We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved our third stay at Villa Puri Ayu. Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved our third stay at Villa Puri Ayu. Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family of 3 returned for our third stay at Villa Puri Ayu for a week beginning 20 Dec 11, staying in a 2 bedroom Emerald Suite (1st stay was in 1BR Garden apartment & 2nd also in 2BR Emerald).

The Suite is spacious, clean and comfortable and is great value for money IMO. It beats 2 adjoining rooms or a family room hands down! The location just near the pool is great, I could keep an eye on my 5yo from the little paved terrace outside our front door.

I like how the management/owner of this place is always making little improvements - we notice something new each time we return. First it was the area near the trampoline & seesaw being paved & some seating & umbrellas placed there. The last time we stayed in the Emerald suite the little outdoor area with table & chairs was not paved & got a little muddy - this time it has been paved. The lane leading to the hotel has also been improved & is now bitumenised (but still gets a little flooding after rain - no big deal, you can walk around it).

The hotel is in a nice location at the Southern end of Sanur, an easy walk to the beach, restaurants & shops.

Loved it & hoping to return for next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephsjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    156
    48
    19
    12
See reviews for
81
134
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel six times over the last several years. Suffice to say that it must be good if we keep going back. Whats makes this hotel really good is the staff who we have got to know really well, and consider them as our "family". Having said that , we were disappointed on our last visit to find that the level of maintenance has slipped, to the extent that our room had a panel on the ceiling with a hole, which had appeared to have been there for some time and our airconditioner iced up ( because of lack of maintenance) and caused water to spill on the floor , and unfortunately my wife slipped and injured herself. Despite some attempts at improvement and maintenbance elsewhere in the hotel, it is not enough and it has to be increased, particularly cosmetically . We are loathe to critisise this hotel, because of our wonderful past experiences and our love of the friendly and helpful staff, so this review is a request for the owners to take a good look and get moving on needed maintenance and renewal all around, and give their wonderful staff the tools and means to provide a great experience, as the value for money is still there, but continued neglect and oversight wil be to the detriment of this hotel in the future.Will we go back again? Probably. Viila Puri Ayu is a wonderful concept, and being smaller, it enhances the Bali experience, and it would be a shame to lose this because the owners and management continue to "rest on their laurels".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ketut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a lovely hidden paradise! Lovely clean room with comfortable big bed. The bathroom had recently been updated and was kept spotless by the friendly staff. The breakfast was always delicious, but a little more variety would be nice. A short walk to a nice beach and there was a sea breeze nearly every day. All the staff members were always friendly. Bliss

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nannon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Whilst the 'Grand Avenue' (rocky dirt filled lane) leading 70m from the road to the entrance did not fill us with much hope, once you get in the gate the Puri Ayu has two nice pools, nice eating area and staff, like most Balinese, could not have been friendly or more helpful. The 'Grand Avenue' continues another 70m to the beachfront where Puri Ayu has sun lounges on the beach for free use of it's guests. My wife spent many a day dozing with the Ibu's underneath hibiscus trees looking out over the beach.
We stayed in a garden villa for our stay which had a kitchen (why??), an outside bathroom and a small private courtyard with a bale for power naps in the afternoon. We then moved into one of the older single rooms adjacent to the entrance for the final day of our stay so we had somewhere to shower etc before the 10pm flight. The older rooms were a bit dark and dingy and the bathroom led straight off the sleeping area with no door. If you have a dodgy ayam curry some separation of the sleeping and bathroom areas is a definite advantage so I would avoid those rooms. All in all a great place to stay for the price and we spoke to people who had stayed at the giant resort next door and had now found Puri Ayu provided a much more personal stay.

Room Tip: For a liitle extra go for the rooms with the courtyards (401,402,403)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smiths2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

First of all, if you can, avoid Sanur area. It is dead and depressing. You'd be better staying in Semiyak. Having said that this is a charming compound hotel from the outside but it has a real problem. The rooms look really pretty but the dried grass roof is like no roof at all. Planes are passing over your head day and night and it is very loud, lots of differnt animal noises, some are inside the room... We complained about the noise and they moved us to a Villa accomodating 6 and that had a flat bedroom roof and it was so much better. The Villa was beautifull, with outdoor jacuzzi, garden and living room area.
So, my advice is to get a standard room with a flat roof (the ones downstairs) or get youself a nice Villa. The pool is very nice and it has good internet connection. Also it is close to the beach, althoug they advertise it as a private beach hotel and it is a small hard sun deck beds with plenty of touts around you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuriaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 km away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#35 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#51 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#47 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.4 km away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.8 km away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing