We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude manager”
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Batam
Ranked #49 of 99 Hotels in Batam
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I reserve rooms thru mercure batam offical website, we received a confirmation email that rooms has been reserved. When we arrived, system shows our reservation did not went thru. The reservation staff mention tha our payment never get thru and our reservation has been cancelled. If only us facing this issue i undsrstand but few of them facing the same issue when i discuss with other guests. We went to talked to the manager, he charge us 1 room 2 queen size bed for SGD100+++ but website shows $70+. He told us to adjust the first day and second day he will give us two rooms for 4 person but the next day his body language and tone is very rude. Then we decide to leave from mercure and went to stay in some budget hotel. Around 8am half of the breakfast finished, they should well prepared due to public holiday. I went to mercure few times and i recommend my friends to go there but after this incident. I decided not to go there anymore due to rude manager and service is very bad.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kuna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Old and tired hotel. Hotel is not centrally located. Front desk courteous and helpful. Room is spacious but smell musty. Air conditioning is very cold even after turning up temp. Small Swimming pool on upper floor but no lifeguard. Hotel is lax on Swimming attire. Buffet breakfast costs 100,000rps per pax. Do not go for the hotel massage. Masseur lacks experience and massage and shower room are dirty and musty.

Nearest food outlet is a Pizza Hut restaurant within walking distance. Nearest 24hr convenience store is Circle K. Alfa Mart a 24 hr convenient store is also within walking distance. Windsor foodcourt a popular tourist place for seafood dinner is a half hour walk from hotel. If you feel adventurous, from hotel, "Turn Left, keep walking past first traffic light, at second traffic light, turn left and immediately turn left into small lane. You should be able to spot the signage Windsor Foodcourt. Alternatively take cab. Megamall is abt 20mins cab ride from hotel. Cab fare is 80,000rps.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night as our usual hotel were fully booked. We don't expect much for a three star hotel but it seems they got renovation going on. Building looks old and smoky damp smell along hotel corridor . We stayed on the 5th floor . There's 2 lift but only one "working" and also had problem. The "press down" button is not working . We had to "press up" in order to get the lift to our floor when we want to go down. Miserable indeed. Breakfast was ok, they do have omelette upon request . Food and coffee is hot. But please don't drink their juice . It's so diluted that I think they should just use syrup should they want to save cost.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank FizaZul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Spent my eve of new year 2017. Room is big and spacious bedrooms. Clean and big bed. Breakfast is not much but still the basic foods. But then for a rate we paid still worth it. Staff are friendly and quick getting things done when I informed there was toilet chocked. The downside is there are smoking area in an enclosed area where we have our Breakfast. Shouldn't they segregate an area outside the restaurant for customers who want to smoke. Not inside.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nazrilow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Arrived late in the night and managed to get a room pretty quickly. The room is huge but there is a very strong smell of old funiture and furnishing. Air con was not cold and there are loud noise coming from outside the window. The next day, went down for breakfast and I must say the food are tasty although not too much of a varieties to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Batam, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Cymt,

Warmest Greetings from Mercure Batam.

Thank your for taking time to provide feedback about your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Mulwardi Tjitra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batam hotels
2.3 km away
Crown Vista Hotel
Crown Vista Hotel
#26 of 99 in Batam
105 reviews
0.2 km away
The L Hotel Entertainment
2.5 km away
ION Hotel
ION Hotel
#42 of 99 in Batam
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Horison Ultima King's Batam
0.7 km away
Amaris Hotel Nagoya Hill
0.5 km away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jl. Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 99 Hotels in Batam
Price Range: €40 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing