We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, good location, bad designed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aerotel Smile Makassar
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights during business trip. While the Hotel is located near LOSARI beach (5 minutes walk) and near many night street hawker, the designed is very bad. Small parking space, small room, and very small lobby. The bathroom is also small. I find it very annoying because i need to change elevator and walk a long, dark and bland hallway to reach my room. The breakfast is also standart with not many choices. No View from room, the only the i had is other people roof. This hotel is very weird as it surrounded by residences and the back door is opened to local residences. No pool, and not a good stay. only choose this if you don't have any option.

Room Tip: Nope, every room is hard to reach as you need to change elevator and walk a long hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, General Manager at Aerotel Smile Makassar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Mr. Valent

Thank you very much for writting comments about our property.

Allow me to introduce my self, Im Robert Manurung the New General Manager of Aerotel Smile Makassar.

Sir, we are trully sorry for your un pleasant experience during your stayed with us. But, i would like to share to you that our superior room size is actually very standart for international size which is 25M2,and also our bath room.

Regading the lift issues, indeed Our Room floor design are unique, first you take 1st lift and stop at the 5th floor, then you walk to the bridge that might take 25 meters from the 1st lift ( new building ) and you take the 2nd lift. that all sir. and i dont think it become a problem.

Sir, when you booked our property, i believed you did already checked about our facilities, and i also believed that you aware that we dont have smimming pool. but we do have a very nice a relaxing " Higar Spa and Massage " that offers you fitness, dan also hot and cold whirlpool.

Regarding breakfast issue, we do have wide selections of breakfast, from indonesian, chinese, american, and continental, also egg station.

Mr. Vincent. i do hope that my explanation will answer all the infos that you share in here. thank you

Regards,


Robert Manurung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

In my opinion this hotel gives several negative surprises to its guests.
Probably the worst experience for me was that you have to take 2 elevators to get to your room, To reach the second elevator you have to walk through a long hallway. Not a good experience if you do it 3 times a day.
My second bad feeling came when I entered my room and the room was stinking from smoke.
Probably somebody was smoking there before but I got a headache from that smell.
When I wanted to take a shower the water was either fully cold or to hot. Temperature was impossible to control. The same happened with my friend in the other room travelling with me.
Tv channels are working very poor, the quality of signal is bad.
Generally the room condition was also poor. Cracks on the wall. The shower curtain looked very ugly. Whitish, yellowish color.
Internet of course did not work at all, only in the lobby.

Maybe breakfast was okay and the staff somewhat helpful.
The gym also okay.
Overall I think you can find a better place to stay for this price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonyo121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I don't know why it's named after Smile. I gave it 2 out of 5, while I'd likely to gave it only 1, but their price and the view from room I got, just saved them 1 point.

Overall, the hotel, was like anything but hotel building. I just didn't realise that I had arrived there when my taxi driver told me. It's just like what they called 'ruko' in Bahasa Indonesia. The check-in process went slow, I don't know why, since I made my booking online, so it's nothing complicated I thought.

Nothing I ever experienced before in any hotel, was that it's architectural cleverness that you had to go to 4th floor from lobby's elevator, then walk all the way long corridor, only to find another elevator, to get to your room. One thing I like was, the view from my room, facing Pantai Losari.

Breakfast was standard, and almost empty. I guess there weren't much other guests staying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

If you want your trip to be a nightmare, that is the best place you can find. They dont know how to use a credit card machine: when i wanted to pay with my card, they did wrong operation and touch the keyboard, it has blocked my card without they told me, they just told me that my card was not working without i touch the keyboard. I realise this one day after when i went to the ATM and an error message like "pin blocked" appear on the screen. After a call to my central bank, they confirm me that a wrong code has been done 3 times in this hotel. The employees are useless and not able to make an overseas call works, the manager is an unresponsible guy and made me lost time and never help me. I finished in makassar with 40 euros in cash and no other way to have any money to continue my honeymoon with my wife, we were also not able to come back in our country...they are like magicians, able to destroy your hollidays in a few seconds but with the smile.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Asianfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank RusminIndra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#8 of 104 in Makassar
140 reviews
0.5 km away
Whiz Prime Hotel Hasanuddin Makassar
0.2 km away
M-Regency Makassar
M-Regency Makassar
#18 of 104 in Makassar
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Expressia Hotel Makassar
Expressia Hotel Makassar
#22 of 104 in Makassar
30 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Makassar Golden
Hotel Makassar Golden
#69 of 104 in Makassar
58 reviews
0.7 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
#10 of 104 in Makassar
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aerotel Smile Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aerotel Smile Makassar

Address: Jln. Mochtar Lutfi No. 38, Makassar 90112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range: €20 - €29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aerotel Smile Makassar 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Stars Rating Property, located at the city center of Makassar. Very close to the famous beach area " Losari " with only 3 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aerotel Smile Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing