlours and other guesthouses are all crowding in for your business, but it is situated some way back from the street and you quickly leave all that traffic and noise behind you in a peaceful and pretty little oasis. The pool looks over the river and is an ideal place to while away an afternoon - just a pity the bar is only occasionally manned. We had a nice quiet but somewhat gloomy room with a huge bed up on a plinth, and with a view into our own tiny garden, or mozzy-breeding centre as we quickly re-named it. The access into the garden was via the bathroom and the door was not a great fit so we had an interesting time identifying and then removing assorted wildlife each morning. But overall, we enjoyed a relaxing few days at this laid-back and friendly hotel.

Room tip: If we went again, we would avoid having our own private mozzy-breeding facility, or garden as it is known........
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews