We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best romantic dinner in Ubud”
Review of Kubu at Mandapa

Kubu at Mandapa
Reserve with Chope
Kubu at Mandapa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 953 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$75
Description: A tropical breeze and the soothing sound of water set the mood at our signature bamboo restaurant. Kubu also offers an intimate space with having 9 private cocoons overlooking the Ayung river for you to enjoy fine Mediterranean-European cuisine in the option of A-la-carte or degustation menus. Further, an extensive list of European wines is accompanied for selection as well.
Restaurant details
Description: A tropical breeze and the soothing sound of water set the mood at our signature bamboo restaurant. Kubu also offers an intimate space with having 9 private cocoons overlooking the Ayung river for you to enjoy fine Mediterranean-European cuisine in the option of A-la-carte or degustation menus. Further, an extensive list of European wines is accompanied for selection as well.
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

The place is very romantic yet the food is beyond expectations. The chef is doing really good job with every details of the plating and taste is superb. Very highly recommendation to spolied your loves one.

1  Thank Putri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Putri D,

Nothing gives us more pleasure to hear such personal and memorable stories from our guests, who thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their time at Kubu. We would love to have you back again on your next visit to Bali.

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant has everything! From charm, to outstanding service, to adventurous taste pallets I would rank this restaurant a 10 out of 10. I’m not a big fan of too sophisticated restaurants as I always find the mixes too much, the experimentation too much and the quantity too little. But Kudu has the perfect balance that works equally as well for my adventure seeking foodie husband as it does for plan old me. Best yet, amazing price - 750k per person for the menu plus 450k per person for wine to accompany each meal.

Hands down a must eat place in Bali.

Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Stephanie B,

What a lovely review of your Kubu experience. The entire team of Kubu would like to thank you for such support and praise. It gives us great pleasure and motivation to hear that we lived up to your expectations. Please do not forget to recommend our restaurant to your loved ones who will visit this beautiful island. Thanks!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We just had dinner last night at Kubu, and it didn't disappoint - one of the best fine dining experiences in Ubud (and there are a few now). From the trek in a buggy all the way down to the river location in the middle of the Ritz Carlton, every part of this dining adventure is designed to delight. From the start the staff are experienced, attentive and looking after every aspect of your visit. We had the five course dinner, with matching wines for each. I don't want to give too much away, but you get a lot more than that - lovely amuse-bouches kept coming before we even started our degustation.

The place itself is amazing to look at, low level lighting in rattan pods" dotted around the river area. The main restaurant area is a cantilevered bamboo wonder - you need to look up! Like the bottom of a ship. Beautifully designed and presented, and quite a feat to pull off I imagine.

Back to the food. It was for the most part sensational, and I highly recommend the wine pairing option - at $aud45 extra per person it's a bit of a bargain, full glasses of wine from all over the world with each new dish.

The wonderful aspect of this restaurant, coupled with the very high quality of food, makes this place a must when I next come back.

1  Thank emmajane20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear emmajane20152015,

Thanks a lot for taking time to write such wonderful feedback for your Kubu experience. We are lucky to be nestled in this beautiful Ayung valley with majestic views of the river. I have passed your comments to our culinary and service team and they truly appreciate your praise and accolades. We look forward to have you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

True fine dining. The tasting menu is well composed with excellent wine pairings. Prices are similar to European fine dining. When booking, ask for a cocoon by the river.

1  Thank AdamWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear AdamWa,

Nothing could please us more than, delivering exceptional cuisine and delightful service for guests like you.
We surely hope you will continue your support and will visit us soon. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife had dinner booked here for our anniversary. It didn’t fail us food was amazing views were incredible. Staff were very helpful. A bit pricey but for one off it was fine and we had the most amazing 1st anniversary

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear David W,

Lovely words! We couldn't ask more from our guest who shower us with love and loyalty. We are glad to be part of your first anniversary memories. Thanks and see you soon!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kubu at Mandapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing