We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food experience”

Magnolia Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 99 Restaurants in Mussoorie
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Description: The Magnolia Restaurant is part of Kasmanda Palace Hotel which is one of the oldest building and property in town with a very intereting history. Built in 1836. The Magnolia Restauarnt was named after the favourite flower of Late Rajmata Vidyawati Devi of Kasmanda. Who was the current owners great grand mother. She was an avid gardener and in the 1917 she set about landscaping the large grounds of the Kasmanda Palace. In the early 1920s she planted the beautiful Magnolia trees all around the garden. From the 1930s to 1960s she took a prominent part in organizing the Annual Flower Shows held at Mussoorie and would invariably be the top three winners. Some of the trophies awarded to her can still be seen in the Belvedere Lounge in the Hotel. Why dine in just any restauarant when you can dine in the lap of nature in the center of town indoor or outdoor. In our outdoor options you have various levels to sit and dine in complete privacy.
Restaurant details
Description: The Magnolia Restaurant is part of Kasmanda Palace Hotel which is one of the oldest building and property in town with a very intereting history. Built in 1836. The Magnolia Restauarnt was named after the favourite flower of Late Rajmata Vidyawati Devi of Kasmanda. Who was the current owners great grand mother. She was an avid gardener and in the 1917 she set about landscaping the large grounds of the Kasmanda Palace. In the early 1920s she planted the beautiful Magnolia trees all around the garden. From the 1930s to 1960s she took a prominent part in organizing the Annual Flower Shows held at Mussoorie and would invariably be the top three winners. Some of the trophies awarded to her can still be seen in the Belvedere Lounge in the Hotel. Why dine in just any restauarant when you can dine in the lap of nature in the center of town indoor or outdoor. In our outdoor options you have various levels to sit and dine in complete privacy.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This is a lovely restaurant in Kasmanda Palace at the Mall in Mussoorie.

The heritage property is awesome and the decor & ambience within the restaurant was fantastic. Food served for good and the service efficient.

Not to be missed when visiting the hill station

Thank kapurash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasmanda1, Owner at Magnolia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your review and thank you for dining with us and appreciating our F&B, service and property.

We hope on your next trip to Mussoorie you would stay with us and we can assure you you will not be disappointed.

We thank you for your patronage to the Magnolia Restaurant at Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the word about this hidden oasis in the center of town.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

This is a lovely restaurant at the heritage Kasmanda Palace.

While its situated on the Mall, there's a steep climb uphill to reach this place. The palace, which was once a hunting lodge, is decorated with old Persian carpets and stuffed animal shikars if he bygone era.

Food was good and all,of us liked the experience

Thank nitsj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasmanda1, Owner at Magnolia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your review and thank you for dining with us and appreciating our F&B, service and property.

We hope on your next trip to Mussoorie you would stay with us and we can assure you you will not be disappointed.

We thank you for your patronage to the Magnolia Restaurant at Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the word about this hidden oasis in the center of town.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

My family visited the restaurant in June during which Mussoorie tends to be very crowded. The Kasmanda Palace is located on the busy mall road buut there is a steep road leading to the palace, so in 5 mins you are elevated to a quiet and beautiful place. The English garden is lovely and one could spend the whole day reading a book and gazing at the valley. The meals are good and serving size generous, it is actually very good value and quality. My little boy was so excited to visit and dine in a palace. He was amazed to see the stuffed panther and leopard. The view from their garden restaurant is awesome and lovely to watch the sunset. By Delhi standards, this restaurant was very reasonable and the quality was excellent. Don't miss this place, if you want to sneak from the hustle bustle of the mall, for some quiet and beautiful scenery.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sdeepika98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasmanda1, Owner at Magnolia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your review and thank you for dining with us and appreciating our F&B, service and property.

We hope on your next trip to Mussoorie you would stay with us and we can assure you you will not be disappointed.

We thank you for your patronage to the Magnolia Restaurant at Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the word about this hidden oasis in the center of town.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Magnolia Restaurant is in Kasmanda Palace which is a heritage hotel. It is on the Mall Road though one has to negotiate a steep climb to reach the hidden jewel. One can, however, take service of their complimentary car to reach the place.

After going through positive reviews at Trip Advisor, we wanted to have lunch at Mangolia. We got late at Company Garden. By the time we reached the place, lunch time was gone. However, the restaurant was gracious enough to offer us the lunch.

We ordered Rajasthani Laal Maans and Bhuna Murg. I must say that this was the best meal I had during our four days of stay at Mussorie. It was a pity that we explored this place on the last day of our stay at Mussorie else we would have loved to return to this place for more!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rx2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasmanda1, Owner at Magnolia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your review and thank you for dining with us and appreciating our F&B, service and property.

We hope on your next trip to Mussoorie you would stay with us and we can assure you you will not be disappointed.

We thank you for your patronage to the Magnolia Restaurant at Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the word about this hidden oasis in the center of town.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

The Kasmanda Palace is a boutique hotel, an ex - maharaja's hunting lodge converted into a hotel. The rooms carry one to a bygone era, what with the trophies of shikar on the walls, and old persian carpets on the floor. A lot of wooden panelling and flooring give the place a coziness that is ideal for a couple looking for a warm getaway. The only negative is the steep incline to reach the hotel. We had a hotel car deliver us to the Mall after our hearty meal.

Thank Ashok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasmanda1, Owner at Magnolia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us and appreciating our F&B, service and property.

Yes our property is on top of a hill and hence we have a courtesy car service to bring and take guests to and fro from the Mall Road. We hope on your next trip to Mussoorie you would stay with us and we can assure you you will not be disappointed.

We thank you for your patronage to the Magnolia Restaurant at Kasmanda Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Please do spread the word about this hidden oasis in the center of town.

Warm Regards,

Dinkar Singh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia Restaurant also viewed

Mussoorie, Dehradun District
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
 
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
 
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
Mussoorie, Dehradun District
 

Been to Magnolia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing