We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Visited this place few days ago. had booked this property after going through the reviews of other travelers. Hotel was at some distance from the mall road though hotel had cab service for pik and drop from mall road. But that was restricted till 9 pm. after 9, we were forced to stay at hotel as there was no other option left. Hotel had no bar license. room were big and spacious but bed wasn't that comfortable. we were given room with Balcony ( delux ) on 4th floor and view from there was good. Buffet breakfast was also sufficient and good. Staff was friendly.

Few things which were missing are, there was no room freshner kept and because of which there was some unfreshness in the room and toilet. Though there was TV but receptionist had no idea about the program and channels. one fine morning we were disturbed by some room service chap for the some drinking water which we had never ordered.

Shower cap was missing on day 2.

water mixer was not functioning properly. Either it was giving very hot or very cold water. Quality of the towels were also not that great.

overall, it was ok experience to visit this place. Next time will try for other properties like Fortune.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhasu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We thank you for your review and shall surely take up the issues to fine tune our operations. Since the barrier to the mall road opens up at 10 Pm and private vehicles can ply on the mall, the Complimentry pick & drop facility to the Mall is restricted upto 9 PM only.
We value your comments and look forwards to your continued patronage.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    223
    86
    26
    20
See reviews for
324
141
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

when i read the reviews before going to this Hotel i wasn't very sure about the place but still booked the same and to be honest this was one of the best Hotels i have been to in Mussoorie and i have been to a lot of hotels in Mussoorie as this was my 25th visit to the hill town

the location is very close to the library chowk - just one KM up the hill on the kempty road from gandhi chowk and the Hotel provides free shuttle service to and fro from this chowk(crossing).

the rooms were very neat and clean and the standards of a 4 star Carlson property were maintained the hotel- lobby and Restaurant too were very neat and beautiful. the staff was very helpful

the breakfast buffet was nice and we even got in -room food for breakfast and dinner which was delicious -although the quantity for the main course for dinner was less and not value for money

beds were soft and the sleep quality was awesome

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors have a excellent view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAlong1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The trip was a weekend getaway and we were primarily looking for a relaxing break with a comfortable accommodation. Price was of importance and going against the couple of bad reviews for this property here, i gave it a chance as those were prior to the hotel being taken over by Carlson Group.

The deal included a deluxe balcony room with breakfast and the communication with the hotel rep over the email was fast and efficient.

Once booked, we drove to the place. I had categorically asked for Parking space and was told they have space for 30 cars. On reaching the access road was blocked. That was when i called up the hotel and was guided to an alternative route to access the hotel. The hotel sent its bell boy out so that i dont miss the entrance. (And the bell boy was actually on the lookout for us)

The hotel itself was neat, clean and comfortable. Being slightly away from the main mall road ,it offered the peace that i was looking for.

All my interaction with the staff was very good as they were extremely polite. Right from the front office staff to housekeeping, restaurant etc. I have not experienced such a positive and courteous behavior ever.

They were quick to respond to requests and even went out of the way to get a medicine which i needed and they did not have in the hotel from the market.

The restaurant food was also very good with panoramic views of the nearby hills.

It would be better if they offered a choice for the mattresses as the ones in the room were extra soft and did not suit my back. Also the free internet never worked and no one resolved the issue. Considering that i was on vacation, it was not that important so i did not pursue it further as well.

All in all, a hotel which can surely be considered if you are planning to visit mussoorie and want to relax.

Room Tip: Beware of Monkeys. They are all over the city. A balcony room would be good if you would like to gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kshitij_sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This hotel is located in Mussoorie and not in Dehradun. Dehradun is the big town at the foothills of Mussoorie- a beautiful hill station. This property is located at a great height, and presents a good view of the distant hills. It was undergoing intensive renovation when we visited. The main Chef was on leave. The staff strained to serve our conference- business meeting of 40 persons as we were good income in this off season. But food was too spicy. Rooms were quite large. Conference hall too big to keep us warm. No generator when there was power cut of half an hour.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This hotel is in Mussoorie- a nice hill station 29 km from Dehradun (it is wrongly listed in Dehradun) The hotel is at a steep height-so for those lovers of staying at high altitude, its a bonus. But you must have proper conveyance for convenience. If you like to stay near market, and don't have conveyance, this property is not meant for you.
The hotel is being renovated, and we were told that the property is being converted in to Country Inn chain w.e.f. 1st April. Since we went during off season, the service was not proper. Even the chief cook was on leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayv1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 km away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
570 reviews
2.6 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
3.6 km away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
136 reviews
0.5 km away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#14 of 74 in Mussoorie
426 reviews
1.6 km away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Address: Convent Road | Near Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Mussoorie from Hotels's prime location for a unforgettable adventure in the heart of the stunning southern Himalaya Range. Perfectly suited for couples, solo travellers and family alike, each of 50 warmly decorated rooms and suites at the Country Inn $ Suites hotel in Mussoorie provides all the comfort of home along with impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing