We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double charged my filthy room with a tub that didn't drain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I was not very impressed with this hotel. It certainly has fallen behind the standard that I expected for a Best Western Hotel. The room was dirty. I do not know the last time they vacuumed under the beds or moved any furniture to clean but it must have been a long time ago. The tub did not drain. I said something to the front end staff and she told me when a maintenance person comes in she will have him check it out. We were getting ready to leave the hotel and did not want to wait any longer so I let the front staff know we did not want anyone in our room while we were gone. I ended up getting the water to drain by holding the plug up until all the water was gone. Before checking out of the hotel my wife checked our checking account and the double charged our bill which caused an overdraft charge on my account. I talked to the manager who fixed it but said he was unable to do anything about the overdraft charge. I asked him about compensating us and he said he could give us 3,500 Reward points but nothing more. His frustration was being revealed by his tone of voice and how he communicated with me. I told him I did not think that was a fair compensation because not only was I overcharged and had a overdraft fee but it also effects the relationship between me and my bank. I asked for the manager and he said he was the manager. I was told nothing about logging my complaint with anyone else except Nusair Bawla. I was less than satisfied by this person and how he handled me and the situation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank P7218MNbruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Best Western Albany Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

I want to thank you for staying with us, and giving us feedback on your stay. Nevertheless, cleanliness is a key priority for our hotel and I am very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service. I hope you’ll consider us next time your travels bring you back to the Albany Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

They seem to be remodeling, but give it another 7 months at least. There were no towels in the pool area and overhearing comments by other guests, towels were in short supply. This place needs plenty of updating.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 394janinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Best Western Albany Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer an even better experience for our guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. I am confident that you will notice that we have learned from your feedback in order to improve the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel is situated in the perfect place! Minutes from the airport, malls, and really any restaurant you can think of!
Hotel staff is very friendly and the breakfast was decent. However I'm not sure about the rooms.... upon entering I was hit with this weird unrecognizable smell? Bathroom was kind of dirty. One of the ceiling tiles was a different color and the bath/shower was questionable on how clean it was. Honestly this place just needs to be updated bring in something new that none of the other hotels have.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Opie1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Best Western Albany Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

My wife and I travel quite a bit and I have reviewed many hotels and restaurants over the years. Out west we have found Best Western to be an economical and comfortable choice. Shocked this hotel still has a BW designation. Reserved because close to airport and wanted to take advantage of their Stay N' Fly Program. Place looked pretty dodgy when we drove up, but checked in, Hallway carpets filthy and no elevator to the 2nd floor so we had to lug our luggage up a flight of stairs. Wife needed a toilet on our arrival and it immediately backed up and overflowed all over the bathroom floor. Immediately checked out. Has been "under modernization" for almost 2 years now with much work still to be done. Best option probably to go to bankruptcy and be razed.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ret1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Best Western Albany Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. The hotel is going through several renovations at this time to improve our guest experience here at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Don’t stay in this dump. My husband and I stay here last week. This is the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. The manager told us that the room should not have been rented out because it was in need of repair. Not only would they not give us our money back they charged us twice for the room.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ladygerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Best Western Albany Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that you had a billing error and I am glad that we were able to resolve it for you the same day it occurred. Our goal is guest satisfaction and genuine hospitality and I am sorry that we feel short during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#38 of 50 in Albany
976 reviews
0.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
3.1 km away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Albany Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albany Airport Inn

Address: 200 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: €67 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Albany Airport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Airport Inn offers free WiFi, free parking, free full hot breakfast buffet, indoor heated pool, fitness center, onsite restaurant & lounge and 24-hour business center. Our free airport shuttle service is a nice bonus and will transport guests to and from the Albany International Airport, and any destination on Wolf Road based on availability. In addition, We also offer a park & fly program. Our renovated sleeping rooms & meeting rooms combined with affordable prices make us the best value in the area. One of the best features of our hotel is the location. We are within two miles of the colonie center mall, and 43 restaurants on the always popular Wolf Road. You will have no dificdulty finding something to do when you stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Albany Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing