We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$510
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$635
US$482
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
US$165
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$25
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
US$284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$971
US$927
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$705
US$615
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$757/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
32
36
13
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
36
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsupstairs roommosquito repellentyoga retreatfree breakfastlovely poolopen aireach morningdriverbali
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Although the Melati cottages are showing their age they still have a certain amount of charm. The building style is beautiful and so are the gardens with numerous statues all around. The pool was very clean and lovely to swim in and located amongst the gardens and close to the main outdoor seating area. Breakfast was included in our room price and although basic omelettes and fruit it was tasty and filling. Our room was large with a large verandah as well. The location is great with walking paths to local shops and cafes.
The main downside was that you need to be aware that you will encounter some bugs and animals on your stay. We had some geckos sharing our room which apart from a bit of poo from time to time are nice to have around. We had a squirrel that visited our balcony each night which meant we couldn't leave the door open to get a breeze through (no flywire). We also had some less pleasant visitors in the form of a few cockroaches but they seemed happy to stay in the bathroom and if we knocked before entering they normally hid out of sight. We found the staff helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: we had air con which worked well i think a room with a fan would have been of more use as you could leave it on all night while sleeping
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CJDevolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Melati Cottages, an inexpensive, for a yoga and writers' retreat but it would also make good holiday accommodation for people traveling on a tight budget. It is in Penestanan, on the outskirts of Ubud. The accommodation rooms were spacious, with simple ensuites, and lovely garden outlooks. The breakfast area provided a great workspace for writing through the day, and the large pool was a tonic at anytime. The Wantilan, by the rice paddies, was a magical place to do yoga.
Melati is ideally located near all manner of eateries and massage places -my favourite, being Boreh Aya, beside Alchemy where Ketut provided an amazing, therapeutic, acupressure massage, and Boreh Boreh body marinade! You will have to put up with the traffic and sound of people chatting, but the health benefits make it worth it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for a week. The room was comfortable enough for the price and large. However, do not expect luxury if you stay here. Although air conditioned it barely coped and was still warm. We payed small amt extra to have a fridge in room -well worth it. Would be better with a ceiling fan. Balcony was nice and overlooked grounds. Shower was abysmal and over bath. Staff were pleasant and helpful and breakfast was good if not extensive. Great pool and grounds and good position.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor if you have trouble with steep stairs but balconies on 2nd floor are pleasant
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

From outside Melati seems to be the perfect place: beautiful setting, gardens fairly well curated, the old typical buildings are beautiful and well positioned in the middle of the green. But to a closer look it shows its real DNA: pool is dirty, rooms are dirty and smell like old, furniture is old, the bathroom seems to come out directly from a 70s old mansion - abandoned long ago. In the room we had a colony of giant ants (literally everywhere), and in the bathroom we had the pleasure of having the company of a whole family of 4cm cockroaches - welcoming us every night. We got bit by something in bed despite the mosquito net (properly full of holes). The reception staff is smiling but careless, and tried to sell us something each time they were taking to us (transfer to Gili, motorbike, massage)... as if there are not enough sellers on the streets already. It's true: prices are fairly cheap for Ubud; and the location has a lot of potential (but needs fresh investments). Yet, as of now, they don't deserve more than 2 stars to be completely fair. Three stars maybe if you are lucky enough to get a room without cockroaches.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ikappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Melati Cottages are set in a beautiful location, the staff are very nice (especially the man on reception and the ladies who serve breakfast), and the pool is lovely.

Unfortunately Room 5 had an infestation of big ants, which ruined my stay here. There was an ants nest under the bath and the room was crawling with them in the night - including in the bed. I was badly bitten by the ants, I couldn't sleep due to the ants crawling on me, and the whole experience was very unpleasant and uncomfortable.

As well as being infested with ants, the bathroom also wasn't clean, it was mouldy, damp, had no shower curtain and no covering on the window, so I had to shower in the dark. The room bedroom was light, airy and looked nice (but was ant-infested).

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 5 - it's infested with BIG ants
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews