We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night at the start of our Srilanka trip. Hotel is located right on beach and the balcony had nice view.
Room was quite big , the big bath tub in bathroom was inviting. The bathroom was nice with a big rain shower but the water drainage was poor. Breakfast buffet was good with a good spread. However the service was not up to par. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TraFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Jetwing Sea on TripAdvisor, and for your nice comments with regard to views from the hotel. We are happy to note that you have had a comfortable stay whilst with us.

We do hope that we will be able to see you again at Jetwing Sea hopefully for a longer stay, so that we have the opportunity to give you a unique and memorable experience with us once more.


Ayubowan (May you live long)

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Sayed 2 nights on business. Researched via Trip Advisor prior to booking. The hotel is in a bad neighborhood on the beach. The positive for me was that it is 15 minutes from the airport. other than that, it's fairly shabby. Rooms are basically a concrete vault with AC and a shower with black mold.
Found a nest of spiders on my pants the next morning and had several mosquitos buzzing in my ear alright.
Breakfast was decent with a good selection of edible food.
They ripped us off on the cab back to the airport. From the airport was R500. They charged us R2,600. When I complained they basically said arrange it yourself. That's our price. Pretty shabby treatment.
I have to believe there is better.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time on posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Sea.

We have noted your comments with regard to some concerns about the hotel location and the hotel transfer charges to the airport. Our location which otherwise is regarded by most our dear guests as being excellent has not been able provide you with certain services during your stay in Negombo.

It would have to be made clear that a Tuk Tuk ride form airport may have cost Rs 500 but a Chauffer driven air conditioned luxury vehicle which we provide as a guest service from the hotel is somewhat expensive compared to that of a Tuk Tuk.

However, it is our utmost concern to improve on our service areas and your thoughts will surely help us to identify those and help us prevent them from recurring.

We wish to welcome you soon on your next visit to Jetwing Sea.


Ayubowan!! (may you live long)



Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is small but very nice , clean and the staffs very accommodating and friendly. Love the breakfast area facing the sea. Breakfast buffet has a lot of selection and local fruits. The only drawback is the hotel gets to be very quiet, so if you are looking for more lively place , you will need to go out of the hotel .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Walnut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time on posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Sea. Our greatest mission is to make your stay with us as comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable as possible in Negombo.

We wish to welcome you soon on your next visit to Jetwing Sea.


Ayubowan!! (may you live long)


Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed just for one night and I must admit that I really liked the view from my room - view on the beach and ocean. Otherwise the room looks nice but the furniture was really old and small carpets which were in my room (208) smelt really bad! I had to move the one which was next to my bed cause it smelt like wet dog or dirty feet and I smelt it when I was lying in my bed!!!
AC in the room was working fine - no humidity!
I was also really mad in the morning (9am) when I was woken up by extremely loud music from the restaurant (my room was right above the restaurant) so I called the reception and they told me that there is engagement party and that the music will be playing till 2pm so I left my room and went out so I don't have to listen these keyboard-based songs ( there was live music down there-but really bad singer which was impossible to listen - I still can't believe that somebody was paying for this to have it on their party) .
If you walk like 1km right from the hotel there is really nice area where is plenty of restaurants and bar ! And there is also amazing caffe place called - coffee bean and tea leaf so I definitely can recommend this place as it's clean and made for people from western to feel like home :)
The pool in hotel was nice and clean but The area around the hotel looks really poor.
Overall I must say I was expecting more and I wouldn't choose this hotel for my holiday so I'm glad that I stay just for one night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Natálie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

While we thank you for choosing to stay with us and more importantly taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during the course of your stay in Negombo. During the week since your review was posted we have spoken to many of our associates and have managed to put together the details mentioned in your review. This has allowed us to take immediate action in order to maintain consistency in the level of the service we provide.

We wish to welcome you soon on your next visit to Negombo.


Ayubowan!! (may you live long)


Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Hotel
The hotel is lovely, with walk ways right onto the beach. The pool was unfortunately going through maintenance when we stayed but there was a pool right beside we could use. The seating areas at the upstairs bar, overlooking the beach are exceptional.

Room
We had an amazing beach view room which gave breathtaking sunrises and sun sets. Alongside this, the room is was huge and the bathroom was something else. It's beautiful 2 headed rain fall shower alongside a clear window (which can be covered) meant views of the ocean whilst showering - a nice compromise since an actual rain fall shower outside isn't possible at this hotel.
Not room related but the gym was poor in that the A/C wouldn't work at all - which isn't ideal in 30 degree heat in a glass gym.

Food
The meals here were very nice, albeit more western than Sri Lankan cuisine, which was to be expected in Negombo vs other areas in Sri Lanka that are a little more rural. That being said, the food was great and we have no complaints.
The service was good however at various times, it was very slow. Meaning there were times where we were waiting for a bottle of water for 15 mins, when the restaurant wasn't overly busy - but not a huge deal.

Negombo is a beautiful area and if you want somewhere with a great spa also overlooking the beach, go for this place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time on posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Sea. It was our pleasure to have made it a memorable stay for you in Negombo.

We would also like to thank you for your other comments with regards to the delay in service and the air conditioning of the gym as we greatly value your feedback and will certainly look in to these immediately.

We are glad that you enjoyed the variety of food served as well as the surrounding environment in Negombo.

We wish to welcome you soon on your next visit at Jetwing Sea.


Ayubowan!! (may you live long)



Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.1 km away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
1.9 km away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
484 reviews
0.9 km away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
1.7 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
517 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: €85 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing