We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the Best Seafood we've ever had”

Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran
Ranked #16 of 323 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$100
Cuisines: Indonesian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dining on the beach! Scenic view, delicious food, and romantic sunsets at this beachfront restaurant at the northern section of Jimbaran Bay. Have a seat on the shady sea terrace or at a private beach table over-viewing Jimbaran Bay and the picturesque fishing boats. Enjoy fresh seafood or non-seafood such as Bali duck, chicken, beef, or vegetarian. Daily Balinese dance between 7 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We were blown away by how delicious and fresh the food was and the service was first class. We ordered the platter with a little bit of everything. Lobster, Prawns, Calamari, Crab, Oysters. Just incredible and so delicious. If you're in Jimbaran you have to go!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

The seafood basket with lobster was so excellent!! They gave us free sambal and lalapan. This is a very great place for seafood lovers.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Aditya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

From sitting next to the sea to eating some of the freshest seafood (I have ever tried) Bawang Merah gives an experience I would remember for a life time . Any great foodie will be in paradise here and it’s a fun place to pop a drinks with your friends . I highly recommend this place to visit and eat from when you are here in Bali.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ashwinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Pre-booked a table for 11 adults and 2 kids for sunset.

Bawang Merah / (Jimbaran Bay Beachfront) restaurant is nicely tucked away in a quiet area at the end of the beach, away from the more touristy restaurants.

- I would recommend arriving directly by car as Jimbaran is a long beach with lots of busy, noisy restaurants, not all of them are clearly identified and Google Maps wasn't quite right
- I would also be recommend being careful as drivers get commission for taking you to some Jimbaran restaurants - we hired a driver who tried to take us to his own choice of restaurant and was very angry when we said we wanted to go to the restaurant we booked at. It's better to get s bluebird taxi there and ask the restaurant to book you one on the way back.

It was a fantastic place to be on the beach to enjoy sunset.

We were only given the set menus and were only told about the a la carte menu when we wanted to order something that the kids would like.

We ordered the seafood basket without lobster for IDR 350.000.
The clear fish soup with carrot, potato & vegetables was ok.
The seafood basket was also ok but the show-stopper was the amazing grilled snapper. This was tender and cooked beautifully on a grill with a nice smoky flavour.

For dessert, we were unfortunately not given the choice of mixed fruit platter or Bubur Injin (black rice pudding). They brought tiny plates of sliced fruit but most of us were looking forward to ordering the Bubur Injin.

There was a traditional Balinese dancer who performed a few times throughout the evening which was good to see.

Staff were friendly and helped ordered taxis for us however, in general the service was quite slow and it was extremely difficult most of the time to get the attention of any waiter. Whenever we eventually ordered beer they would bring it after all the other juices were made which we did not think was necessary. In the end we realised it was easier to go up ourselves to the kitchen / desk and order, then take the beers there. We decided to go to the desk to pay at the end as well as it was far easier and faster.

On the whole though, although the prices were reasonable, the food was quite average except for the snapper and the service was quite slow. The other thing that put us off were there were people setting off fireworks on the beach in front of us and we felt exposed, although the restaurant are unlikely to have control over this.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tai_Figter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Found this place online with good reviews hence went to give it a try with my wife. Managed to have our dinner while enjoying the sunset. Food was extremely delicious and fresh. Highly recommended for couples. Except there is some loud music playing from the beach club beside. Other than that, it’s perfectly fine.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mcflick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran also viewed

 
Jimbaran, South Kuta
Jimbaran, South Kuta
 

Been to Bawang Merah Beachfront Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing