We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time here...”

Swept Away at The Samaya Ubud
Ranked #4 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Executive Chef, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavors will pamper you.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“We had a great time here...”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked this restaurant for our dinner although we did not stay in The Samaya Ubud. We chose the resaturant's signature rijstaffel. Please be informed that the rijstaffel should be reserved at least 1 day before, because the dish need some time to be prepared, especially for the duck.

Positives:
- Gorgeous setting by the river with open air platform.
- Friendly and attentive staff
- When they brought the rijstaffel to our table, the head staff explained to us the ingredients of each dishes and how they were cooked. It was a very good intermezzo before we enjoyed our food and made us more appreciate the value of the food itself.
- Very quiet environment
- Last but definitely not least, the rijstaffel was delicious!!!

Negatives:
- Only a very minor glitch. When we were there around 6pm, there were locals from nearby villages taking bath in the river quite close to the restaurant and we just could not avoid to see them, because it was clearly visible from where we sit. We did not mind the view, although we tried not to look directly at them.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    196
    44
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Went there for lunch, the place was beautiful but not stunning, ordered pork rib, river fish and cocktails, foods were not tasty at all considering the price paid and when came to the dessert it just completed the dissapointment, will not recommend this place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TME77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nicest Duck Lunch in Ubud”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Staying in Ubud for the christmas holiday and after our excursion to the bali safari we decided to have some tea break in Samaya Ubud. Came out the tea break became a late lunch!

The duck was difficult to resist. We ordered it out of curiousity, if it was as nice as the one in The breeze samaya seminyak. And it was truly nicer and we enjoyed it so much. The duck came with the white and yellow rice (turmeric rice). The white rice itself was actually cooked in the coconut milk and it was so tasty. The veggie which came with it was so fresh and we loved the sambal matah as well (traditional Balinese chili sauce)
We also ordered the sandwich with the panini bread. We loved the panini which was freshly made and the manager told us they have their own bakery in the Samaya Ubud and they even delivered all their bread all the way to Samaya Seminyak. However pricewise, this restaurant is not cheap. For 3 main course and 1 child menu, plus drinks we spent around Rp 900,000 (approx US 80)
With the great surrounding and great food, we will come back again, maybe staying in Samaya Ubud this time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rest_relax_jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most beautiful setting I've ever dined in.”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Bit outside Ubud (20 min / $5AU in a cab) but well worth it. Recommend going for lunch to sit by the breathtaking river. Juices are to DIE for. Bit more expensive ($4AU for drinks / $16AU for mains) but worth paying for the idyllic setting. Staff couldn't have done more for us and even gave us a tour of a villa before we left at my request.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
236 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“We are coming back next week”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I visited this restaurant for the first time in July. The setting of the restaurant is absolutely stunning. They drive you from the reception to the restaurant in small electric golf carts.
Food was excellent, service very nice and friendly. We were swept away at swept away. We really loved it.
We go back to Bali for the Christmas holidays and I already made a reservation to go back.
Tip: it is the perfect place for a very romantic dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Swept Away at The Samaya Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing