We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
17
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interior designer the cliff swimming pool philippe signal trekking beaches destination nature surfing ocean island paradise airport
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

There really are very few places like Watukaka. So tasteful and comfortable and such a peaceful location - we had a wonderful stay here and felt very much looked after by Chantal and Philippe.

If what you are looking for is to immersed in nature and surrounded by the paddy fields, hills and villages of an island which is essentially untouched by tourism then this is the perfect place.

The accommodation is so tastefully done and the food really delicious. The service is great too and there is just something special about the location in the trees and far from anywhere.

You just need to get used to being bumped around on the local "roads" in order to get to the best beaches, waterfalls and other sights.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

we definitely found something completely different than expected. it didnt related to the pictures at all. and for that price. and im really disappointed of the reaction from the owner "director" after we left, after one night. (booked 5nights)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotharL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Watukaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Sorry for your expected, far away from the Watukaka Experience. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We booked and paid for 9 nights but we decided to leave after fifth night.

When you look at the website you get the impression that you are near the surfing spot but its not true. It is one hour drive away from the hotel. The owner had to drive us every time we would like to go surfing, there is no alternative for this.No spearfishing, no diving as the equipment and the boat are already damaged, no yoga, massage and horse-riding either, as advertised on the website. Internet was very slow and intermittent at the resort.
Although, I can say that the food was good and the Indonesian staff are very nice and accommodating.

The website is misleading, and we would have been better off to be in one of the homestay on the beach of Karewe like we did the previous year, much cheaper and more fun.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dominiquegerardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, Manager at Watukaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

We take your comments into consideration and apologize for not being able to satisfy you.The Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel location is pretty far from the airport, about 2.5-3 hours if you drive by car. The road to destination was quite bad that made the travel time became longer. There were several attractions available nearby the resort but if you plan to explore Sumba island, staying in this resort could be quite difficult because the travel time back every end of the day would be very long.

The resort itself is amazing, compare to the other hotels in the West Sumba, Watukaka Resort by far is the best after Nihiwatu of course.

There were 3 villas only in the resort. The room was big but there was no aircondition. Although using a fan is pretty okay at night since the weather was not too hot at night.

There was a swimming pool with a view to the ocean and forest. The resort prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday. The foods were amazing which you would hardly be able to find similar quality in this island. There was a pool table and a big screen TV with many movies option available in the common room.

Several activities were prepared by the resort such as trekking with several routes options, surfing, horse riding and biking. You can walk 10 minutes to go to the top of the cliff and see amazing view of the Watukaka beach. The view was spectacular.

Please note, there was no internet and mobile phone signal could only be used for text messages, signal was pretty bad.

The host, Phillipe and his family were very friendly and great. Everyday they prepared our lunch in picnic bag complete with dessert for our trip.

This is the resort if you want to indulge yourself with nature and far away from works and polution.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, Manager at Watukaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks. See you a next with you family. Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Unique location , Margot's great taste as interior designer in choosing furnitures, Philip is a very good manager is a good guide too, beautiful trekking and tours walking and with vtt.
At the lodge there are 5 news mountain bikes, Philip took us to incredible routes through typical villages , rice terraces and amazing beaches.
Food is execellent , everytime a different menu, french- indonesian style.
We really appreciate our 3 days of stayng there and we raccomanded it
Alfredo ,Chiara, Alberto,Cecile

Stayed: August 2017
Thank godsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Watukaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017
Google Translation

Dears... Ce fut pour nous de très agréables moments et une très belle rencontre ! Merci pour tout en espérant vous revoir une jour en Indonésie.
Amicalement. Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews