We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Heart of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #13 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My husband and I have been to Bali more times than we can count. We have stayed in many hotels in Ubud, but always on the edge of the city. This time we chose to stay on Monkey Forest Road. We were very happy with what we found at the Komaneka. We had a nice-sized villa with a large bathroom (including shower and bathtub) and our own infinity pool. The view from our room was a large rice paddy. We had his and hers desks for our computers. The lighting in the room was exceptional. The mattress and pillows had just the right amount of firmness. There was a large flat screen tv with DVD player. The factor that we liked most about the hotel was the well-trained friendly staff. Our every need was anticipated and satisfied. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant each morning. The food was excellent. For eating out, there were lots of great eating establishments from which to choose within walking distance. I had a good feeling as we entered the lobby of the hotel. We didn't have an advance reservation and we were very lucky to find a vacancy. We originally planned to stay 3 nights and extended to 5. On our last day there I enjoyed a 90 minute massage/scrub at the spa. During our 12 day stay in Bali I had gone to the spa at each of our hotels. My experience at the spa in Ubud surpassed the others. We are looking forward to our next visit to the Komaneka on Monkey Forest Road.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 848 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2011

transferred from Sanur and upon being shown our rooms we were very impressed. Our bed had the flowers made up into a heart shape and the rooms were quite large. breakfast was like Man v Food, I dont know how anyone could eat each course. The staff were very friendly and didnt seem forced and we also enjoyed the free trips to the herons and the Art Gallery. It was strange seeing a rice paddy alongside the resort as it is right in middle of shopping strip with plenty of restaurants close by plus ATM a very meters down the road. Hard to believe it is only 4 stars. Also have free internet so my kids could check their facebook etc. Very quiet at night and would thoroughly recommend. would definitely go back. Also the included massage for all 5 of our group was well received by all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcb5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of other tripadvisor reviews and it certainly met and even exceeded our expectations. we were upgraded to a pool villa which was absolutely beautiful - looking over the river below - and heaps of fun for our 11yo boy. The service from staff was excellent - they were always friendly in a polite way. Breakfast is very good - cooked to order. Afternoon tea was brought to our villa. Room was presented beautifully on arrival and turn down service is sweet. Massage in sap was excellent - location is wonderful overlookibng rice fields. Highly recommended hotel for all travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familygdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My husband and I were married in December, we stayed in three places in Bali for our 10 day honeymoon and the Komaneka at the Monkey Forest was the best! We also stayed at the Laguna in Nusa Dua, which was nice but too resorty, and also the Ahimsa in Jimbaran which had too many mosquitos.
The Komaneka was perfect from the moment we stepped off the plane, it was the first time I had been overseas and I found customs and all the porters at the airport very overwhelming, but as soon as we got outside the airport we could see the typed sign with our names on it, standing out amoungst all the handwritten ones. Our driver took our bags and brought us to the car where we got cold towels and bintangs.
When we got to the hotel we were told that the standard room we had booked was being upgraded to a pool villa. The room was amazing, so private and perfect, with a horizon pool looking over to the jungle. If I could move in there, my life would be complete.
The service was impeccable, everyone was friendly and so happy to help. The spa was beautiful and wholistic. The food was delicious and the breakfast was bountiful. And the location was excellent, we were right in the middle of Ubud, but couldn't hear a thing from the hotel, so peacful.
I will be staying here everytime I come to Bali.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandoraLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We did not want to leave Komaneka at Monkey Forest, we only booked 2 nights there as we had never stayed at Ubud before and after 1 night we wanted to stay another week !
We were upgraded to a pool villa, it was amazing, beautiful views over the river and so serene.......the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the bathroom was beautiful with a huge bath surrounded by a fish pond. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and interested in our holiday plans. Komaneka is not a big hotel and this is a plus, attention to detail shows, it was a holiday we will never forget and we will return to Komaneka again and stay for longer !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.5 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 197 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
0.6 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 197 in Ubud
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.7 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 197 in Ubud
2,148 reviews
5.9 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: €154 - €239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing