We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace & Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace & Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it was very nice indeed. The staff were lovely and very polite, breakfast was the best I've had in Bali for 26 years you were given a choice. Afternoon tea everyday with cake, yoga, trekking with Juli. The rooms were very modern and clean. They provided the shuttle every hour into Ubud took about 10 mins, then would pick you up when you were ready. I would definately be going back there just loved it. Thank you Puri Sunia for a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: The are all the same, they also have Villas with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debillqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    186
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
169
571
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was the third time I travelled to Bali and I wondered why I did not stay at Puri Sunia for the last 2 times I was there! The resort was located in a quiet village about 15 minutes from Ubud Centre, but it is just the perfect location I thought! Away from the way too crowded beaches and next to tranquil padi fields, it was the perfect setting for a quiet and blissful holiday.

We stayed in a pool villa with our own heated dip pool and surrounded by lush greenery, we had absolute privacy. Service was excellent, way better than any 5-star hotels I have been. The smiles were genuine, and the staff were eager to please the guests.

Food is not cheap but is well prepared with the best ingredients possible and therefore worth every cent of it! The fine details set it apart from the rest, from lacing the drinking water with strawberries or lemon to the warm bread and pastries that were served.

We also spent half a day at the spa, the massage was fantastic and the ambience peaceful and relaxing. the room was set with a bathroom that opened to outdoor greenery. The bath tub is also larger than most but was designed with a rest for your back to make it more comfortable.

There are plenty to do at the resort. Every effort was made to made your stay memorable. Morning yoga classes, trekking in the charming local village and cycling in the area, there are plenty to do. Yoga classes are complimentary, twice a day in the open air pavilion on level 2. The yoga teacher is experienced and good (I know, after doing yoga for the last eight years). Trekking in the village is highly recommended, passing by the padi fields, seeing families washing in the river and visiting a traditional Balinese family home are sights that you wouldn't want to miss.

If I were to plan another trip to Bali, this is definitely the place I will stay!

Room Tip: The pool villas cost a bit more but definitely worth every cent of it. You get absolute privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peitoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent 5 nights at this lovely place in feb 2012.
Check in was easy, a misunderstanding between hotels.com and the hotel resulted in us not having a room for 4 but a two persons room with 2 extra beds . However the hotel was most helpfull and compensated us by free spa treatments and an extra night free of charge (after a little friendly barter). This however can in no way ruin a very nice stay.

Buildings and grounds/pool: beautiful setting north of ubud, not in the middle of things but very easy transfer with the free shuttle. Decor is stylish, quiet elegance. Staff is friendly and easy to be with. The spa is very nice too, do treat yourself to a visit. The food is more expansive than in Ubud but is very tasty and well made. Free afternoon tea with cake and /or cookies is a nice touch. Our children ate in the room a few nights, I do not belive that the hotel has a real room service but made the arrangements with not problems at all, as the most natural thing. Our kids loved eating spagetti in front of the tv after a long day of sightseeing and the adults could dine by ourselfs for once :).
Generally the hotel goes a very long way to accomodate you and it is much more than lip service, we had a very nice and genuine stay a can only recommend this hotel as a quiet heaven from where to experience the ubud area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the suites at the upper level has a higher roof and nice balcony over loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawlpluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the perfect boutique resort! It is in a peaceful setting just 10 minutes and a free shuttle from Ubud - surrounded by lush jungle, next to the rice fields and adjascent to a charming traditional village. After a hot, busy day in Ubud, you will love escaping here, diving into the cool, peaceful infinity pool and relaxing on your veranda.
The resort is the perfect size (I think about 20 rooms) so large enough for all the ammenities - wifi, room safe, beautiful pool area, room service, spa, restaurant, etc - but small enough to be personal and intimate. It does not feel like a hotel, but more like you are staying at a friend's home.
The buildings have tasteful zen architecture and the grounds beautifully landscaped with water features. Rooms have all the pluses like canopy/netted beds, marble floors and luxurious baths. The resort is brand new - so everything is fresh including the staff. They may be the best part. They are from the village and genuinely happy to see you each day and offer to help you in any way. The resort discourages tipping, so they serve from the heart. (You can leave a tip in an envelope for all the staff to share when you leave if you so desire).
We were impressed with the excellent value including many free services - daily yoga (in a fabulous open air pavillion), excellent quality breakfast (fresh baked goods, eggs, fresh fruit with yogurt or Balinese food) guided village/rice field walks, lessons on making Hindu offerings, afternoon tea, wifi, shuttle and the list goes on.
Our biggest surprise was that such a small resort had an excellent restaurant and spa! We were there 4 nights and ended up eating lunches in Ubud and dinner at the resort every night!!! The quality of the food is the highest and the preparation very creative - everything from seared tuna to black rice pudding. We enjoyed 2 excellent massages - masseuses were kind and skilled and facility very peaceful. The spa room has a wall that is open to the jungle, so one magical day we listened to the sound of the rain on leaves during our massage.
We researced our resort thoroughly and couldn't find any negative comments about Puri Sunia - now we can see why. My traveling companion is returning in April with her sisters. They had reservations at a very expensive resort, but after being a week at Puri Sunia - she is trying to book here instead.

Room Tip: The Suite rooms are one floor up from ground level and are worth it for the privacy of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allylyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We loved the location which was peaceful and beautiful amidst a village and rice paddies. The first floor open air restaurant had a view of rice paddies and the food was wonderful along with the service. Staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The complimentary activities were terrific- massage, yoga, meditation, village and rice paddies guided tour, etc. The shuttle worked well and ran every hour so was very convenient. Our room was clean and loved the upstairs verandah. We liked the look of the pool villas and will try these next time. Very peaceful with the sound of running water from the fountains. Everyone leaving including ourselves wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms further from the restaurant and upstairs would be best which is what we had but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
7.7 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.1 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
5.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
5.7 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
5.1 km away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing