We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
3
8
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
8
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Upon arriving, I was told to take off and leave my sandals outside. Prior to me finishing registering - two street dogs came into the lobby. One laid down with it;s back against the check in counter and proceeded to chase fleas around on it hips with it's teeth (by biting steadily), the other dog was laying a few feet away - licking open wounds from fighting. Both of these dogs inside the building and about 10-12 feet from where food would be served/consumed.

The building has no elevator. Check in on ground level. On second level - no numbers, but is used for house keeping staff. On the third level, the rooms are numbered A2's, etc. The fourth level is numbered in the '3's.

The distance to the beach is beyond comfortable walking distance, it is probably in the 8-900 meter range. The road next to the hotel dead ends in a garbage site about 5-600 meters away. You also have street dogs to contend with if you choose to walk this road.

Room tip: I was placed in a room on the third level. My room overlooked the incoming street and a lot that was for sale on the far side. A lot of garbage by other businesses/kitchen dumped there. No view of the sea from my room.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CalgaryCowboyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

It IS a very long walk to the center of Hua Hin from Baan Nilawan, but you can take a green bus (every 30 minutes) for 15 baat; we hopped on a cycle-taxi once, and walked it a few times. The nice people at the front desk rented us their motorcycle one day so we could explore outside of town (tried to see the Palace, but it is closed on Wednesdays). Who really wants to be in downtown Hua Hin anyway, with its 10 million mummified Europeans in their Speedos? Everything in our room worked fine, the staff was very nice, and I liked the Thai version of "American Breakfast." The coffee bar doesn't open until 10 am (!?) so we have to make do with instant coffee :(. I would go back.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

the baan nilawan is a pleasant hotel, the room we had was a good size, with lots of windows, so it was bright and comfortable. the free wifi was good, and the room had hot water. the beach near the hotel was empty, and i don't think people swim there because i believe there was drainage emptying into the ocean. breakfast is included, but it's not very good (typical ABF- a dish with an egg and a "sausage"- those min hot dogs so common in thailand). i drank the glass of water with breakfast, and i got sick (my fault for drinking the water!). the town is rather far (we didn't even try to walk it)- you need to get a songthaew- they can be hailed at the main street, close to the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

First stayed here about two years ago and it was a real hidden gem and out of the way from the city centre.

The prices are very reasonable for Hua Hin and the facilities are very good indeed.
The rooms are all clean and have ensuite toilet, sink and shower. Hot water included.
Recently they have upgraded to WiFi internet which is relatively quick and reliable.

The Staff are friendly and welcoming with a friendly dog which hangs around the lobby.
Security is on-site and I've never had any issues with parking or break-ins.

The location is just near to a Furniture Dept Store and is about 5 mins walk from the Kings Palace.
Hua Hin city centre is best reached by car or bike, otherwise it's about 25 mins walk.
Nearby are several cafes and restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust4everAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews