We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
52
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hospitality school young people hotel school outdoor bathroom italian chef hospitality management nearest beach beautiful bamboo their lives solar power internet connection blown away eco resort students volunteers campus architecture
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the villa.
I like the design of the villa and the outdoor bathroom (it’s really nice during the day but quite scary at night haha). The resort complex itself is under constant development. They have a pool and recently open the spa (sadly it was not operational when we were there).

Considering it’s a hotel run by a hospitality school, I think they are doing ok. But to be fair, they could improve the admin system - not so easy to reach and misunderstandings on payment etc could happen.

Wifi was not working and cell signal was almost zero, so make sure to arrange everything in advance (transportation etc) and bring enough cash because card payments don’t work most of the time and atm is scarce.

Overall, I think it’s a nice place to stay in Sumba while also helping a good cause.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MargarethS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations S, Front Office Manager at Maringi Eco Resort by SHF, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MargarethS_11,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is through you and your feedback that our motivated and talented students have the opportunity to practice their skills and apply what they learned at our school.

We hope to welcome you back soon now that our spa is operational and we thank you for being a part of the SHF family.

Warm regards,

Bente Elzinga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We received the warmest welcome by the students of the Sumba Hospitality Foundation, genuine smiles and true Sumbanese kindness. The charming Bamboo Pavilion was a magical place to be in, nicely designed and very clean. The students worked very hard to make us feel welcome. The students are part of a 1 year program that trains them to be their best in the different areas of hospitality. It was a joy to be part of this amazing learning environment, to hear the laughter of the students going to classes and to see them putting in practice everything they learn. We felt grateful to be able to contribute to their learning and to help them prepare for a better future for themselves and their families.

Room Tip: This is a place for people who can appreciate being a guest in a learning environment.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wander824549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations S, Front Office Manager at Maringi Eco Resort by SHF, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Caroline G,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us very happy to read that the students have impressed you, you've surely made a lasting impression on them. It is through guests like you that our talented and smiling students have the opportunity to practice and improve their skills. We hope to welcome you back soon to see their progress!

Warm regards,

Bente Elzinga
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

SHF is actually a hotel school in sumba barat. We were amazed that the cottages are well maintained and really clean eventhough it is an eco-open air bathroom- concept. All students (who become the hotel staff) was very nice. Breakfast was excellent especially the home made bakery! Did not expect that the bakery will be that good.

Sadly we only stay here for 1 night as we need to go to sumba timur the next day. We look forward to stay at SHF again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tnhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations S, Guest Relations Manager at Maringi Eco Resort by SHF, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear tnhakim,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted that we could impress you with the architecture of our bamboo buildings and with our cuisine.

In addition, we are very pleased that you recognize the potential of our students even after such a short time of commencing their studies at the Sumba Hospitality Foundation.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Claudia Marinucci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful eco-resort, with all proceeds supporting a hospitality school for the Sumbanese youth.The beautiful bamboo made rooms are located right next to the school campus, and you can directly feel the authentic warmth of this place, hearing the laughter of the students and teachers during and after the courses. The food is great, it is prepared by the students of the department "culinary" under the supervision of an Italian chef, and served with a splendid smile by the students of the department "restaurant and bar". In the bar, you can freely mix and discuss with an interesting group of volunteers, who are there for 6-24 months to help out. It's great to hear their stories.

We also enjoyed a magnificent sunset on the beach which is a short 10 min car drive away (the hotel organizes the ride for free). Tambolaka town and airport is only 20-25 min away. The hotel will organize airport pick-up if you want.

Note: there is wifi in the bar, but not super strong, and not available in the rooms. Additional infrastructure is planned on the island to improve the internet connection (possibly from 2019 onwards). We did not really miss it, as it was more than compensated by the pleasant conversations with students and staff.

What a warm lovely place!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michiel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations S, Guest Relations Manager at Maringi Eco Resort by SHF, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Michiel D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is through our guests that our motivated and talented students have the opportunity to practice their skills and apply what they learned at our school.

It is delightful to read that we could impress you with the tasty dishes from our kitchen and with the design of our eco-resort!

We are happy that we were able to make you feel part of our community so that you could truly experience the spirit of the Sumba Hospitality Foundation.

The SHF Family would like to thank you and your wife for being such kind and gracious guests and we hope to welcome you another time in the future!

With gratitude,

Claudia Marinucci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for peace and calm, this is the perfect place. Fantastic food, excellent service from all staffs and comfy bungalows. Everything was like portrait in pics and everything you need for a comfy stay is provided here. Stayed for 4 nights and overall I had an amazing experience. Highly recommended! I will definitely come back soon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank devina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations S, Guest Relations Manager at Maringi Eco Resort by SHF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Devina e,

We would like to thank you for your positive review and providing our students with a practical learning opportunity by staying with us at the Sumba Hospitality Foundation Hotel.

We strive to provide excellent service and comfort and we hope to keep up the good work in the future.

Hope to see you again very soon!

With gratitude,

Claudia Marinucci
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews