We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$109
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$77
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
US$63
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Raha Leo(Arusha)(Great Value!)
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
192
59
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
59
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer street childrenarusha national parkmount meruvocational trainingwatch birdsfruit treesfire pitmangotwo nightsusa riverhot waterfoundationswampmarshtearoomlodgehippos
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Great purpose and help for the street children to be trained and given jobs. The location is wonderful with amazing amounts of birds to watch, especially morning and evening. Good walks, bike rides and visits to Arusha National Park. Also, take the time to visit the foundation as well. Rooms are clean and well prepared.

The service is good and if anything is not to your liking, just mention it and they will do so for you. We wanted to use less plastic bottled water, so brought a filter that they used for us. Very nice service.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GenSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Gen,

Thanks for your review, and we are happy to read that you liked very much our lodge location and birds, the activities, the services of our former students of Watoto Foundation. Your review will help us to get more and more guests from all over the world

Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed four nights and it was wonderful. The boys pay attention to every wish. Our diet is vegan and we got excellent food. It was made with so much love and the service was very nice. Our room was very big and perfectly clean. We enjoyed the offered activities, but you need a driver for everything. We did the river walk and visited the project "Child in the Sky". It was a great experience. It is so amazing which great job the organization does. We can recommend this lodge to everyone especially to people who care about the environment and the local people. Thank you very much for this wonderful stay. Safari niema!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sternchen632012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thanks for your nice review and good to hear that you appreciate also the visit of our main Watoto Foundation center in Makumira, where our students get a 4 years education also for the hotel industry. We are happy to read that you appreciate the service and food from our staff, karibu Tena, welcome again

Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We have been to this lodge twice and both times the staff are exceptionally kind and helpful. The food is delicious, the rooms are actually very sweet little houses and all look out to the grasslands and a view of Meru.

The best thing about this place is the birds. They swoop and fly and fill the air with sounds. It is extraordinary.

Make sure you come in a 4x4 though because the road is pretty uneven and you have to cross a small river on the way to the lodge.

Overall, we love this place and will certainly go back again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

It is correct that our "Birds paradise" is a wonderful place to stay and we are happy to see that you enjoyed it so much. That our team has given you a good service and the food was delicious thus makes us happy. Hope to see you again, Karibu tena......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This was the first stop for us on our honeymoon/safari, and the only one we specifically requested. The staff here are "street boys" who are trained in hospitality, and some of the profits from the lodge go to supporting a school and helping other "street boys". This seemed like a cool venture to support.
After a dusty drive along the main road, we bounced along a dirt road through a local community finally ending at a large gate. Once inside we were greeted with the customary juice (mango) for us and our guide. I was surprised to see we were in a very wooded area.
There was a main lodge with bar, dinner tables, a fire place and couches. Leaving the main building, Kiboko has a number of concrete homey cottages of different sizes. With a large group this would be great, since the cottages aren't far each other. On arrival we were the only ones there, so it was incredibly quiet. A wooden walkway lead out, past a fire pit, to a "tea room" - a large roofed area with bar and tables right up against a field of reeds. As the sun set, this turned out to be the perfect place to relax and bird watch for a while - testing our binoculars and cameras before starting our trip.
We showed up a bit early to dinner, and the staff was quick to see to us and set up our seating. This involved a hanging mini-fire pit to keep the chill out. Soup came quickly (blended vegetables, creamy and tasty). They were happy to accommodate my wife's request to not have meat. Everything was really tasty and well made.
Part way through dinner a small group of international students showed up. They were friendly, and played some card game by the fire. I was way too tired to engage with them (30 hours since I'd last slept). So, after dinner we went back to our room.
The room we were assigned as cozy - a large bed with mosquito netting, a bathroom with toilet and shower (no door to the bathroom). The sheets had some grit in them (after our flight I was super paranoid, and checked really closely) but no bugs. My guess is its a result of air drying sheets in a dusty area. Still, an extra shake before making the beds would go a long way, but I am confident they were extremely clean.
In the morning we went to the Tea room for breakfast. The students who had gotten in late had been pretty heavy drinkers, so they weren't up yet. This meant a relaxing morning sipping tea and having fruit before our eggs and toast came. Great start to the day.
Over all Kiboko was a nice relaxing start to the vacation. Sure, two drunk people ruined the peaceful night's sleep - but judging by the staff's reaction (ie. Very angry to find a broken glass by the fire pit), this is not the norm. The paths are great for short walks (not long enough for a run) to stretch you legs out after a flight, and the setting is rather idyllic.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you very much for the review, it help us a lot, we already changed our policy, no more noises accepted, we even hang on our notice body that after 10pm in the evening it should be silent, Ahsante sana, Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the lodge. Nice breakfast, clean room. Everything as it should be in a lodge. The staff was very nice and we had a lovely time staying here.
If you want to avoid the busy city's and get a personal touch, Kiboko lodge is perfect for you!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Bird's paradise Kiboko Lodge is very happy with your review and we like to meet you again in one of the coming years, karibu tena, welcome again! Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews