We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most fantastic villa(s) and a brilliant team...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Main Living Room
Outdoor Barbeque area, Paddy house
View From Paddy House Pool
mixed salad for a light dinner
Main bedroom
Main Bedroom
Sunrise Paddy House Pool
Pool 2
Nearest Beach (Wijaya)
Living Room, Main House Villa 1
Dusk on Koggala lake near Villa
paddy house kitchen
Kitchen Paddy house.
Outdoor shower
Bedroom 1 - Main House
(all rooms air conditioned with ceilng fans)
Gated front entrance of Villa - Surangana meaning 'Angel' in Sinhala.
Front of Villa
Manoj (Villa Manager) with his new Tuk Tuk
The New treehouse and decking over Tea Plantation
Sri Lankan String Hoppers and Curry dinner
Chef Priyangika, curry night selection
Breakfast fruits
Dinner - seafood, BBQ and salads
Wait Staff Asitha & Kasun
Fresh watermelon juice & Tambili 'Coconut' juice.
Coconut Custard dessert
Freshly caught fish, on the barbeque
House Manager Manoj. ready to BBQ.
Chicken Curry
Front door view from the Paddy House
Monkey friends in our trees
Bedroom 2 - Main House Villa (all rooms have air-con & ceiling fans)
Bedroom 2 - Main house Villa (all rooms have air-con and ceiling fans)
Bathroom 1 - Main Villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

adrian sm...
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“The most fantastic villa(s) and a brilliant team to meet our every need”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

What a fantastic and memorable holiday!
The beautiful scenery,the numerous cool and spacious seating areas, the swimming pools, the wild life and team, what more can anyone ask for?
There are so many highlights from waking up in the Paddy Villa with prisms of colour flooding into the room, opening the folding doors for the views and watching families of monkeys, seeing a pair of mongooses, a huge lizard, chipmunks and numerous colourful birds, the children playing in the pools and the food.
Every meal was delicious and an exciting adventure with all tastes catered for. Manoj and his team quietly and efficiently looked after everyone's needs and desires even playing family cricket and showing great patience with some of our novice and younger family members.
Frankie (the resident dog) did his best to make us welcome even when he occasionally edged us off our seats to the delight of the children.
We feel we have been treated like royalty and thank Mike for letting us share his beautiful home and Manoj and his team for making it at holiday of a lifetime.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
This group were wonderful to host and can’t recommend them highly enough! Welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_sarahjha...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply..... Paradise!”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Surangana Villa is the most beautiful house. Its' natural jungle surroundings with all the wildlife only adds to the most amazing experience. We are a family of 4 and had the most incredible trip. Manoj and his staff were beyond accommodating, they were brilliant keeping our two boys busy playing cricket most days, whilst in the evenings Priyangika our chief cooked the most delicious food. We spent every day exploring the local area. The beaches were paradise! even swimming with a couple of turtles. We went white water rafting at Kitugala which was a once in a life time experience. And with Galle on our doorstep we had a fantastic shopping day. I can't tell you enough how beautiful this place is and its' people are. We were truely blessed. _/\_

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Happy to host you again Sarah and thanks for the fab revue!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
936katef
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It was our first time in Sri Lanka and what a fantastic country it is. Beautiful scenery, incredible wildlife and friendly people. We found Galle to be an interesting town without being exceptional, but we loved the nearby beaches with their surfing, boogie boarding, bars and restaurants. As for the villa itself, it completely exceeded expectations - it was even better than it looked in the pictures! It was incredible to be able to stand at the edge of an infinity pool looking out over a jungle whilst monkeys played over head. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much to arrange. We had a trip to Yalla National Park, a boat trip around the nearby lake with fishing and a family yoga session. All were seamlessly arranged and went without a hitch. The food was truly exceptional in the villa with local fruit such as mango, papaya and bananas for breakfast and usually a selection of delicious curries for dinner. All in an amazing holiday!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
It was our pleasure to have you at Surangana Katie, please come back again soon. All the staff said that you and your family were wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture71...
1 review
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I just spent two weeks in this fantastic holiday retreat, with family and a few friends. I cannot speak too highly of it. The accommodation itself is fabulous. Two swimming pools, lots of bedrooms and bathrooms, spacious and idyllic living areas and a wonderful staff who are super-friendly and cannot do enough for you. The meals are fabulous, especially the authentic local cuisine. They look after you like a Colonial Governor must surely have been treated back in the day. A short ride in a tuk-tuk to the coast road where there are beaches, restaurants and bars to the East and West, and all the way into Galle itself and beyond. You get the best of both worlds - a quiet luxury compound to chill in, and a short trip to the tourist beaches and night spots, and the big-centre bustle of Galle. A touch of paradise.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 May 2017
Wonderful review Kevin...thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour70828...
1 review
“Absolute perfection in every way”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Firstly a sincere apology for missing the AirBNB review deadline!! However I felt compelled to leave as positive a review as possible for our experience at Villa Surangana this April.

The first thing that hits you is the scale of the place, the pictures look amazing but in all honesty don't really do the place justice nor do they convey exactly how big it is. The staff are wonderful and do everything they can to help. The food is fantastic and varied. We ate mostly local dishes but they were super flexible and would cook anything at request. Manoj baked a cake for one of the children's birthday's which a) was well beyond the call of duty (biut hugely appreciated by everyone and b) was an incredibly good cake!!

I'd honestly have no issues recommending staying here to anyone it's amazing.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 May 2017
Hey Andy that's so kind of you to do this wonderful review. We are actually back at Surangana ourselves right now and enjoying it immensely so agree with you... even if we are slightly biased! Hopefully you can come back here again one day soon. Cheers Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.