We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING ADVENTURE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustine's Adventure Africa

Augustine's Adventure Africa
Ranked #20 of 213 Outdoor Activities in Arusha
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Augustine's Adventure Africa (AA Africa) offers private and customized safaris to Tanzania game parks, bird watching trips, hiking trails, cultural and ecological tourism & Zanzibar beach escapes. Be our guest and join our professional team of Guides and Naturalists for an African adventure of a lifetime!
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AMAZING ADVENTURE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day safari with Augustine Minja. We were fortunate to have him as our naturalist, as he is a native Tanzanian and has extensive training and knowledge of the area as well of the flora and fauna. We gave him our budget and he designed a package to fit our needs.

We saw the "Big 5" (10 prides of lions) as well as numerous other animals (2 wildebeests migrations). The lodging and food were top notch.... we were even able to eat fresh fruits and vegetables because of the accomodations he chose.

We found 10 days to be the perfect time and chose the dry season so travel would be a little easier. There is a LOT of dust and roads are quite bumpy, so be prepared. Augustine's motto is "hope, optimism, and patience" in finding animals and for us it paid off.

This was the trip of a lifetime for us and it did not disappoint, because of his careful planning and excellent staff. We highly recommend Augustine's Adventure Africa.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryp514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“More than we ever expected!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

We went on a 11 day Safari with Augustine and his staff. We were able to visit 5 amazing parks where we watched animals, learned about culture, stayed at amazing resorts and met great new friends.
Augustine and his staff were knowledgeable, professional, hilarious and very patient. The accomodations were comfortable, beautiful and we wished we could stay for weeks!

Having spent years in an animal field I was fascinated with all the information Augustine was able to share with us. We were amazed at all the animals we were able to see and the amount of time we spent in the parks.

The staff customized our trip to our interests and we could not have asked for more.

It was a trip of a lifetime!! We will go back with Augustine!!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank danimg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“Awsome! HIghly recommend him!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

We've been wanting to go to Africa for several years, but the costs were just too high. Then Augustine was recommended to us by another nature guide in the U.S. I contacted him about what I wanted in a trip - wildlife, birding, and being able to take our 10 year old grandson who is interested in wildlife. Augustine came up with an incredible itinerary and guide for the 5 of us (our daughter, son in law, and grandson joined us) and all at a very reasonable price.. I had high expectations for this trip, and every aspect of it exceeded my expectations! Although we didn't have Augustine for our guide, we were at the same lodges as his group several nights. Augustine was highly attentive to our needs and made sure everything was going well. The days we didn't see him, he was in contact with Lyimo to make sure everything was okay (they always were!).
Lyimo was our guide, and within a day he learned what we were interested in and did his best to accommodate us.He was very attentive to our needs, stopping every time we asked to look at a bird or animal, staying as long as we wanted, and answering our hundreds of questions. He became like a family member to us and our grandson was in tears having to leave him at the end of the trip.
Augustine is wonderful! His emphasis is on everyone having a wonderful time, learning about the wildlife and culture of Tanzania, while keeping everyone safe and comfortable and doing no damage to the wildlife or environment.The itinerary we had covered many different habitats so we would see as much variety of wildlife as possible. The tented camps and lodges we stayed at were very comfortable and clean, most of them were more luxurious than the motels we stay at in the states. staff was friendly and helpful, food was very good and prepared carefully so we all made it through the 12 days without any traveler's diarrhea! Augustine and Lyimo were wonderful with our grandson, and made sure he was having a wonderful time, too..
The Land Cruiser vehicle we traveled in was very comfortable, and being able to stand and look out the top gave a better perspective. The enclosed sides felt much safer than an open vehicle would be, especially when a lion walked right next to the van.The side windows do slide open. We were worried about the rough roads since 3 of us have bad backs and hips. Lyimo drove as carefully as possible, and again the vehicle was comfortable and being able to stand at times helped too.
I cannot say enough good things about Augustine and Lyimo, and the wonderful trip they gave us. We highly recommend them and hope to be able to return and enjoy another fantastic safari with them! You cannot find a better company to deal with than Augustine's!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank kirsten5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Kilimanjaro climb and Serengeti/Ngorongoro Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016

We had a fantastic trip climbing Kili followed by the safari in Serengeti & Ngorongoro, in July this year (2016). Augustine set us up nicely with a lot of pre-information before we started the journey so that got us packing properly and understanding what we were getting into. Then we had an excellent pre-climb briefing with the head guide Hebron which set us up even better. The climb was tough in the rugged, unforgiving and beautiful Kilimanjaro. If not for the porters, cooks, waiters and guides we wouldn't have made it. Then the safari was the icing on the cake where we saw all the big five plus a lot more. Wish we could stay longer. So glad that Augustine set us up with Kaysee and Steve as our safari diver-guides because they were very knowledgeable about the animals and environment.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank avimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Throw your expectation out the window”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2016

The 10 days that we spent in Tanzania with Augustine's Adventure Africa were so much more than was expected. The lodges and hotels were beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The day trips were exciting and there was always something to see. The trips were specialized to each groups wants. We got to know our guides and enjoyed spending a lot of time with them outside of the game drives. I recommend this company to anyone looking to travel to travel to Africa. If you are questioning about going to Africa, just stop and go! It was out of this world!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nikki12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augustine's Adventure Africa also viewed

 

Been to Augustine's Adventure Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing