We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ive ever been to”
Review of Simpang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simpang Inn
Ranked #190 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 20 March 2011

this place is terrible. i arrived late from airport, wanted to book 1st place. i got to this hotel, price was USD $40. room was so-so. i booked. the man told me they will charge me 400,000 rupias. i said how 400,000 is 40*9000 is 360,000? he said "oh my boss said we will exchange 10,000:1 and not 9,000:1". i told him this is not right but he insisted. the charge on my card is exactly $46.91, that means he cheated me for over 10%. room is terrible, sheets dirty, all marked with cigarettes, dirty, smelly, room full of mosquitos, you can never kill them all. at the middle of night some guests started singing, yelling, etc (2 AM) and no one cares. internet is not free in fact they charge 1000 rp per minute that means USD $7 per hour! WOW, crazy. breakfast is worst breakfast ive ever seen. its just 3 smelly local dishes all finished at 9.00 although breakfast is until 9.30. i just turned around and checked out. staff (man) is rude. avoid this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanditank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

The hotel is ok for the money however I found a much nicer cleaner generally 100% better hotel for the same price!
I hated it's location, despite it being tucked away , when you left the hotel you were immeadietly in the firing line of the "transport , transport - women , women " shouts of the hawkers who certainly in my opinion really begin to ruin your time in Bali!
It's near plenty however you can be anywhere in Kura and be a reasonably short walk from the main streets. the rooms are ok but a bit dark and the first bathroom was leaking in every bit. nothing major however you wouldn't let your shorts hit the floor when using the toilet as they'd be soaked. We didn't mention the bathroom to staff as we just assumed this is the quality to expect for the money. I took a seperate double room once my friend left to go home which was better however still no where near as good as another hotel on Poppies gang II I stayed at for a few nights for the same price! there's a tv in the room but the channels are local and a very bad signal as well. The other thing I found irritating was on a
number of occasions I asked for the wifi code from a number of the hotel staff, none of them apparently had it and only "the boss" had it who never seemed to be in. At the same time , they were still more than happy for you to use the highly overpriced Internet terminal in the hotel!
fyi - There is a much cheaper & faster Internet Cafe across the road..
overall the hotel is ok however I suggest you have a good look around before deciding to stick on this one !

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stezzle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Arrived in Bali late at night and booked into this hotel for one night. I wanted to leave as soon as I saw the room - I couldn't believe this place existed. It's more like one star accommodation. The room and bathroom is old and disgusting and the towel provided was old and ratty, not even sure if it was clean. Would not recommend anyone stay here...way overpriced! Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenTravellerKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have to say , we had a 'special tariff' on this one, not, this hotel was way too overpriced ! We stayed here for 2 nights and both evenings/nights the electricity went off and on. They wanted to give us another room, a little old rubbish room, and we asked them if they were 'crazy' comparing with our current room (newer) , we wanted to get a discount because of all the trouble but unfortunately they didn't. Those people don't understand how to be polite and run a hotel with which you can make come guests return.... if they had given us any compensations we would've writen a nice review.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Bali is known for its wonderful hospitality and friendly people. We went in a very high season (Christmas holidays) and as other places were already fully booked, we settled with a superior room at this hotel. Considering the price (USD 150 per night), we expected quality and service. Sadly there was lack of both. Our airconditioning did not work and when we reported this to the reception, they sent in different people who knew absolutely nothing about airconditionings (first the bell boy, then the security guard, then a waiter) and kept playing with the remote control. After two tiring hours and nothing fixed, we told the reception that we would like to change rooms. They were being very difficult about it and said that they were fully booked. They did not have any other vacant superior room and as such we were downgraded to another room. When I enquired for a possible reimbursement of my money, again they were being difficult and said that we needed to talk to the manager who had left already. The next morning we spoke to the manager who basically refused to return any money and moved us to another superior room, where the aircon did work but where water pressure was very low. I was enraged but there was nothing that we could do.

Breakfast came with the room but was again very basic and little. The whole place is totally overpriced and it's not worth the money you're paying for.

All in all, very bad impression. No friendlines, no apologies for making us paying customers wait for 2 hours (not even a complimentary drink or something for compensation), no extra service. We left the hotel one day earlier than planned and went to stay at another hotel called Puri Wisata Bungalows, which offered lower prices and so much better service.

I would never ever go back to Simpang Inn again and I would recommend other travellers to seek elsewhere. Kuta has plenty of other options. Being an Indonesian myself, I was disillusioned by this experience. These people need to get some hospitality courses.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 km away
Restu Bali Hotel
Restu Bali Hotel
#161 of 251 in Kuta
101 reviews
1.5 km away
Bali Caps Hostel
Bali Caps Hostel
#97 of 251 in Kuta
40 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mahendra
Hotel Mahendra
#195 of 251 in Kuta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#105 of 251 in Kuta
94 reviews
0.2 km away
Suka Beach Inn
Suka Beach Inn
#209 of 251 in Kuta
134 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Asoka City Home
Hotel Asoka City Home
#164 of 251 in Kuta
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpang Inn

Address: Jalan Legian . 133, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: €10 - €12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simpang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Simpang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpang Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing