We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but mediocre rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This guesthouse is in an unbeatable location on Beau Vallon beach, just across the road from the beach itself and a short walk to several local restaurants, and dive shops. The manager, Eddie, is really friendly and can provide local advice.

However, the rooms themselves and the other staff really stop it fulfilling its potential.

First of all, this is budget accommodation and prices by Seychelles standards (but of course much more than you would pay for similar accommodation elsewhere in the world). It certainly feels ‘budget’. The majority of the staff are unfriendly to the point of rudeness, they sit around and ignore guests, and you feel that serving breakfast is an annoyance. Breakfast itself is basic, consisting of juice, eggs, toast and some fruit. The amount of fruit seemed to reduce over our three-day stay until it consisted of a banana and some orange segments.

The rooms are acceptably furnished, but are quite dark with little natural light and with basic bathrooms. If you do choose this guesthouse for the location, make sure you get a 2nd floor ‘sea view room’ which we imagine must be better.

In summary, great location and price if you are not interested in service or spending time in your room.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor sea-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2016

Very clean, spacious and functional rooms in a pretty terracotta house with Colonial style balconies, conveniently located across a somewhat busy road at the north end of Beau Vallon Beach.
Don't expect power showers and luxury, just comfort, cleanliness, great location and kindness from the owner Eddy and his team of 4 ladies who provide the perfect atmosphere for a relaxed and safe stay. I have read some reviews of attitude from the staff and can understand how culturally different from the west their service delivery can be but I have found them courteous and efficient at all times, even opening up the reception and helping us after they had closed for the day. Eddy kindly let us check out late as our flight was in the afternoon and has met all our needs booking taxis, arranging car rentals and even talking to my other half about football.
Ask for a room on the first floor as the rooms downstairs are just off the breakfast terrace and can get noisy in the morning.
Room 7 has a good size bathroom, quieter with large balcony overlooking the beach from the side of the house.
Room 3 is in my opinion the best room with a balcony looking out on to the most beautiful beach of Mahe' and the most comfortable bed. It can be noisier as it has the road straight underneath.
Air con available although we never used it, relying on the fan instead.
Georgina lives behind the house so when the staff closes at 4pm there is someone if needed. She also holds the only safe for any valuable. The staff is however, very reliable and trustworthy. Microwave in the communal area and fridges in the rooms.
Breakfast is swiftly provided between 8 and 9:30. Again I have read negative reviews but I have found it to be sufficient: Eggs cooked to your preference, fresh fruit which varies daily, juice, toast with jam, tea/coffee.
Could improve the quality of bath towels provided and new mattress for room 7. Would also like to see free wifi.
Overall, compared to the prices demanded in this part of the world it is great value for money. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have better views of the beach and are quieter Room 3 and Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TesAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We stayed at Georgina's Cottage Beach House in January 2016. Our daughter was joining a marine conservation program, so my husband, myself and daughter shared their 3 person room, Comfortable and clean, wonderful friendly staff. Eddy the manager was very welcoming & helpful with advice on sightseeing/travelling, even phoning around and getting prices for different things - taxi, boat trips. Our view was beautiful the ocean right there in front of us, amazing/ Eddy you have a beautiful place there :)

Room Tip: 1st floor for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank yvonne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Perfect location! Cross the road and you are on the beach. 5 minutes walk from the main restaurants and dive centres in Beau Vallon and there is a bus stop outside with buses into Victoria.

Very clean, simple rooms with helpful staff. The owners are very friendly and relaxed and have great advice on things to do and where to go.

Exactly as was advertised on their website. I heard some complaints about breakfast but it was simple and fresh which was perfect for me.
If I was being picky I would say that perhaps the bathrooms looked a bit tired and the wifi was a bit slow at times but otherwise I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SARAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Great cottage guest house next to the beach of the ocean beautiful place
Great hospitality very good owners
Great breakfast you can take a track to every point of the beautiful island in all my juerneys in Seychelles people are the most worm and jenerous and open heart
If I have to choose one place for living I gonna choose only Seychelles islands for all reasons beauty of nature beauty of people. ☺

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Juda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
2.5 km away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Bel Ombre
61 reviews
0.2 km away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
137 reviews
0.9 km away
Jessie's Guest House
Jessie's Guest House
#4 of 6 in Beau Vallon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Marie Laure Suites
Marie Laure Suites
#1 of 2 in Bel Ombre
47 reviews
1.6 km away
Beach Cottages
Beach Cottages
#2 of 12 in Bel Ombre
110 reviews
0.7 km away
Lemongrass Lodge
Lemongrass Lodge
#3 of 11 in Beau Vallon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse

Address: Mare Anglais | Beau Vallon, Mahé, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Mahe Island
Price Range: €98 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgina`s Cottage Beach Guesthouse Hotel Mahe Island
Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing