We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puri Sunia Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$356
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
836
212
37
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
212
37
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourrice paddiescinnamon toastmorning yogacomplimentary activitiesfree shuttlelocal villagealways on timepool villaubud centreafternoon teadeluxe roomminute driveregular shuttleshuttle servicecooking classbalinese massage
Filter
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was the third time I travelled to Bali and I wondered why I did not stay at Puri Sunia for the last 2 times I was there! The resort was located in a quiet village about 15 minutes from Ubud Centre, but it is just the perfect location I thought! Away from the way too crowded beaches and next to tranquil padi fields, it was the perfect setting for a quiet and blissful holiday.

We stayed in a pool villa with our own heated dip pool and surrounded by lush greenery, we had absolute privacy. Service was excellent, way better than any 5-star hotels I have been. The smiles were genuine, and the staff were eager to please the guests.

Food is not cheap but is well prepared with the best ingredients possible and therefore worth every cent of it! The fine details set it apart from the rest, from lacing the drinking water with strawberries or lemon to the warm bread and pastries that were served.

We also spent half a day at the spa, the massage was fantastic and the ambience peaceful and relaxing. the room was set with a bathroom that opened to outdoor greenery. The bath tub is also larger than most but was designed with a rest for your back to make it more comfortable.

There are plenty to do at the resort. Every effort was made to made your stay memorable. Morning yoga classes, trekking in the charming local village and cycling in the area, there are plenty to do. Yoga classes are complimentary, twice a day in the open air pavilion on level 2. The yoga teacher is experienced and good (I know, after doing yoga for the last eight years). Trekking in the village is highly recommended, passing by the padi fields, seeing families washing in the river and visiting a traditional Balinese family home are sights that you wouldn't want to miss.

If I were to plan another trip to Bali, this is definitely the place I will stay!

Room Tip: The pool villas cost a bit more but definitely worth every cent of it. You get absolute privacy and the dip pool was just heavenly.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peitoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent 5 nights at this lovely place in feb 2012.
Check in was easy, a misunderstanding between hotels.com and the hotel resulted in us not having a room for 4 but a two persons room with 2 extra beds . However the hotel was most helpfull and compensated us by free spa treatments and an extra night free of charge (after a little friendly barter). This however can in no way ruin a very nice stay.

Buildings and grounds/pool: beautiful setting north of ubud, not in the middle of things but very easy transfer with the free shuttle. Decor is stylish, quiet elegance. Staff is friendly and easy to be with. The spa is very nice too, do treat yourself to a visit. The food is more expansive than in Ubud but is very tasty and well made. Free afternoon tea with cake and /or cookies is a nice touch. Our children ate in the room a few nights, I do not belive that the hotel has a real room service but made the arrangements with not problems at all, as the most natural thing. Our kids loved eating spagetti in front of the tv after a long day of sightseeing and the adults could dine by ourselfs for once :).
Generally the hotel goes a very long way to accomodate you and it is much more than lip service, we had a very nice and genuine stay a can only recommend this hotel as a quiet heaven from where to experience the ubud area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the suites at the upper level has a higher roof and nice balcony over looking the pool
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawlpluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the perfect boutique resort! It is in a peaceful setting just 10 minutes and a free shuttle from Ubud - surrounded by lush jungle, next to the rice fields and adjascent to a charming traditional village. After a hot, busy day in Ubud, you will love escaping here, diving into the cool, peaceful infinity pool and relaxing on your veranda.
The resort is the perfect size (I think about 20 rooms) so large enough for all the ammenities - wifi, room safe, beautiful pool area, room service, spa, restaurant, etc - but small enough to be personal and intimate. It does not feel like a hotel, but more like you are staying at a friend's home.
The buildings have tasteful zen architecture and the grounds beautifully landscaped with water features. Rooms have all the pluses like canopy/netted beds, marble floors and luxurious baths. The resort is brand new - so everything is fresh including the staff. They may be the best part. They are from the village and genuinely happy to see you each day and offer to help you in any way. The resort discourages tipping, so they serve from the heart. (You can leave a tip in an envelope for all the staff to share when you leave if you so desire).
We were impressed with the excellent value including many free services - daily yoga (in a fabulous open air pavillion), excellent quality breakfast (fresh baked goods, eggs, fresh fruit with yogurt or Balinese food) guided village/rice field walks, lessons on making Hindu offerings, afternoon tea, wifi, shuttle and the list goes on.
Our biggest surprise was that such a small resort had an excellent restaurant and spa! We were there 4 nights and ended up eating lunches in Ubud and dinner at the resort every night!!! The quality of the food is the highest and the preparation very creative - everything from seared tuna to black rice pudding. We enjoyed 2 excellent massages - masseuses were kind and skilled and facility very peaceful. The spa room has a wall that is open to the jungle, so one magical day we listened to the sound of the rain on leaves during our massage.
We researced our resort thoroughly and couldn't find any negative comments about Puri Sunia - now we can see why. My traveling companion is returning in April with her sisters. They had reservations at a very expensive resort, but after being a week at Puri Sunia - she is trying to book here instead.

Room Tip: The Suite rooms are one floor up from ground level and are worth it for the privacy of a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allylyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We loved the location which was peaceful and beautiful amidst a village and rice paddies. The first floor open air restaurant had a view of rice paddies and the food was wonderful along with the service. Staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The complimentary activities were terrific- massage, yoga, meditation, village and rice paddies guided tour, etc. The shuttle worked well and ran every hour so was very convenient. Our room was clean and loved the upstairs verandah. We liked the look of the pool villas and will try these next time. Very peaceful with the sound of running water from the fountains. Everyone leaving including ourselves wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms further from the restaurant and upstairs would be best which is what we had but they are all nice. The pool villas looked lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Spent a night there and it was excellent. The staff was helpful, room was clean and romantic with net surrounding the bed. Free 1 hr yoga in the morning and 15 mins foot massage which is a plus!

Breakfast was good. If u like a quiet place, this is the place to stay and the only thing that is not so convinient is the resort location situated off the main Ubud area but the resort provides free transport to the main street. I will definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKBEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews