We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable luxury family getaway.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lagoon Villa

Main entrance to the villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance to the villa
Half an acre of landscaped and totally private garden with tropical plants and trees Large Private pool with sun beds, summer house and plenty of space to sun bathe or relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Main entrance to the villa
Half an acre of landscaped and totally private garden with tropical plants and trees
Large Private pool with sun beds, summer house and plenty of space to sun bathe or relax
Pool at night with fibre optic (twinkle) lights - amazing experience over a drink by the pool
Private pool with sunbeds
Villa rear facing the famous Negombo Lagoon. Just walk straight into the water from here!
Large Master Bedroom with king size bed, sofa and en-suite. Wake up to the sunrise over the lagoon.
Master bedroom with bright Sri Lankan style large sofa.
En-suite to master bedroom. Double vanity, bath and separate shower room. Magnificent!
Second Double Bedroom with en-suite overlooking the lagoon. Four poster bed with cosy linen.
En-suite to second double bedroom with fourposter bed. Vanity top and separate shower area.
Third Large Double Bedroom with en-suite. Lovely views of the pool and the landscaped garden.
Fourth Bedroom - Twin on the ground floor with lovely views of the garden.
Large bathroom with vanity and separate shower room for the twin-bedroom.
Large living room with two reception rooms overlooking the lagoon. Beautiful views of the water.
Separate large dining room with table to dine 10 guests. Light and airy with views of the lagoon.
Dining 'on the lagoon' at sunset. Feel the water and nature as you dine with us!
Extra large 'island style' kitchen to cook and entertain large parties. Overlooking the la
Kitchen with all the appliances you would ever need for a comfortable stay.
Villa reception with bar. Bringing the true warmth of Sri Lankan and modern architecture into one.
First floor landing reception area. Private and romantic.
Large 10 foot wide balconies across the breadth of the villa. Panoramic views of the lagoon.
Sunrise over the lagoon from the balcony. Overlooking the lagoon dining deck and local catamaran.
The Negombo Lagoon from the villa. Famous catamaran used for prawn fishing.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Negombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KaWillers
2 reviews
“Comfortable luxury family getaway.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is beautiful, modern and spacious. The location is quiet surrounded by other large homes. We enjoyed quality family time sitting on the back veranda over looking the lagoon or playing in the pool in the front yard. The house manager Merril looked after us making sure we had what we needed. We took up the offer to have someone come in and cook for us. The food was delicious and fresh. Thank you Lagoon Villa for a wonderful experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryam569...
1 review
“Superb villa with an amazing back yard, private lagoon, front garden and pool!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The villa was beyond expectations. The neighborhood was quiet with friendly people. Our caretaker was so welcoming and the villa was always clean. Very spacious place with spacious rooms! Panoramic view of nature - would definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD1080
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great villa let down by poor kitchen”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photos on the villa website do most of the talking and are accurate. I agree with most of the other reviewers' positive comments so won't duplicate these now.

What I like about this place is that it is away from the main center, about 15 mins by Tuk Tuk. 800-1000 rupees one way. The villa is located in a real, living Sri-Lankan community, which for me is far better than being set in the hub-hub of the tourism down the road. This brings a few issues that some will not like: the drive into town, dogs barking from the next door garden (they have one in a run) which woke us up a few times at 6 am.

We were not expecting a live-in gardener. This nice old man lives in a small room next to the house. He spends his time wandering about tending the garden and helping with washing up etc. I didn't mind this but if you want complete privacy, this is not the place for you.

There is also a house manager called Narlin. He is great. he lives close by and does all the beds and towels when you need it. He owns a Tuk Tuk and takes you into town to shop or will do it for you. He also cooks if needed. For us he organized a boat trip round the lagoon. He is a real asset to the property but he faces an uphill struggle with the very low standard of cooking equipment...

This was the major set back. For such a big, expensive rental we expected a decent level of kitchen kit. I have uploaded a few still to illustrate. In short, the cooking utensils were a disgrace to the property.: Dirty, worn-out chopping boards, cheap blunt kitchen knives,oven plug needed changing to work, grubby waste bin, no cooking apron.
The Bar-b-q should be scrapped. We had to operate this using pliers!

Another note of caution: the water pressure is low which makes upstairs showering a slow process. The bath is redundant as it would take about an hour to fill.
This could be sorted by installing shower pumps. I doubt this will happen as it seems the owner will not spend the money, if the kitchen is anything to go by.

It's a great shame this place is let down my such basic details. The kitchen is huge, so cooking should be an enjoyable experience here.

The pool was clean during our visit. The garden was tidy and grass was green.
Air-con worked fine. Only in bedrooms but crazy to expect air-con in every room in this climate.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: Kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz_2377
colombo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I had an amazing time at the Lagoon Villa. It has a large garden, decent size pool and well furnished rooms. It had all the amenities we required, and when we realised we had forgotten to bring some items, the kind caretaker was more than willing to go to the town and buy it for us. We had no complaints during our stay!

One point to note however is that it is quite a distance away from the popular beach road (about 20 mins car ride), which means a vehicle is needed to get around, especially if you want to try out the food at the many eateries in Negombo (recommended).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayajazz
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The very best”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was one of the best holidays ever. We enjoyed everything about the villa but the very best thing is Rodney the butler. I have been telling all my girlfriends at home they don't need a husband they need a butler. Rodney magically knew what we needed before we did. My husband and I were holidaying with my 80 year old mother and she fell in a big way for Rodney who took extra care of her, plying her with tropical fruits and making sure she was comfortable and happy.
The Villa is lovey with everything you could need, except a washing machine. Although Rodney was able to take some things to a near by laundry. We never used things like the TV but I am sure they were fine. The views and the surroundings are what we spent time looking at.
It is a bit away from the town but an excellent driver is available. We went to the elephant orphanage and would recommend that but it is hot so be prepared for standing about in the heat. But getting up close and personal with baby elephants is worth it.
Yes things go wrong but the staff try and fix quickly.
I would recommend this property highly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: mossies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing