We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it”
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Crystal
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Daegu
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This hotel is a new one, clean, nice and has a very convenient location - very close to metro stop (actually just next to). Breakfast was beyond my imagination! The staff was very helpful. When I asked her about the bus station from where I could head for Haeinsa Temple, she gave the useful info. I will stay with this hotel when I return to Daegu next time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2016

The hotel décor is quite outdated. The hall and room carpets were very stained (huge stains throughout the entire carpeting, not just little wear and tear stains here and there). Despite the stains, the hotel seemed very clean. Seems like they take good care of it. The beds were not comfortable. They were mattresses on a platform and were very firm, which was fine, but they had some sort of springs or other infrastructure that you could fee when you laid down and it was quite uncomfortable. The double bed was much worse than the single bed in our room.
The room was a good size, had a desk with tea pot, free wifi. The subway station is right outside the front door which is great. It is only a couple stops to interesting attractions.
There are very few restaurants walking distance to the hotel. We took the subway to the center of town each morning for breakfast. There is a small chicken restaurant attached to the hotel. It has a limited menu but the chicken is good. Other nights, we walked quite a ways to try to find something to eat; with little success.
The hotel was over-priced for the quality and lack of conveniences nearby. For only a few more dollars per night, we stayed at a much much nicer place in other areas.
The poor rating is primarily due to the cost versus value.

Room Tip: Room faced the main street, thought it might be loud due to event hall next door but it was fairly q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacati0nMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The hotel itself seems very old.The rooms are dark and don't seem too clean.

The personnel was okay.They were very helpful even though they couldn't speak English.

The big advantage was the location - metro was just outside the hotel and it was only one stop to city centre so quite handy.

Other than that I'd look for a different place if i ever go to Daegu again (doubtful)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I was very surprised that this budget hotel far exceeded my expectations, especially since I had read the "not so good" reviews on this website. It was small (same size as a 4 star hotel in Daegu I stayed at later that week), but quiet and clean. There was no coffee in the room (same as that other 4 star hotel), but I was served a free American breakfast the next morning. Service was great at the desk. Free Internet downstairs was a plus. Convenience store right around the corner, and Daegu bank for exchanging currency across the street. It's close to Seowon Market place, so be sure to visit there before heading for downtown. When walking around, I found a fruit auction going on, and a restaurant serving authentic Korean meal (have to sit on cushions on the floor). Menu had pictures.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seniorstudent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This hotel was probably built in the 70's and nothing has been updated since. The non-smoking room smelled like old smoke and the carpet and fittings looked like it came out of an old movie. It was amongst one of the cheaper deluxe hotels listed on a few internet hotel websites - and you do get what you pay for. If I had to do it again, I'd pay twice the amount to stay in a nicer hotel in a better area.

The hotel is located in a light industrial area with scattered high rise housing a short hop away. A couple local restaurants in the vicinity but nothing to shout about. The only good thing about the hotel is that it's right next to a subway station so getting to and from the hotel is no problem at all (15m from Exit 3 Bangogae Station on line 2 of the subway system). And trust me, you want to get away from the hotel as quickly as you can!! There really is nothing much to shout about!

Having said all that - I also have to compliment the helpful front desk staff. I couldn't get the free internet service working (bring your own laptop / no wifi). She came up to the room and we worked out the problem in a matter of minutes. All this was done with her not speaking a word of English and with me not speaking a word of Korean.

At the end of it all, a helpful staff doesn't make up for all the other shortcomings of the hotel. If you intend to stay here, keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daegu hotels
1.9 km away
Apsan Business Hotel
Apsan Business Hotel
#16 of 45 in Daegu
21 reviews
1.3 km away
Eldis Regent Hotel
Eldis Regent Hotel
#2 of 45 in Daegu
62 reviews
0 km away
Hotel North Tel
Hotel North Tel
#25 of 45 in Daegu
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Union Tourist Hotel
Union Tourist Hotel
#17 of 45 in Daegu
7 reviews
1.3 km away
Daegu Prince Hotel
Daegu Prince Hotel
#24 of 45 in Daegu
35 reviews
0 km away
Rivertain Hotel
Rivertain Hotel
#11 of 45 in Daegu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Address: 1910, Dalgubeoldaero, Dalseo-Gu, Daegu, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Daegu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Daegu
Price Range: €59 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the center of the business and entertainment district of Daegu City, the Hotel Crystal will satisfy the diverse needs of all its guests with a convenient range of amenities, including comfortable rooms, coffee shops, wedding halls, and convention halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Daegu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing