We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
38
22
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
22
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muck diving maumere bay arak cocktails the owner perfect sunset the cottages beach bar low tide mosquito net snorkeling trip nasi goreng your luggage relaxing stay sea view double bed dive resort stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Accomodation is quite basic for the price. No WiFi available. They care about divers only snorkelers don't bring enough money. Boat might not go out several days in a row than you're stuck to muck diving at the house reef which is small and broken coral. Staff no English not overly friendly or helpful. If the boat is not going no alternative offers made except hot springs. Well its 35 degrees that wasn't what we wanted

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BobbyFish1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I stayed at Ankermi in September 2017 and it was perfect for me.
I had hut number 5 which is the closest to the sea.
It's a quiet place and so I could really relax.
The food is great and staff really nice.
18 dives with Kermi, Trent and/or Florian were great fun.
Thank you very much for the great time I had there!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and thought it was wonderful!
This place is wonderful and we can only recommend it - it is also extremely good value!

Kermi's resort is a hidden gem and you can't find anything nicer than this place in Flores!

The entire resort is very thoughtfully put together and the style and decoration is beautifully chosen. The little ponds with water lilies, the hammocks and the swing over the rocky shore made it our own perfect paradise.

We stayed in one of their budget rooms (170.000 single/210.000 double incl. a big and tasty breakfast). The only "downside" was that he compressor for the dive gear was close and it was running three hours every day. We didn't find it annoying in any way, as you are out at the beach bar or on a snorkeling trip while it runs anyways.
The rooms were equipped with a basic, but clean bed with mosquito net and a small table. The shared shower was clean with only cold water.

We went with the divers onto a snorkeling trip (200.000 incl. lunch, a very good price!) and Trent and Flo made sure we knew what to look for, even though the divers were their priority. The snorkeling at the two dive sides close to the islands in front of the resort was very good, some of the nicest corals we've seen all around Indonesia (and we've seen a lot). The dives seem to have been pretty cool too - they have a lot of knowledge on smaller and more obscure fish, there is even a book on the 'Ankermi's Critters' that can help identify what you've seen.

The only small downside is that the restaurant's staff/service don't seem to care much about their guest. If you talk to them they might not answer and just leave. There was no eye contact, no friendly answers, no smiles - and we tried desperatly to provoke the tiniest smile!
The orders are also served at random times and might come 1,5 hrs apart from each other. Expect to be left hungry waiting.
A bit disappointing!

However, we can only recommend this place. In comparison to some other budget options - try to get a room at Ankermi's! You will not regret it!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Ankermi has a superb tranquil ambiance. The cottages at the sea side have a beautiful view from their verandas. At the waterfront you have a swing, some relaxing chairs, and a jetty from which you can enter a small reef with OK coral.

The restaurant has tasteful dishes - some are really gourmet style. If you don't like garlic, ask for less/no garlic (otherwise your pumpkin soup taste like garlic soup).

A down-point, the staff. They seem not to be intrinsically motivated to serve, nor happy. Which is a pity for such a nice place. Nevertheless they are helpful and solve your problems.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peeterstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Overall it is a nice place to stay. I would sleep there again if I am in the area.

Pros
Nice beds, simple but sufficient, clean and mostly friendly staff.
Nasi goreng was really nice. Rest of the food was ok.
Overall nice style relaxed atmosphere and good diving I suppose.

Cons
A bit pricey for what you get. I was hoping for internet as we needed to book tickets etc, that's why we chose this place over the other copy paste huts/hotels along this part of the coast.
No internet here, partially confused staff and just strange encounters. You really need to write down what you want what you need etc. Otherwise nothing will be done (pickups, collecting baggage, lunch on the boat).

Having said that and if you are here for stunning reefs there are still some nice dive spots. If I would compare it to komodo though... Komodo wins. Fishermen, snorkel tours you name it ... Just no one gives a *** about their reefs. They anker where they please and will run down the leftovers of their reefs in the next year's. The reefs I saw were nice on first sight but after a second look you see that the once great hard coral framework is dead, overgrown by leather corals and replaced with other soft coral types. It must have been a pristine and wonderful reef 10-15 years ago.

Other hotels:
There are other cheaper options along the coast similar to the ankermi hut style. Sunset cottages, Lena's house 1 and 2 or if you like it very basic warang cottages for 100.000 IDR per night. The latter I stayed one night and even though it was basic I didn't miss much.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Hagen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews