We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful

Moyenne Island is so worth a visit if you can. What a wonderful legacy Brendon Grimshaw has left... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Shirley W
,
Lymington, United Kingdom
What a treat!!!

Interesting for day trip .... quite memorable ..... the walk is a must do!!!! And the park has... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KUNSA N
,
Kabul, Afghanistan
Read all 303 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Mahe Island
from US$220.40
More Info
from US$143.80
More Info
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
185
82
26
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
82
26
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass bottom boat giant tortoises marine park day trip bbq lunch fascinating history views are breathtaking tour cost superb experience landing fee small church a short boat ride beautiful nature private boat fish nice walk flip flops
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We went on the open glass boat terry. It was such a magical day on a magical calm beach, we got to see and feed huge turtles! And the meal was amazing! It was a great day

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Lameece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Firstly the island is beautiful, the view from the boat approaching is beautiful and the views from the little trail through the trees are beautiful. The surrounding islands are picturesque and the water shallow and blue. This is about where it ends, unfortunately us human folk are spoiling it somewhat. The trail around its a paved area with lots of spray painted red to lead the way. The tales we heard spouted from our guide and the other guides differed greatly. There were people EVERYWHERE! So many times in Mahe and La Digue we found ourselves alone on some wonderful beaches, if you wante paradise and snorkellying try Petit anse and Grand Anse on La digue or Anse Louis or Anse la Mouch on Mahe.

Once on Moyenne you're restricted to the one place there is to eat - (there's nothing Jolly about that Roger - the food is okish, abundant but just ok) and unfortunately only two toilets. If you're unlucky enough to find the toilets upstairs on the island they're THE MOST DISGUSTING toilets I've had the displeasure of seeing. The flies and the smell and despite their not flushing, lack of any doors at all - the men were still going there!

The restaurant is where everyone eats school canteen style at the same time. People were all over the tiny little beach looking miserable as we turned up.

I was so looking forward to the island and heard about the great snorkelling etc and the tortoises but please La Digue and the other surrounding islands are just beautiful and abundant in tortoises which seem much more comfortable and relaxed and wandering as will. Those on Moyenne were restricted in their movements and overall I couldn't wait to leave.

Walk around the island shouldn't take more than 45 minutes. Some bits may be hard going for a few. We met a few red faces coming back the other way.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Teej_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I visited this isle, with Mason's travel tours. The entrance of this island is out of a movie, with waves coming on a sandy patch in between, from both sides. Very nice. They have some turtles in here, a wlaking trail of easy to medium effort. It was humid, so the walk was not that exciting, but views are breathtaking, along the way. Few graves, a small church and an observation point will greet you along the way. Thats all about, worth mentioning.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Aaamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

A romantic island with a fascinating history of pirates, buried treasure, a large collection of dogs and eccentric settlers. Wild ancient giant tortoises, a rocky walk, fabulous snorkelling but so sad the coral is dead.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Angelika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We visited Moyenne Island as part of our tour in ste anne marine national park near Mahe island of Seychelles.
It was a good experience but you need to be ready for a little bit tough hiking, you will enjoy the wild nature, many nice and fascinating natural scenes, as well as many of giant turtles. not to forget our quite clever guide during the tour around the island the dog (YELLOW)

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Mustafa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews