We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scottish Inn Albany
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Writing this review in the motel. Door bolt was broken. Floor hadnt been vacuum, we were traveling with a baby and told the owner this. First 2 mins I saw a silverfish bug in the bathroom. Extremely dissatisfied. Definitely don't want to shower or sleep. Might end up calling loses and leaving.

Bottom line. Do not go here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2016

The strike plate of my door was not the correct plate. It had been re attached by a single screw and the dead bolt did not work. The proprietor said it had been kicked in by the FBI and not to worry because he watched the motel on video all night...Needless to say I did not sleep very well. Was not offered a different room. Should have demanded a refund and left.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GuineaHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

If you need to stay over, it's cheap and it does the trick. I didn't find my room to be unclean, but I'm not very picky, although I didn't see mold or smell odors or anything like that. I don't recall a continental breakfast, either.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel after finding on booking.com as one of the cheaper nightly rates were posted...DO NOT STAY...when you walk into Main Office this should be your first clue as to what you may be getting yourself into...not very clean, there some odors that are not very pleasant...after we received our key for Room 110...floor very dirty...didn't look like it had been vacuumed, there was lint and other small trash on floor, like an empty medication wrapper, wrapper like you find on Tylenol capsules...bathroom looked like it was tidied up but not very clean, there were hairs in sink and bathtub and bathroom sink counter top did not look wiped down or clean...there were cob webs on suitcase rack...TV console did not look very clean...beds were made and tidy, however when we pulled bedspread and sheets back, there were hairs, stains and other particles in bed...the sheets were obviously not changed...paint chips and holes on walls, bathroom light broken, light fixtures/lamps dusty and dirty, microwave filthy inside and out...I was too afraid to look inside small refrigerator...will never book here again...NEVER EVER!!!!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Jbam303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Our stay here was great. We came into town to visit a family member and needed a quiet place to stay that was nearby. The first thing that grabbed our interest about this hotel was their competitive pricing, so we decided to book a room here for a couple nights. The service was excellent and they supplied us with the amenities we needed like towels and such right when we asked.

On top of all this, the management staff went above and beyond. My son left his 3DS in the hotel room on accident and the staff at the hotel found it and offered to return it to us. It's amazing these days to find a place with honest folks. The Scottish Inn did so much right by us, and when we stop to visit family in the area again, we will stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
2.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
1.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Albany

Address: 1384 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-5115
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: €56 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inn Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Scottish Inn Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing