We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
229
179
38
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
179
38
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious room surabaya city star hotel indonesian food business trip great ambience favorite hotel corner room club floor nice hotel complete amenities swimming pool excellent breakfast biggest mall check in process breakfast menu the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

I have stayed in frequent basis in this hotel since like 10-13 years ago. The hotel is an old hotel, but it is well-maintained and everything just seems well taken care. Location-wise, it is located in Darmo, very strategic and easy to reach. From the airport, you just spend about IDR 130K to reach this hotel by registered taxi.

Relevant with its name "city resort", the hotel offers resort-like ambience which is nicely blended with city/business hotel concept which makes the overall stay memorable. It has spacious lobby and public area, integrated with big green outdoor, where you can also sit and enjoy the garden & drink coffee/tea. The guests are welcomed with a nice lemongrass aroma. Apart from the lobby, the ground floor has batik store (but it is quite expensive), a boutique, travel office, bakery which also sells some traditional delicatessen. During check in, the guests are given cold refreshing towel.

Most rooms are located in the high floor which gives you great view to Surabaya city (all room has big window). As I stay here for 9 nights, my room is upgraded and it is such a fabulous spacious room. They provide a plate of fruit upon my arrival and there are 4 free mineral waters which I really appreciate.

Bathroom is really nice and luxurious - they have separate section for the toilet, shower, and bathtub. Bathing experience is really great.

Breakfast is also awesome. The hotel interestingly provide some traditional Indonesian foods in some small carts circled the restaurant area. However, the indoor restaurant area itself is not too spacious (at 9AM it is usually over crowded), but the hotel provides outdoor seating area.

Service is great - the employees are full of smile and they always greet guests when entering the hotel. Such a nice Indonesian hospitality.

I still spend many nights here and hopefully they can maintain this great customer touch points in this hotel.

In the future, I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room tip: Ask for rooms in higher floor for better view
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Missmatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

One thing that make this hotel different than the rest is the ambiance and smell. If you're looking for Indonesia's kind of smell. this is your place. It has good aromatherapy which is very unique. Their restaurant also has many variation.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank VolareA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

At first I just under estimated about this hotel considering that this is an old hotel and never had renovated.. but, until i step in the lobby, this hotel is smells good..javanesse ambience with lemongrass and ginger aroma.
The staffs services are very good, they show us few rooms before we decided to pick ours, then the restaurant "warung bule" they gave us a perfect service adfordable price but just like fine dining service, hot stone menu is recomended..
The breakfast, many various kind of food and dishes with good atmosphere and javanesse ambience..
Very recomended for travelers

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Khaka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Staying 2 nights in this hotel with spouse for a short getaway..our impressions are:
1. Excellent stay. Great green resort in the heart of the city
2. Pool was big big big...really enjoy the pool
Jacuzzi near their pool was also great..
3. Breakfast was great especially for traditional food. Many variations and they have many food stalls surrounding the garden.
4. Room was spacious, comfort and clean. Separate wardrobe from bed. Separated shower room and closet as well as the bath tub.
5. Strategic location but be aware on saturday night when the road getting crazy heading to tunjungan plaza. We planned our saturday night to meet friends but unfortunately cancelled due to the crowded around 7-9pm..but never regret for just staying and enjoy the hotel restaurant.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 279devia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

entering the lobby hotel you”ll be pleased with lemongrass aroma.. the lobby quite wide. and the room is very spacious, not to forget the bathroom. it has both shower and bathtub.. very nice.. about the breakfast at the arumanis resto, which has indoor and outdoor places, its really nice, it has alot of variety too.. the hotel has swimming pool to on the 3rd floor..

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kezia2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews