We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
33
36
15
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
36
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields upstairs room yoga retreat mosquito repellent banana pancakes double bed free breakfast lovely pool open air each morning driver bali
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Melati Cottages, an inexpensive, for a yoga and writers' retreat but it would also make good holiday accommodation for people traveling on a tight budget. It is in Penestanan, on the outskirts of Ubud. The accommodation rooms were spacious, with simple ensuites, and lovely garden outlooks. The breakfast area provided a great workspace for writing through the day, and the large pool was a tonic at anytime. The Wantilan, by the rice paddies, was a magical place to do yoga.
Melati is ideally located near all manner of eateries and massage places -my favourite, being Boreh Aya, beside Alchemy where Ketut provided an amazing, therapeutic, acupressure massage, and Boreh Boreh body marinade! You will have to put up with the traffic and sound of people chatting, but the health benefits make it worth it.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1234trueblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for a week. The room was comfortable enough for the price and large. However, do not expect luxury if you stay here. Although air conditioned it barely coped and was still warm. We payed small amt extra to have a fridge in room -well worth it. Would be better with a ceiling fan. Balcony was nice and overlooked grounds. Shower was abysmal and over bath. Staff were pleasant and helpful and breakfast was good if not extensive. Great pool and grounds and good position.

Room tip: Choose ground floor if you have trouble with steep stairs but balconies on 2nd floor are pleasant
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

From outside Melati seems to be the perfect place: beautiful setting, gardens fairly well curated, the old typical buildings are beautiful and well positioned in the middle of the green. But to a closer look it shows its real DNA: pool is dirty, rooms are dirty and smell like old, furniture is old, the bathroom seems to come out directly from a 70s old mansion - abandoned long ago. In the room we had a colony of giant ants (literally everywhere), and in the bathroom we had the pleasure of having the company of a whole family of 4cm cockroaches - welcoming us every night. We got bit by something in bed despite the mosquito net (properly full of holes). The reception staff is smiling but careless, and tried to sell us something each time they were taking to us (transfer to Gili, motorbike, massage)... as if there are not enough sellers on the streets already. It's true: prices are fairly cheap for Ubud; and the location has a lot of potential (but needs fresh investments). Yet, as of now, they don't deserve more than 2 stars to be completely fair. Three stars maybe if you are lucky enough to get a room without cockroaches.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ikappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Melati Cottages are set in a beautiful location, the staff are very nice (especially the man on reception and the ladies who serve breakfast), and the pool is lovely.

Unfortunately Room 5 had an infestation of big ants, which ruined my stay here. There was an ants nest under the bath and the room was crawling with them in the night - including in the bed. I was badly bitten by the ants, I couldn't sleep due to the ants crawling on me, and the whole experience was very unpleasant and uncomfortable.

As well as being infested with ants, the bathroom also wasn't clean, it was mouldy, damp, had no shower curtain and no covering on the window, so I had to shower in the dark. The room bedroom was light, airy and looked nice (but was ant-infested).

Room tip: DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 5 - it's infested with BIG ants
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaH2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

we had to extend our stay in this welcoming ,chilled and very hospital inviroment because we loved it so much.
The place has a great pool gorgeous staff and great banana pancakes wich you can select on the breakfast list wich included in your commodation.
we payed $40 /night for 3 of us (2adault 1 child)
It also has a back entrance to the fabulous trafficless back streets wich give you great shortcuts to exciting places.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews