We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jet with wings”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

large rooms , larger bathrooms and large smiles is the best description one can offer for this lighthouse in galle.
on our arrival we were greeted warmly. no queues. no waiting . We were delighted by local cultural performances. we ordered for Indian food and the cuisine was slightly spicy but excellent.
The best hotel to stay in Galle. It has its own sea front though rocky but you could sit and stare at the waves hitting the rocks all the day long.

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilesh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very happy in reading your review and knowing that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We greatly value guest feedback at Jetwing Hotels and your feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you very much for your compliments on our spacious rooms with the magnificent ocean view, delicious food and most importantly our dedicated staff who are always smiling as your kind words of appreciation is their highest encouragement.

We thank you for your kind recommendation of Jetwing Lighthouse to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers by stating that Jetwing Lighthouse is the best hotel to stay at in Galle.

It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again for yet another memorable and relaxing stay.


Ayubowan!


Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

This is a classic Geoffrey Bawa designed hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights in the first week of October and found the property supremely beautiful. We were in room 207 on the second floor which opened towards the beach. The rooms on this side are probably the best because you can watch the beautiful sunrise and sunset from the comfort of your room balcony. The rooms are tastefully done especially the antique looking furniture and big ocean facing windows. Intriguingly the toilets in the room can't be locked - which can be quite objectionable to some.
The hotel is located in one corner of Galle slightly away from the hustle bustle of the city. You can walk between the rocks to get to the beach and the ocean. If you are lucky you can see a couple of turtles coming to lay eggs in the sands. Right next door is the Jetwing Clubhouse property and I think they share some facilities though we could see that they had different pools. The Lighthouse pool was good and in the cool evenings the mildly warm water was perfect for a swim as you watched the sun set.
We were booked on HB basis and like most Sri Lankan hotels we found very few vegetarian food options. From what I understand, for HB dinner, buffet is only on select nights when there is a theme based food like Sri Lankan or Sea Food. On other nights you have to select from a set menu. On the first night they let us order one item each for soup, starter, main course and desert from their main menu since the set menu didn't have anything vegetarian. The next morning, we were supposed to have a breakfast packet to take along for our whale watching trip but despite clearly stating our food preferences the previous night, they gave us a food packet with eggs which we returned. On returning we complained about this, so for that day's dinner the chef created a special vegetarian menu for us which was quite nice. The location of their main restaurant is also pretty romantic as you can take a lantern lit table in the dim outdoors and watch the waves with a glass of wine.
On the negative side, some of the facilities in the rooms did feel dated especially the balcony chairs as well as the bathrooms. Also, reception service is average. When we checked in, some of the items were missing from our mini bar and despite repeated reminders they never refilled it. So we decided not to use the mini bar at all.
But it's worth staying here just to admire Geoffrey Bawa's magnificent work and to listen to the ocean.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Abhimanyu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review subsequent your recent vacation with us at Jetwing Lighthouse in Galle Sri Lanka.

First and foremost let us apologize most sincerely for the inconveniences you have faced while holidaying with us. We are extremely disappointed in knowing that you were given a breakfast packet with egg in it after mentioning that you were both vegetarian. We have spoken to our Chef as well as the F&B Team about this rather seriously in order to avoid such incidents from reoccurring.
However we are very happy in reading that Chef had created a special vegetarian menu for you both the next day. Thank you for being ever so kind in appreciating his gesture.

We would like to most sincerely thank you for the time you have taken in sharing your most valuable feedback with us. We at Jetwing greatly depend on our guest feedback in order to continue our efforts in providing only the best of products and services to our most treasured guests.

Thank you for your wonderful description of the hotel from the tastefully decorated rooms to the pool where you could enjoy the sunset while taking a dip in the pool.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer and equally memorable stay.


Ayubowan!


Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Paid 185 $ in off season ..fitments like lighting etc in room seem slightly dated ..the bathroom was leaking from the top ..sad lighting not working ..poor internet connection etc..hope I would have got more personalised service ..no maps of Galle etc ...looked more driven by the tourist agency mafia etc ...though breakfast was good ...none of the design explained to afficianodo s ...

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peshwaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review subsequent to your recent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse.

First and foremost we would like to apologize to you for the many inconveniences you have faced during your stay with us. Rest assured your review has our fullest attention and we will certainly look into all areas you have mentioned with great interest so as to avoid re-occurrence.

We genuinely hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us another time as we would love for you to see the true worth of Jetwing Lighthouse.


Ayubowan (May you live long)

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed here for just one night, since we were our way to Yala for some wildlife watching. The hotel is beautiful: large, comfortable rooms, two swimming pools, helpful and friendly staff, a beach with gorgeous shells, and sea turtles bobbing around just off-shore. There has been a lot of rain and wind earlier in the day we stayed, so the sea was pretty rough and not the normal blue, but that was fine with us: we could have sat on the terrace forever, watching the waves break on the rocks. There are several options for meals, but we ate (and had pre-dinner drinks) on the terrace because we were in love with that spot. The food was excellent: we are vegetarians and there were many choices available for us both at dinner and at the fabulous breakfast buffet. We also appreciated Jetwing's eco-focus: e.g., bottled water is available in reusable glass bottles, bathroom amenities come in lovely little blue glass bottles, and many of the food items (such as the superb tropical fruit at breakfast) are sourced locally. We would love to return for a longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamakasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse. We were so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.


Ayubowan (may you live long)

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Very enjoyable stay with the hotel living up to its 5 star reputation. Whilst the outside of the hotel is non discript the staircase to the first floor was stunning and the outlook onto the sea was fabulous. Room was spacious and had a great outlook onto the raging sea. The top pool was more to our liking and the pizzas from the Anchor bar were delious where we received friendly first class service. The weather was mixed ranging from bright sunshine to thunderous rain, but this only enhanced our stay at the hotel. Had a very enjoyable 4 days at the Lighthouse hotel, staff very friendly and if you are staying in this part of Sri Lanka would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mr. Jeff,

Thank you for your five star rated review on TripAdvisor following your recent vacation at Jetwing Lighthouse in Galle Sri Lanka.

We are delighted in reading your review and knowing you had an enjoyable time with us. We at Jetwing Hotels truly try to go that extra mile in providing the best of personalized service and we are thrilled in knowing our team of associates were able to deliver that for you. Your kind compliments are their highest encouragement when satisfying our valued guests to the best of their ability.

Lorenzo’s Pizza Corner is the newest addition to the hotel outlets and we are very pleased in knowing you found the pizza’s to be delicious and served with a friendly first class service!

The team at Jetwing Lighthouse is thankful for your recommendation and hope to see you again soon for yet another memorable and relaxing holiday indulging in the best of hospitality.

Ayubowan

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 km away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 26 in Galle
214 reviews
0.4 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
8.8 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
8.7 km away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
254 reviews
10.2 km away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 26 in Galle
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: €200 - €403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing