We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colourful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Denpasar
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Colourful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

BAM! The bright colours hit you in the face when you come in... good first impression, after some boring grey hotels we´ve seen before. The hotel is huge, but luckily the young staff know how to give a personal touch. They seem like a big group of friends, hanging out during and after work and having a lot of fun... some people might find it hard to intrude this group of youngsters to ask a question or ask for a service, but I actually liked the atmosphere they created. Mind that not all of them speak English, so ask before haha.

The rooms were clean, and looked funny. The beds were soft and there was a nice flatscreen TV. The only thing I missed was a fridge and some place to put your suitcase... now I had to put it in a very awkward place, so I literally had to climb over it to get to the other side of the room. I liked the interior of the whole building.

One thing I really didn´t like: there's no laundry service at all! Very strange for such a big hotel. Also no place to do it yourself. Staff was mentioning a laundry service in the street, but that didn't exist any more, we searched for it 45 minutes in the heat and then gave up. As we are travelling for 9 months now, we need to do our laundry every week, and this is the first hotel without facilities. I did some hand washing in the sink, but the room is too small too let it dry... so I put it in the corridor for 1 night, and it was removed and given back to me in a plastic bac, all wet and smelling.
The breakfast was also too much for us... as an European I'm not used to eating more than cornflakes or toast in the morning, so rice with chicken and sambal is way too heavy! On the one hand, it's good to experience some local "tradition" that way, but on the other hand, an alternative would be nice.

Nevertheless, if you want to stay in Denpasar, I think this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
It is always good to know our guest comments and inputs which will encourage us to improve our hotel essential facilities and services.
We are working to have outsourced laundry counter in the hotel now, hopefully it can be available soon, so our guest would not have a problem to do their laundry during their stay in POP! Hotel.
Free complimentary Quick bite is served every morning as part of the promotion of local balinese breakfast, so our guest can have an experience to try it.
Thank you very much for your input at this point, we will note and consider our guest that is not used to have heavy morning food as we served now. Hopefully we can give some other options for our guest out of this balinese rice in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Your comments always be an important thing for us in order to reach the maximum level of our guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcome you again in POP! Hotel.

Best regards,

Irene Janti
Director of operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    99
    85
    18
    12
See reviews for
33
69
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed there for a night during my business trip, and found this hotel for a value for money...
Room is clean and spacious, Bathroom a little bit awkward but clean.
Better give toast and jam for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdwardPrasetya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is always great to know and understand our guest comments regarding the hotel's concept, facility and service.
POP! Hotel is built to give good night's sleep to our guest with a good value of money in price, and always try to put high standard of cleanliness in all hotel area.
The free quick bite is served from 07.00 - 09.30 AM with the concept to promote the traditional local breakfast with green packaging. Nasi jinggo is one of the famous rice in bali.

Once again, thank you for your comments, we will always try to improve our facility and service in order to give best staying experience to our guest.

Looking forward to welcome you soon in Bali.

Best regards,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Cheerful staff - spotless, new-looking room - funkadelic venue and music playing in the corridors.
This hotel is very fun and a great price - at £10 a night we were staying in an excellent standard of accommodation - it is the sort of hotel room that you are so relieved by when you open the door - a big bed, nice and cleeeeeean and flatscreen tv, dressing mirror and succinct bathroom.

For us Denpasar was a bit of a let down - it is a very busy place indeed so what to say about the location? I suppose it depends what you are here for. I would say it works best as a luxury stopover before/after a flight.

Oh and did i mention the free internet?! Genius!

Book it now!

M

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reviewer101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasant to hear you have a good stay experience in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar.

Our hotel is located in the heart of Denpasar area, which is part of the center of business area. This area is famous as one of the best culinary tourism area, where you can find a lot of choices of food along the road with good value in price.
So if you came back, maybe you can try to spend your time a little bit to explore teuku umar area and get some local food around.

Once again, Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to welcome you again in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar.

Best regards,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Hotel is large and colourful with 3 floors and lots of rooms. Check-in was straight-forward but no one showed me to my room. Room itself was small, but clean and functional. There wasn't really a bathroom, more like a shower pod with a toilet and shower; it was like an airport toilet really. I didn't really mind it because it was clean. Had flatscreen TV, air conditioning and free WiFi, which was fast and worked first time with no problems. Only downside was breakfast (they call it a quick bite) which had only one option that involved meat. I am vegetarian so I had to go out and buy my own breakfast. Staff were friendly and polite. For the price, it was good value and was perfect for a one night stop-over stay. The location wouldn't be great for a holiday because it is on a busy main road with very little on it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whale_shark_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing POP! Hotel Teuku Umar for your stay and sharing us your opinion. Our hotel is designed to give comfort accommodation for our guest with high cleanliness standard, completed with main essential facilities with wifi, local/international TV channel, AC, and others.

The free quick bite is provided with the concept to promo Balinese local traditional food. Thank you for your comments at this point, we will note and try to find best solution for our vegetarian guest.

One again, thank you very much for your comments. Looking forward to welcome you again in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.

Best regards,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

IT's not bad hotel. It is really not considering the price. The bed is good, the tv is modern, the wifi is perfect so for business traveller it's adequate. A place where you don't question a lot about who's sleeping there before you. It has lots of vibrant color and like it except for the color of their bathroom or bathpod. The grey color itself is quite acceptable but not the color of lighting. Bright white! Made you thinking of dentist room. And in general there's no service. If there's one or two...then you don't feel the people are well-trained. The management need to watch for this element of minimalist service doesn't mean have to be equal not profesional and eficient.

Strategically located. Nearby food stall and good restorant. So yeah if I am in Denpasar for one or two nights business trip, I will use it again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasant for us to hear that you enjoy your stay in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar.

We really appreciate for your constructive comments to improve our facility & service for our valued guest.
We understand that training development is one of important point to be implement consistently to get professionalism and efficiency among our staff. We will follow up accordingly.

Once again, thank you for your comment.
Looking forward to welcome you again at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar.

Best regards,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denpasar hotels
3.9 km away
POP! Hotel Denpasar
POP! Hotel Denpasar
#85 of 137 in Denpasar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Bali Denpasar
Ibis Styles Bali Denpasar
#47 of 137 in Denpasar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 km away
Amaris Hotel Teuku Umar
Amaris Hotel Teuku Umar
#113 of 137 in Denpasar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Life Style Express
Life Style Express
#110 of 137 in Denpasar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.9 km away
HARRIS Hotel Denpasar
HARRIS Hotel Denpasar
#76 of 137 in Denpasar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 km away
Cozy Stay Simpang Enam
Cozy Stay Simpang Enam
#73 of 137 in Denpasar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar

Property: POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar
Address: Jln. Teuku Umar No 74, Denpasar 80113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Denpasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the city of Denpasar, POP! Harris Hotel Denpasar Teuku Umar offers eco-friendly and convenient accommodation both for business and leisure. All POP! Rooms include comfy bed, innovative shower pod, free Wifi Internet access, LCD TV + Cable TV and complimentary bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing