We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$398
US$317
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamandalu Ubud(Ubud)
US$338
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$924
US$816
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fivelements Bali Retreat(Mambal)
US$504
US$470
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
635
133
37
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
133
37
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolour honeymoongarden villaevery hourthe riveroutdoor shower and bathamerican breakfastmain poollounge areaa free shuttle busbalinese stylebreakfast is servednusa duaafternoon teamosquito netcentral ubudrice terraces
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We ended up at Pita Maha because our hotel in Kuta was overbooked and we were sent to Ubud as a "getaway". After a long drive (well, 36 km can take 1,5 hours on Bali :-))) we arrived at Pita Maha and were welcomed by the staff. We got a nice two storey villa with own pool, the house was huge (we were just 2 people staying there). The location is ok, however a bit too far from all the restorants (the hotel however offers you a busride to the "centre"), but it's OK to walk a mile or so. The room was lovely decorated, eventhough a bit outdated and the bed was too hard, and there were indeed ants in the bathroom (due to all vegetation outside?). We were quite satisfied with the stay, but only because we did not have to pay for the room. I had checked the room prices before coming an I would be quite dissapointed if I had to pay 200-300 usd per night.... Breakfast was great with a real personal service at a table and you can choose from the meny and the food was fresh. There are many steps in the hotel area and the distance between rooms and lobby demands some walking.
The gardens and the views and the nature is amazing, so Ubud is definetely worth a visit. Would I stay at the same hotel if I ever came to Ubud again? probably not... but it is a great option if you like it quiet, calm, no people around and complete silence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljono4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Really beautiful place to stay. Wall enclosed villa with own pool and outdoor bathroom. Spacious and luxurious. Beautiful place to walk around. Exceptionally helpful staff. Good place to explore the island. Only downside is being in the forest means noisy at night from the natural wildlife! Would love to stay there again.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenDen1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

What an amazing place, my Husband & I spend 7 wonderful nights at The Pita Maha Resort & Spa to see in the New Year 2013.
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud.....the serenity, peace, tranquiity and beauty of The Pita Maha will take your breath away.
We stayed in a Pool Garden Villa, the villa was beautifully appointed in true Balinese style.
The private garden and pool were beautiful..... Well kept and clean, an outdoor covered patio area, with a daybed, table & chairs.
The bed was very comfy and a good size like the Australian king size with a mosquito net.
The villa has a good sized living area with a daybed & two chairs, a study desk, small fridge, TV, DVD Player & wireless internet.
We just loved the very private outdoor bathroom with a shower and a sunken with bath.....We want one at home!

The room was very clean and is made up every day with fresh linen, fruit, fridge stocks & water.

The main pool is very clean the gardens around the resort are just beautiful very well maintained.

The food in the Pita Maha Restaurant was delightful- obviously more expensive that the restaurants in town, but I thought quite reasonably priced for a Resort.
The included American breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to it each day after our long morning walks certainly filled us for the day right through to our evening dinner.
The 24 hour room service was nice to have not that we used it often, a nice treat was to have breakfast served on our own private outdoor covered patio area.

The staff here are just lovely nothing at all is too much to ask, any request was done with pleasure & always with a smile. The main staff speak very good English.

The location of this Resort was great – especially if you are after a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle. There is a free shuttle every hour to and from the main village, it is just a short drive down the road. The main centre of Ubud is only around a 35 minute walk from the resort and is quiet safe even at night. We chose a private taxi at night if we had missed the free shuttle the cost from $4 - $5 Australian Dollars.

In Ubud there are several little convenience stores for a bit of shopping, you can stock up on beer, soft drinks & snacks etc
Amazing restaurants in town in our order of recommendation and a price guide –
1.Ibu Rai – Monkey Forest Road, Ubud – 3 courses for two & a bottle of wine AU$60
2. Nomad – 35 Ubud Main Street, Ubud – 2 courses, cocktails, wine & a beer AU$50
3. Cafe Lotus - Ubud Main Street, Ubud - 2 courses, 1 wine & a beer AU$40
If you are after an unforgettable dining experience the treat yourself “Bridges” in Ubud, beautiful food & views. It is best to book so you don’t miss out – We left this treat for our last night in Ubud - We had 3 courses each plus beer & wine - for AU$85
Best coffee & iced coffee in Ubud – Kopi Bali House just up from the Monkey Forest

My Husband & I have travelled the world and stayed in many luxury Hotels and we would have to say The Pita Maha Resort & Spa is truly an amazing tranquil experience.
We cannot rate this place highly enough and will definitely return a truly incredible experience!

Room Tip: Pool Garden Villa views are better closer to the main pool we had Villa 201
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rvandsvAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Pita Maha was such a welcome after a long year. We arrived on the 17th December and stayed 3 nights in a pool villa. Our welcome to this peaceful resort was wonderful. Staff were all very helpful and always smiling. Breakfast was great and would highly receommend this resort for peace and quiet and recharge time out.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Arrived on the 26th October 2012, stayed in chalet 102, What a great place, quiet and very private with an outside bathroom. wonderful.
Staff very helpfull and pleasant.The chef baked me a great chocilate cake for my 68th birthday.
Table service for every meal, The only negative it is very hilly with lots of steps so ask for a chaley between 101 to 112, they are managable, I have had a hip replacement and would have found it very difficult in any other chalet after 112.
There is a restaurant called Mozaic within walking distance, I highly recomment it especially for a special occassion.

Room Tip: chalet 101 to 112 as there are only a few steps.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyhawke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews