We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding week of exercise health & spa”
Review of Chiva-Som

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chiva-Som
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Chiva Som is the award winning International Health Resort 3 hours south of Bangkok, Thailand. Having read all the reviews you arrive with incredibly high expectations - and they were all exceeded - this was Katrina & my first trip here > having visited different spas / health retreats internationally - this is the best! We will definitely return -

Why was it so outstanding? Chauffeur limo from the airport - personalised consult and medical assessment meant a customised program - delicious healthy food in Taste of Siam or Emerald Rooms - only 54 rooms and Jun/Jul is low season so never queues for any activity or treatment - Saturday BBQ by the pool excellent - so many treatments; such well trained professional therapists - boot camp at 7am on the beach - fully equipped gym - and staff to guest ratio 3:1. Visited Hua Hin markets (CS car will take you there no charge) Cicada night markets 200m away - but probably most importantly - the customer service ethos of every single CS staff is exceptional!

You can do as little - or much as you wish. We both did exercise, fitness, gym, stretching and breathing in the morning - and an indulgent afternoon - yes, sometimes whole afternoon in the spa with 3-5 treatments / massages - then different dinners / markets at night.

Quite simply the most indulgent week ever!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JKHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiva-Som-Management, General Manager at Chiva-Som, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear JKHunter,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online. I am blessed with an incredible team and they will be truly delighted when I share your review with them. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Sheila McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Went there for a 3 night stay in April. This was our 3rd visit here and we just love it. Both my wife and me would love to come back every year if possible. For those not aware this is a health and wellness retreat amongst the top ten in the world. They require a minimum 3 night stay and the price includes all meals plus activities and certain spa treatments depending on the package you take. Compared to newer hotels in terms of decor the rooms may not be the best but they are very good with all amenities present. The service is above excellent and the food at all meals is extremely good,considering that they feed you healthy/spa cuisine. Any diet requirement is well taken care off. The staff all over the resort are extremely professional and well trained. The spa is super and quality of treatments super.
You have to visit to experience it. Of course it's not cheap.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank RajeevKK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiva-Som-Management, General Manager at Chiva-Som, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear RajeevKK15,

Many thanks for visiting us once again and for the wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed your comments back to our team and thank you on their behalf. We have an ongoing program to update the rooms and we hope you can enjoy a newly done room on your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Sheila McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

The most relaxing vacation ever at Chiva Som

We took spa pampering package of 7 days. Amd came back extremely pampered. Everything starting from massages, food , accomodation, expertese of spa staff and other staff was of highest class.

Food was healthy and very delicious.

Cant wait to go again

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank asmashaikh786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiva-Som-Management, General Manager at Chiva-Som, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear asmashaikh786,

Greetings from the Haven of Life.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments on the services and facilities. I will pass your comments to our Chefs and the service team. I am sure your comments will inspire them to continue to do their best everyday. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Sheila McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

I have just checked out of Chiva Som today and I have been hear 4 times now but this will definatly be my last trip to Chiva Som
We booked this time for 7 days and when we arrived were shown our room which I think must have been the worst room in the resort! After coming hear for my 4 th visit I guess I expected a better room and having been the low season with hardly any guests expected and asked for a better room . They spent the next two hours showing us only 2 to 3 more rooms so we settled on a room a little larger with a separate loung as they stated nothing else was available
They did not tell us the price difference . To be honest for a new refurbished room it was still not well finished in workmanship or had the feeling of a 5 star resort. For our original ocean view room the cost was around $14,000 Australian dollars for 7 days. When we went to check out we found out the room would now cost $37,000.00 plus another $10,000.00 in treatments for $47,000.00 we feel totally ripped off.
I will never go back you can go to much better places and have far more luxury then what we have experienced hear
It is a resort that is over 30 years old and in need of a total refurbishment . I would rate the hotel standard to be 3 to 4 star at the most and for this sort of money they are crazy !
They did not offer an apology or discount for all the stress and miscommunication from there staff

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank eyeinvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiva-Som-Management, General Manager at Chiva-Som, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Eyetoinvest,

We thank you for your comments and I have personally looked into each point.
It makes us sad that we did not meet your expectations. We regret that you are unhappy with the pricing however it was communicated to you on your day of arrival. Chiva-Som guests can be confident that we have a pricing approach that is published, transparent and consistent in order to be fair to all guests. As a fourth time visitor to our resort, you are aware that our rates are also inclusive of an extensive wellness programme of services and activities, amenities and includes three wellness cuisine meals per day.

On arrival, May 27th afternoon, we learnt you did not like the assigned room in the price category you had originally selected and therefore a member of our Front Office Team immediately arranged to show the only three remaining available rooms in house. Before showing you the suite, we highlighted a price differential would apply and confirmed the revised rate in a hand delivered letter at 4:00 pm the same afternoon. On the day before your scheduled departure you came to Front Office requesting a complimentary upgrade or discount. Unfortunately, prices are not negotiable but they are reflective of the room category, including size and view, amenities and butler service. This suite is one of our most requested.

The new guest rooms and suites are designed to be a quiet, elegant backdrop to the wellness experience however we have noted your comments. Our interpretation of ‘luxury’ is focused on wellness services developed over the last 22 years. We are currently in the final planning stages for the next phase of renovation in the coming years. Please rest assured we treat all of our guests fairly during their stay with us at Chiva-Som.
Sheila McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed for the minimum of 3 nights package. As soon as my sister and I arrived, we were well taken care of. Met with a consultant who customized our schedules to our wellness goals. One can be as busy or lazy as one wants, or find a happy medium like I have. All the treatments and exercise classes stand up to a high standard. Their Thai food was super tasty, yet supposedly low calorie. Their customer service is excellent. This place is first class to the core. I would love to return, again and again... I highly recommend Chiva Som.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank bruceleefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiva-Som-Management, General Manager at Chiva-Som, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear bruceleefan,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed our wellness cuisine and our treatments and services. We hope that we get a chance to welcome you and your sister again. Yours in health and wellness,
Sheila McCann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1 km away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
0.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,279 reviews
4.3 km away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#127 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,351 reviews
8.6 km away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#10 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,647 reviews
0.4 km away
V Villas Hua Hin, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiva-Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiva-Som

Address: 73 / 4 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range: €1,290 - €4,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chiva-Som 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiva-Som is a luxury health resort, combining international standards with Thai hospitality to deliver personal wellness programmes in a non regimented way. Everything we do focuses on a holistic approach to health that incorporates mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chiva-Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiva-Som Hotel Hua Hin
Chiva Som Luxury Health Hotel
Chiva Som Luxury Health Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing