We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beachfront Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

First it has free wi-fi which is excellent. The hotel is based around a beautiful old teak wood house. The rooms are excellent, it is right near the beach. The rooms are great, the service is great, the food is great. Staying here really feels like being in Thailand whilst enjoying a high level of quality. The town is a little way off but there is a shuttle. This is a real hidden gem

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    83
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
104
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had read up a lot on trip advisor on Baan Bayan and finally after canceling the other reservation decided on this one. What swung the deal in their favor was the fact it promised peace and quiet, was a small heritage property (more on this later) and yet was conveniently located, just a couple of kilometers from the town centre.

We were driving down from Bangkok (2000THB one way) and arrived way before the usual check in time of two of clock. And though our rooms weren't ready yet, the staff immediately sprung to action and gave us a room to keep our luggage and to freshen up. Though there were some initial confusion about our rooms, Mr Tawat, the manager sorted the issue in no time at all.

Tip: If you are booking through the a website, please call up the hotel and confirm your booking with the details. Also ask them to send you an email regarding the same which you can carry with you.

The main building beautiful heritage Thai home from the colonial era. The main lobby and the other rooms are connected through little walks. There is a great sense of openness. It is well-planned, spacious and spotless. From every strategic point in the hotel one can hear the waves and catch a glimpse of the sea.

Room: We were staying at the Deluxe Sea View Villa and it was just breathtaking. It stands at one little corner overlooking the pool area and the sea. There is a cozy sit out where you can heave tea in the morning and sit and read a book if you want. The room itself is large and airy with smooth wooden floors. The bathroom was typical colonial style with a little dressing table and large windows (there are curtains!) Again, every bit of the furniture in the room was tastefully selected.The bed was soft and the sleep quality was exceptional. Though you can attribute the latter to an insane amount of drinking the previous evening. There is also a safe, a mini bar, glasses, wine glasses and an electronic kettle for tea. Tea bags are provided.

Tip: Carry mosquito repellent creams. Try and keep the main door and windows closed in the evening, or you really might have trouble sleeping. Carry your tea bags if you drink more than a few cups a day and buy loads of water. The hotel only provides two tea bags and two bottles of water for the day.

Bathroom: Nice, big, spacious and lots of light. Did some serious reading there. LOL. The bathtub is too small to get naughty in but then you have the whole room to yourself really. Water pressure is good and you get hot water any time of the day. Toiletries provided are of an exceptional quality. Pity they came in really big decanters and we really couldn't figure the brand.

Service: The hotel staff and your an recognize them in their yellow uniforms and ready smiles. Exceptionally sweet and very, very hospitable. They will often go out of their way to help you. And no one waits for a tip! We did tipp them generously when we were leaving and they were all so delighted like they weren't expecting it!

Food: We only had breakfast and the odd bite. Breakfast is not lavish by any means, but tasty, fresh and very wholesome. There is a good assortment of breads, croissants and muffins. The chef often walks around speaking and laughing with the patrons. The whole breakfast area is very homely and we made friends with quite a few families who were there. The sandwich that we ordered late one evening was again fresh and very tasty. Their fries are really to die for. Which, being in Thailand, was a bit strange.

The Beach: Baan Bayan has a small strip of beach with their own beach beds. The sand is soft and clean. The water is safe for kids. Though there was a jellyfish warning, we didn't really encounter any. You can opt for beer and snacks from the hotel kiosk or there are enough shacks at the beach that are even cheaper. The Tra Family runs an exceptional shack right next to Baan Bayan on the beach and serve you right on your beach bed.

The pool is small but works. Good for kids and to laze around in. Not for the Olympian who wants to keep in shape.

Overall, this place is really phenomenal. A tuk-tuk into the city centre (don't miss the exceptional night market) is just 100 THB and you can get them right outside. For daily needs and shopping there is a shopping mall located at three minutes walk where you can get your adidas' and telco and even a laundry.

We had a delightful time and I am sure you guys will too. Just book early and carry the email with you to avoid confusion. Please remember, Thais in Hua Hin, unlike Bangkok, are very polite and very courteous and the proper attitude will open up all kinds of doors for you.

Room Tip: Try the Bannika Suite. We will the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank phototravel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This place is a gem! All the staff are extremely friendly and make you feel at home! We visit Hua Hin every year so we hired the whole place out for our friends and family to stay in, and they all loved it! My husband and i had our traditional Thai wedding ceremony here and had the best experience!! Amazing food, from burgers and club sandwiches to Thai soups, noodles and stir-frys! The breakfast is great, with thai omelette and fresh fruit! Its a beautiful part of the beach to sit back relax and drink coconuts all day!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteffyBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stay in Baan Bayan everytime I come to Hua Hin. It is a hidden gem. I had my wedding here, my sister had her wedding here, we have had many family and friend trips to Baan Bayan. The staff are great, the pool is awesome, it is right on the beach and so relaxing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thongchai4286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Heavenly.
It is the word we probably used most frequently to describe our time at Baan Bayan in the beach town of Hua Hin. If you ever wondered what it was like to have someone anticipate your every need, this is it. There could not have been a more perfect end to our holiday. Although I had visited Thailand on numerous occasions, this was my first trip to Hua Hin and Baan Bayan. I will definitely be returning to Baan Bayan.

Check In/Check out: The open air reception area is beautiful. You reach it after a long open beautiful walkway takes you from the front entrance to the reception. There is comfortable seating for both check in or to just come down and lounge, read or engage in conversation in the lobby area. Check in was very efficient, very warm and we were made to feel right at home. We were each escorted to our rooms by a staff member who thoroughly explained every aspect of the hotel and our rooms.

Service: Exceptional service. It is five star level services in a small resort with a personal touch. There was always a staff member present (and usually more than one) to respond to any request. It couldn’t have been better.

Atmosphere: Baan Bayan, which at one time was an old Thai Style colonial home, was originally built in the early 1900’s, It sits right on the beach, with a pool, and an open air restaurant. It is breathtaking. None of the five travelers in our group could believe how fortunate we were to find this place. One of us could always be heard saying “it just couldn’t be any better.” The tranquility and serenity of this place were beyond words. This is the only hotel on our trip at which I had not previously stayed, so we arrived with some trepidation. The experience in the hotel and the town were enchanting. The hotel has 21 rooms. There were horses on the beach, vendors offering the usual wares and some local ladies providing beach massages, but the pace and activity was far less than in other beach resorts, such as Phuket or Samui, even on this 3 day holiday weekend. A very tranquil place.

Location: This locally owned resort is right on its own section of the beach with beach chairs, umbrellas and cabanas and plenty of space. Not at all crowded. It is a few doors down from the Marriott, which had been my other choice, as I am a Gold member with Marriott. I’m very glad we choose Baan Bayan instead. We walked down to the Marriott, which was a much bigger and busier place, although both are on very good stretches of beach. The beach area at Baan Bayan is not at all rocky. We strolled the beach in the morning picking up shells and taking in the atmosphere. Baan Bayan is a short taxi drive from the night market (5 minutes).

Rooms: There were three levels (price range) of rooms. We stayed in the mid level courtyard rooms. We did not have ocean front views but still had beautiful views. We had rooms 303 (king), 305 and 306 (both doubles). The rooms were very large rooms and looked like cottages inside, with large balconies off of rooms 305 and 306. The balconies had tables and chairs. Room 303 did not have a balcony, but the room was huge. The rooms were extremely clean and had a bright feel to them. The linens are excellent, the beds very comfortable and the rooms have a desk area, chairs, lounger, refrigerator, large safe and flat screen TV’s and huge closets. When you enter the room there is a long hallway which has the bathroom off to one side, and then a long closet, coffee area and safe. When we checked in we were informed the Internet might not be good in the rooms but that there was an excellent connection in the lobby. However, none of us had any difficulty with the Internet connection from our rooms. Housekeeping was top notch. Each room provided robes, “beach shoes” and “house shoes”.

Bathrooms: Bathrooms are of particular importance to me. Baan Bayan has great bathrooms and they are of good size. The towels are of high quality and there is a separate glassed in shower (rather than the shower that is on the same level as the rest of the bathroom, which is the case in many Thai hotels). The water pressure is good and strong and the water also gets very hot. Good quality toiletries were provided.

Pool: A beautiful pool (not huge, but of adequate side) with a lovely bar and plenty of lounge chairs, which overlooks the beach and ocean. Great pool service also.

Restaurant: There is a lovely buffet breakfast with eggs to order and other hot entrees as well as a variety of cold entrees, fruit, breads, juice and coffee. You can eat breakfast in the open air indoor part of the restaurant or in the garden (although people are allowed to smoke in the garden, so we avoided it). Breakfast is not the level of a 5 star hotel breakfast, but it was very good and provided for everything we needed and the service was exceptional. We ate dinner our first night at the restaurant in the outdoor area overlooking the beach. It was beautiful. We also ate lunch poolside on two days. The Pad Thai and the Green Papaya Salad were delicious. The restaurant staff is warm, prompt and have just the perfect level of attention.

Spa: We all had two hour Thai massages and I also had a one hour oil massage. All were outstanding. The cost is higher than going into town (800 baht for 2 hour Thai massage) but the convenience of being able to stay at the hotel and have high quality massages in a lovely environment was well worth it.

Management: The hotel is managed by Mr. Tawat. He and his staff do an incredible job of making guests feel welcome. The staff was marvelous in every aspect. They were very service minded, engaging, promptly responded to questions and tended to every need and request we had. We had one member of our group become ill in Bangkok, causing a 3 day hospitalization and resulting in an early return to the U.S. for some of our travelers. Baan Bayan was kind enough to refund the deposit paid for two rooms we could not use, which really went above and beyond.

This is definitely a great choice if you are looking for a local Thai beach experience with impeccable service, excellent rooms and tranquil atmosphere.

Room Tip: Mid level courtyard rooms were an excellent choice. Choose the rooms on the third floor. We found th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
5.5 km away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
1.4 km away
Sailom Hotel
Sailom Hotel
#34 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.1 km away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.8 km away
Marrakesh Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 215 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Property: Baan Bayan
Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing