We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
US$65
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amani Hostel(Arusha)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ajiram(Arusha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
52
16
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
16
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed just before the rainy season in the beginning of this year.
It is a very nice place t stay.
Along with the always friendly survises of Robert, it made a perfect base for my travels.
Breakfast i pretty good aswell.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Sakina Campsite is a bit out of town, righthandsite at the Nairobi road. It is surrounded by walls and a safe and nice place to stay when you do not want to be in the busy city. Above all, as mentioned in other reviews, Robert is really friendly and helped us with everything we had to do in town. There is a "living room" which we used for working (Rovert even provided us with internet stick to check our mails) and the rooms are big enough and we slept quite well. There is optional laundry service (although expensive). The small garden is green and we even managed to see some nice birds there. Highly recommendable! Asante sana to Robert and Jennifer

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrinBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The place is very safe and you can feel that the personnel is taking care of you. Robert is a superb and thoughtful guy, Jennifer is kindly taking care of the cleanliness of your room. Nice breakfast and good view of Mont Meru. I had an awesome time. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudra6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A perfect cheap and friendly place to stay. Robert is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the garden with our small camper van. A great view of Mount Meru. A laundry service is also available. With a daladala Arusha is easy to reach. We even had a BBQ in the garden.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Ok, first off let me get the mediocre parts out of the way - location. Sakina is not the most convenient location, but it's $3 in a dalla-dalla or $6 in a taxi away from anywhere. So it was not a problem at all. In return, we get very good value for our lodging dollar.

Just to be clear, this is not ONLY a campsite. They have several rooms with decent appointments. This is not Hilton, but things are clean and quiet. For the money, I would use this place again. We saved a ton of money staying on the cheap in Arusha and splurging all the rest on our beach resort in Zanzi :)

However, the best feature of this place is the guy who runs it - Robert. He's the friendliest and the most helpful person I experienced in Arusha. He was singularly the reason why we did not have a meltdown in Arusha when we had disagreements with our safari company. He knows reliable people around town - safari operators, taxi drivers, restaurants - everything... and is happy to connect you with them. Once inside the fence, Sakina is such a quiet place and Robert knows how to keep it that way. We are still in touch with him after we are back and wish him the best.

Highly recommended for hikers and backpackers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashterfuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews