We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven has poor WiFi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangalla
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven has poor WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel is truly heavenly despite the following issues, and I would highly recommend staying here for the general ambiance, design, service, pool and location.

We expect internet access in our rooms when staying in this class of accommodation. Good WiFi is available in the Library, but not in the rooms. We were originally provided with a 3G dongle that could not be configured to our mac laptop, and as we generally travel with multiple devices requiring internet access - computers, ipads and phones, it would not have been adequate for our needs even if it had worked. A subsequent 3G wifi router was provided the next day, however the access was manifestly slow. The hotel is aware of the problem and are going to attend to it in the future.

There are 2 additional things to watch out for if you are a troubled sleeper like myself
1.The pillows provided on the bed are not comfortable (though after requesting smaller and softer pillows they were quickly provided), and
2.The air conditioning and fan are really loud (though very effective), and it did make it hard to get a good nights sleep.



We stayed in one of the Garden suites - it is gorgeous and as a bonus it has its own balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotHomeRightNow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    65
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
66
244
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Amangalla has been a wonderful place for a two night stay. We've been tempted to walk around Galle Fort and to see a slice of the local culture and scenery, but it's been hot and way more tempting to relax in this wonderful building. We booked a suite, which is nicely proportioned and the sitting room is a most wonderful room. The whole atmosphere of the place is charmingly old world and colonial.

Room Tip: Book a suite and ask for the second floor (rather than the third floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentStayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We Stayed 3 nights at Amangalla.
The hotel is just amazing. We booked a Suite, which was so beautiful, wonderful view, lovely and relax bed, great living room and nice bathroom.The hotel has a butler, very friendly and helpful. The Location is great, you can look around the hotel and u find many local shop and restaurant.The manager the hotel is very friendly and nice.
All the staff was very happy and great service.
The pool is big and very relax, we should stay all day in the pool. I tried the Spa, the atmosphere was very peaceful and relax.
The hotel have a great restaurant and delicious food.
I recommend a lot this hotel if you are coming to Galle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Sri Lanka has some of the most competitively priced boutique hotels in the world. You can stay at an amazing small boutique hotel for the fraction of the price you would pay elsewhere in Asia. That stops with Amangalla. You pay the Aman premium!

It was worth it.

The manager, Olivia Richli, floats glamorously and effortlessly through this hotel which she clearly loves. She has documented the history of the hotel and treats the old girl with love and respect. It was lovely to sit down on the front verandah with Olivia having a cocktail before dinner and to be told about the history of the hotel and regaled with the tales of its larger than life characters.

The hotel has a "butler" concept that works exceedingly well...always at hand yet never invasive.

The highlight for me was the cooking class. The head chef met me after breakfast and took me into the local markets. I brought some red-fleshed fish and a number of vegetables/fruits that I wasn't familiar with - banana flower for instance. When we got back to the hotel, I was ushered into the kitchen where the selection of fish and vegetables I had purchased were turned into 12 amazing curry and dahl dishes. To then have these plated up and served to us on the lovely balcony was definitely a highlight of the trip. The chef hand signed my recipes with the little message "keep up the cooking!" Given the wonderful flavors of the recipes I learnt, this hasn't been a problem at all.

Aman is Aman - you are never going to get a bargain. For me, I saved so much money on all the other hotels I stayed at in wonderful Sri Lanka, I took the splurge. It was worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

For the Aman chain, the food at outlets was appallingly bad. The service however was very good

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traipse_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
13.1 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.4 km away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.9 km away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#11 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.7 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.9 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#8 Spa Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#13 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing