We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Safe, with great location”
Review of Luckywon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gyeongju
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luckywon
Ranked #24 of 106 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this guest house for two nights in December 2011. First of all, arranging accommodations in Gyeongju is really a painful process. We wouldn’t mind paying more to stay in a hotel but having read some of the discussions here, we concluded it might be a plain waste of money. Our first choice was Sarangchae guesthouse but unfortunately the owners would be away for their own vacations then. We thought that we might just have to accept the fact that we would arrive Gyeongju without knowing in advance where to stay, which my husband detested. I noticed “Luckywon” at tripadvisor website and decided to give it a try.

I navigated through its Korean website and found two phone numbers. Fortunately the host (husband) picked up the phone. Though his English is limited but we managed to book 2 nights over the phone. The lady at the tourist information centre was kind enough to write down some directions in Korean for us to present to the taxi driver. Therefore we had no problem finding the place.

The guesthouse is just 50 meters from Tumuli Park. We are given an ondol room with private bathroom. There is a communal kitchen/dinning room where a desktop is provided for internet free of charge. A mattress and a comforter were provided. Though the size of them might give you an indication that they were only for 1 person, they are actually for 2. Around 4 PM, the ondol would be on so don’t put anything that would melt on the floor. Room was cleaned and towels replaced on daily basis.

The location is great. We walked to Tumuli Park, Anapji, National Gyeongju Museum, and Chomsongdae. North of the Tumuli Park there are some nice restaurants and small shops.

One downside is you can’t lock the door to your room. The room can only be ‘locked’ in a traditional Korean way: by a spoon. Though the host and his family lives on the same compound and they would take security seriously, we brought along our valuables with us and left some of them(i.e laptops) locked in our luggages. We felt safe staying here but it wouldn’t hurt to be cautious.

If we would travel to Gyeongju again we would definitely stay in this guesthouse again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

A Korean friend suggested this place but we couldn't find it in any of the guide books...yet we trusted her and gave it a shot...we booked 2 nights and paid W90,000 (Thursday night was W40K & Friday night was W50K) which I thought was a bit high since the room is very basic (ensuite bathroom..Korean-style shower which can be quite a task but easy to adapt) and there wasn't even a bed..the floors (ondol) are heated by late afternoon..we were here during early winter and never felt cold inside..we actually slid open one of the panels in the middle of the night since it got a bit too warm...there is an aircon in every room which I suppose is used during Spring/Summer..

Something you need to know about sleeping conditions is that you don't sleep on a futon which still has some cushioning to it..you actually sleep on top of another blanket so if you're not used to sleeping on hard surfaces (like us), your body will ache in the morning...if only we had a sleeping bag or even a pad to sleep on, we would've thought the place was perfect since it really has a nice atmosphere...located in the old city, it's very calm and the hanok looks quite new (or very well maintained) and just around the corner of Cheong machong which is one of the main sites of Gyeongju. There is no WiFi but a PC with internet is available in the kitchen/common area which is exclusively for guests. It seems most of the guests who stay here are Korean (in fact, we were the only foreigners during our stay) and the hosts, while very willingful, actually did have a hard time to communicate in English and we used a lot of sign language but had no problem at all.

If you're arriving by bus, I've posted a picture of the street sign and address so you can show it to the taxi driver...there wasn't an information desk in the bus terminal and no one knew about the place so it took us almost an hour to look for a cafe with WiFi to search for the place in a map with the help of the couple who owned the coffeshop (we lost the paper where we had written down the address) ...website is ONLY available in Korean!!..but they will answer your email in English.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Location: Within 50 metres of Tumuli Park main entrance.
How to get there: From Tumuli park's main entrance, walk to its public restrooms (left of entrance, if you are facing the entrance). After the public restrooms is a lane. Go down the lane for about 50 meters. Luckywon is on the right.
Alternative way to get to Luckywon: go to Gyeongju's tourist info and ask the very helpful English speaking staff to give you Luckywon's business card and write instructions in Korean for you to show to taxi driver.
Price: We (2 Adults + 1 child) paid 40 Won for one night of an ondol room, TV with attached toilet/shower which came with medium sized towels, soap, shampoo, toothpaste, etc.. The inn also has a kitchen-and-dining room for guests to use. It's a fully equipped kitchen (utensils, cutlery, fridge, etc). The kitchen has several tables for families to eat their meals. There is also free internet and use of computer in this room.
We chose to stay in Gyeongju town instead of being tucked away at the Bormun lake area. This inn was recommended to us by the Tourist Info after the other (famous) inn is full. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise. The host speaks some English. The hostess does not, but she compensated by being very helpful. She did our laundry for us free of charge, dried our clothes, folded them, and then left the whole stack (we had been travelling for many days before we reached Gyeongju) in our ondol room. The host and hostess stayed in the original house, while guest stay in two new extensions built on the left and right wings of this original house. They gave us enough privacy and did not expect us to be part of their family. However, when we needed help and approached them, they were more than happy to help us.
The extension wings which house the ondol rooms/units are brand new and very clean. We are provided with mattresses, pillows to sleep on, and the floor is heated at night.
The location is very convenient. It is between the bus station and train station, and next to Tumuli park's main entrance. There are several restaurants located to the left and right of Tumuli park. Taxis also congregate outside Tumuli park, so we had no difficulty hailing for relatively cheap taxis to anywhere in Gyeongju even as early at 7 am.
As Luckywon is 50 m from the main road, it is very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsflorencegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank 726Francois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank 서현 송
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.0 km away
Hanok Guesthouse Huewon
Hanok Guesthouse Huewon
#20 of 106 in Gyeongju
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Doran Doran Guest House
Doran Doran Guest House
#11 of 106 in Gyeongju
8 reviews
1.1 km away
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in Gyeongju
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Gyeongju Happy Village Syeobul
6.5 km away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 24 in Gyeongju
758 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 24 in Gyeongju
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luckywon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luckywon

Address: 214-2 Hwangnam-dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing