We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet and relaxing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel has a really pretty beach front and tropical gardens and the sunbeds are spread out in small groups rather than lined up in rows.
Its on a fairly steep hill with the reception and breakfast room up the top, so not for the infirm.
We had 3 different rooms in this hotel as we went off diving for 4 nights and when we came back we could only stay near to the big pool and we preferred the other side of the hotel (on the left if looking from the beach). They very kindly moved our room as soon as they could back to the left. I could only get the Internet reception this side of the hotel as well.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful but some of the pool bar and restaurant staff had limited English and the service was extremely slow. The food was really good when it did arrive so you just have to be chilled!!
A very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Bee0202, Greetings from Khaolak Resort. Thank you for making Khaolak Resort your holiday destination. We are pleased in receiving your kind remarks and criticism about our hotel. We all at KhoaLak resort try to make your stay a very pleasant experience. All Guest comments whether praise or negative always help us to excel and improve the Khaolak Resort experiences.
Due to unchangeable landscape of Khaolak Resort, we do apologies for those infirm guests not able to enjoy at our 400 meters wide beach.
We are continually working to improve our staff's better understanding of English and to give better service in all areas of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Khoalak. It is our aim that every one of our guests leaves with happy memories of Khoalak and Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    328
    73
    10
    5
See reviews for
145
700
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed heere for a week wanting to get away from the busy pace of Phuket and we loved it. The grounds are lush and private and there are 3 pools. We walked quite a ways down the beach and felt that this resort's beachfront was one of the best. It is far enough away from town to be quiet, but close enough that we walked there for lunch or dinner most days. The food at the resort was good, but quite pricey. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was huge. If you are staying in a superior or standard room, ask for an end unit-it has a larger balcony and bedrrom area and more windows. The cleaning was a bit hit and miss though we tipped every day, but I've found this to be pretty consistent with Thailand. We would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit if you are staying in the block rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank starkerama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Excellent hotel with an amazing hillside garden and wonderful pools. The best rooms are the poolside and beachfront bungalows. I wouldn't have wanted to be in the rooms further up the hill, which looked a bit penned in by the luxuriant vegetation and generally less welcoming.
The hotel is definitely not for people with mobility difficulties - all ups and downs, steps and stairs, with not much lighting at night. The main part of town is 10 minutes away on foot, down a hill and up another. But there are some good restaurants just opposite the hotel Laguna, which is next door and also nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

First of all - if I could give this hotel 4.5 out of 5, I probably would. We stayed here for 10 nights over New Year. Our arrival went very smoothly and we were shown to our bungalow quickly. We booked a Deluxe Bungalow through Hayes and Jarvis but we were actually given the grade above - Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow (number 110), which had a gorgeous view of the beach and, even better, direct access to the swimming pool behind the bungalow, through the outdoor bathroom. This was an unexpected bonus! It was very peaceful and laid back, even though it was peak season. The pool was generally very quiet and the bigger pool close to the beach restaurant seemed even quieter a lot of the time. However, there was a lot of sun lounger reserving going on, with people putting towels down before 8:00 AM. The hotel does say on notices that this is not allowed but I guess it is difficult to stop it.

The bungalow was lovely - a little bit rustic but big, clean and light. The bed was very comfortable, if you like you like very hard beds - which we do. My only, very small, complaint would be that there was hardly any storage space for clothes. But this is a small matter in the grand scheme of things! Another small gripe - the air conditioning wouldn't get cold enough for my liking and a lot of the cold air maybe escaped through the patio doors which didn't close very well. But no major complaints at all. Overall we were really very happy with our room.

We went on a room and breakfast basis, which I would recommend highly. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and lovely made to order omelettes and waffles. We occasionally ate at the beach bar/restaurant at lunch times. The food and service were fine but it’s a lot more expensive than taking a walk into town or up the beach to a nearby bar (Peter’s – just past The Wanaburee). We only ate at the hotel on our first evening. Again, the food was fine but we prefer to try new places. We thoroughly enjoyed two meals at “Smile” – excellent food but, as the reviews for it say, expect quite slow service. I must also mention “Monkey Bar” where we enjoyed a fair few drinks many evenings. There is a huge amount of choice of restaurants within a 15 minute walk (or a quick taxi ride).

The location of the resort is excellent – you feel surrounded by jungle on one side, lovely beach on the other and not far from bars, restaurants and shops.

We went on a few trips; Similian Islands, James Bond Island and Koh Tachai. The trip to the Similians was a little disappointing as the snorkelling was, at best, below average and, at times, rubbish. This was perhaps our own fault as we went with a dive boat, which maybe took us to dive sites for the divers, rather than decent snorkelling sites. So, if you want to go snorkelling, make sure the trip is dedicated to snorkellers. Also the main island that we went to (number 8) was incredibly busy with speedboats etc and you only have a tiny space roped off for swimming. The trip to Koh Tachai was far better. It was run by a company called LoveAndaman. The guide was excellent, the beach was beautiful (far less crowded) and the snorkelling was far, far better. The trip to James Bond Island was ok. The scenery is stunning but be prepared for crowds. We were taken to the fishing village for lunch. The lunch was good but the villagers do not fish any more – there was a large market selling, in my opinion, mainly tat e.g. sarongs, t-shirts and hundreds of shells! However, even worse than the shells was the fact that many dried out and inflated porcupine fish were on sale - not impressed! But, on a more positive note, it was interesting to walk around and catch glimpses into how the villagers live and the local school.

I would definitely recommend the Khao Lak Resort. I think that it offered excellent value for money. The staff were wonderful and the service was always first class. They worked incredibly hard preparing for the New Year’s Eve celebrations, which apart from some cringeworthy games and enforced fun, were fantastic.

Perfect place for a relaxing and peaceful escape from the cold, grey winter!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe Bungalow or Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cakestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Verry nice beach bungolows (expensive) whit great vew and lots of privacy.
Romantic open air shower and nice balcony.
Beach is so so, not white, no good snorkeling...

Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Pay more for a room at the beach if you love to sit outsite in the evening and you want some romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
10.9 km away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 65 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
14.6 km away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 65 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
11.3 km away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
9.8 km away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Property: Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing