We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place”
Review of Kiboko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiboko Lodge
Ranked #3 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed four nights and it was wonderful. The boys pay attention to every wish. Our diet is vegan and we got excellent food. It was made with so much love and the service was very nice. Our room was very big and perfectly clean. We enjoyed the offered activities, but you need a driver for everything. We did the river walk and visited the project "Child in the Sky". It was a great experience. It is so amazing which great job the organization does. We can recommend this lodge to everyone especially to people who care about the environment and the local people. Thank you very much for this wonderful stay. Safari niema!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sternchen632012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thanks for your nice review and good to hear that you appreciate also the visit of our main Watoto Foundation center in Makumira, where our students get a 4 years education also for the hotel industry. We are happy to read that you appreciate the service and food from our staff, karibu Tena, welcome again

Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We have been to this lodge twice and both times the staff are exceptionally kind and helpful. The food is delicious, the rooms are actually very sweet little houses and all look out to the grasslands and a view of Meru.

The best thing about this place is the birds. They swoop and fly and fill the air with sounds. It is extraordinary.

Make sure you come in a 4x4 though because the road is pretty uneven and you have to cross a small river on the way to the lodge.

Overall, we love this place and will certainly go back again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

It is correct that our "Birds paradise" is a wonderful place to stay and we are happy to see that you enjoyed it so much. That our team has given you a good service and the food was delicious thus makes us happy. Hope to see you again, Karibu tena......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This was the first stop for us on our honeymoon/safari, and the only one we specifically requested. The staff here are "street boys" who are trained in hospitality, and some of the profits from the lodge go to supporting a school and helping other "street boys". This seemed like a cool venture to support.
After a dusty drive along the main road, we bounced along a dirt road through a local community finally ending at a large gate. Once inside we were greeted with the customary juice (mango) for us and our guide. I was surprised to see we were in a very wooded area.
There was a main lodge with bar, dinner tables, a fire place and couches. Leaving the main building, Kiboko has a number of concrete homey cottages of different sizes. With a large group this would be great, since the cottages aren't far each other. On arrival we were the only ones there, so it was incredibly quiet. A wooden walkway lead out, past a fire pit, to a "tea room" - a large roofed area with bar and tables right up against a field of reeds. As the sun set, this turned out to be the perfect place to relax and bird watch for a while - testing our binoculars and cameras before starting our trip.
We showed up a bit early to dinner, and the staff was quick to see to us and set up our seating. This involved a hanging mini-fire pit to keep the chill out. Soup came quickly (blended vegetables, creamy and tasty). They were happy to accommodate my wife's request to not have meat. Everything was really tasty and well made.
Part way through dinner a small group of international students showed up. They were friendly, and played some card game by the fire. I was way too tired to engage with them (30 hours since I'd last slept). So, after dinner we went back to our room.
The room we were assigned as cozy - a large bed with mosquito netting, a bathroom with toilet and shower (no door to the bathroom). The sheets had some grit in them (after our flight I was super paranoid, and checked really closely) but no bugs. My guess is its a result of air drying sheets in a dusty area. Still, an extra shake before making the beds would go a long way, but I am confident they were extremely clean.
In the morning we went to the Tea room for breakfast. The students who had gotten in late had been pretty heavy drinkers, so they weren't up yet. This meant a relaxing morning sipping tea and having fruit before our eggs and toast came. Great start to the day.
Over all Kiboko was a nice relaxing start to the vacation. Sure, two drunk people ruined the peaceful night's sleep - but judging by the staff's reaction (ie. Very angry to find a broken glass by the fire pit), this is not the norm. The paths are great for short walks (not long enough for a run) to stretch you legs out after a flight, and the setting is rather idyllic.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you very much for the review, it help us a lot, we already changed our policy, no more noises accepted, we even hang on our notice body that after 10pm in the evening it should be silent, Ahsante sana, Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the lodge. Nice breakfast, clean room. Everything as it should be in a lodge. The staff was very nice and we had a lovely time staying here.
If you want to avoid the busy city's and get a personal touch, Kiboko lodge is perfect for you!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Bird's paradise Kiboko Lodge is very happy with your review and we like to meet you again in one of the coming years, karibu tena, welcome again! Frank and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The whole concept of the lodge is very nice and unique in beautiful surroundings. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean, with a hot shower between fixed hours and good beds. The food was very good. I would certainly recommand this place! They also offer some nice activities!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annie878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at Kiboko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Annie, Watoto Foundation Kiboko lodge want to thank you so much for your stay and supporting our projects and to help the children of Tanzania, Karibu Tena, welcome again, Frank and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
7.8 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
526 reviews
21.1 km away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
7.5 km away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
140 reviews
24.3 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,077 reviews
30.5 km away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 199 in Arusha
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Lodge

Address: Ngurdoto Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: €119 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kiboko Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Lodge is part of the Watoto Foundation, founded by former retail director Noud and Truus van Hout from The Netherlands. The foundation works to educate street children in Tanzania since 2003. Watoto Foundation is a vocational training centre. Children who suffer from addiction to drugs, glue and alcohol are given the opportunity to build a new life. The Foundation offers them the chance for an education, which will equip them with the necessary skills to find a job. This is unique in a country where 70% of the population are unemployed. Staying at Kiboko Lodge is possible from $83 per person during high season and $73 per person in low season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiboko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing