We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but gold, kind and handy staff, good vibes.”
Review of Gerebig Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gerebig Bungalows
Ranked #164 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2016

First of all, i would like to say the (+) of this property, it might bit old (as it was built in 1989) but the owners Wayan & Kadek keep doing the renovation for the building itself and the garden (which is i thought very tropical , calm and beautiful), i was stay at the room 5 which is very quiet. The things that makes me really satisfied are the staff and the aura of this place as i'm doing meditation. The Staff are very kind and very handy, their english might not so good but they understand everything i said and doing the task and order very quick and well. The aura of this place is really peaceful, i meditate every 3 am and i can feel the positive vibes of this place, so peaceful.

Room Tip: This property has several choices of rooms & bungalows for you, the most unique one is the Lumbu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anton8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We were a group of 6 and we had booked 2 family rooms. When we arrived the lady told us she changed one of the rooms to a family house at no extra cost, just because then the rooms were next to each other, which was great. Breakfast was served at one of the two rooms, so we could all have breakfast together. There were almost no other guests (or so it seemed), so it was really quiet and relaxing. The swimming pool was great to cool down. Ubud is a good 30min walk, not too far, often better than being stuck in a traffic jam with a taxi.

The only remark I would have is to look and ask around before booking tours/tickets/taxis through the hotel. We booked the ascent of mount Batur, which was all organised as they said, so having done that, we also bought our ferry tickets to the Gili islands through them and our taxi ride there. Once we arrived in Padang Bai for our ferry and talking to other tourists, it turned out we paid too much for our ferry ticket, plus transport should've been included and we paid separately for that too. The taxi then dropped us off at the ferry office and not our hotel and we had to pay extra to get a taxi to our hotel. We then had to pay to get a taxi to the ferry terminal the next day. Because everything else was so good, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt that there was some miscommunication, but it raised some questions with the group on their sincerity.

Would still recommend the hotel though! Just maybe book tickets through another agent.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Joris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I always stay here when I am in Ubud. Great staff, pool, gardens and breakfast. Quite, chilled and comfortable. Far from the maddening crowd but close to everything, especially the Cantika Spa which is fabulous. Highly recommended. Asked for Balinese breakfast and was culinarily satisfied every day.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank gabgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Although it is located very close to the heart of busy Ubud, this family-run property offers tranquility and peacefulness. Depending on the type of room chosen, you'll have rice fields as the view from your room's terrace. We stayed in one of the family rooms, and it was quite enough for us.

The staff was very nice and helpful. However, the property does need a renovation as most of the rooms are quite worn out.

Room Tip: The access to the property can only be done by foot or bike or motorbike and car parking around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaSyamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

First off I have to say I haven't stayed elsewhere in Ubud, so it's hard to compare prices, but I have traveled extensively in SE Asia and compared to other places I have stayed elsewhere I thought Gerebig was a bit overpriced.

The location is a little outside the main town of Ubud, right opposite the lovely Alchemy cafe. It's a fairly easy 20 min walk in to town, or around 50/60k in a car.
The setting is lovely, pretty gardens of rice paddies, and each bungalow far enough away for it to feel quite private. It's calm and peaceful. The bungalows are also quite spacious. I enjoyed breakfast on our patio each morning - banana pankcake, lovely fruit salad and fresh juice.

The pool area is nice but doesn't get sun late afternoon which is a shame given we were out during the day. It's also quite small, so even though there aren't many guests it can be busy.

The bungalows are old and past their prime however, the one I stayed in could definitely do with being spruced up. It was still fine and comfortable enough, and if you have been around Asia you'll definitely have stayed in much more basic accommodation, but I have paid less for similar, but modernised and semi luxurious places in Thailand for example. Equally I've stayed places like this elsewhere and have absolutely loved their rustic charm, but it has cost less.

Wifi didn't work the first day, but was fine after that. Actually relatively quick. And the fan was ample for sleeping, definitely didn't need AC.

Room Tip: Bungalows overlooking the garden have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mic1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.9 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
3.1 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
2.4 km away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerebig Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerebig Bungalows

Address: c/o Penestanan Kelod | PO Box 212, Ubud 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: €20 - €36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Gerebig Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing