We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best in Musoorie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amber - Vermont Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amber - Vermont Estate
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best in Musoorie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

When we planned to visit musoories for 2 nights we just checked the reviews in tripadvisor site and without a second thought booked this hotel. We never had any idea about the location as it was our first visit to musoorie, we always do many research about the hotel or location before getting zeroed in for any hotel. But this time we had not spent that much time and just had booked this resort based on the review. The moment we enterred the room and saw the view we felt that we took the right decision.The valley view is just gorgeous from the room. The hotel staff are very very professional. Anytime you need anything they are just there to help you. The best thing I liked was the electric heating in the bed as it really saved us from that zero degree chilled weather.I never had a thought that we may get this option as well in a small boutique hotel.The food is good specially the omlette in the breakfast.They also have the facility to pick and drop you at the mall road which is really great. The location of the resort is so good you do not feel like going to any other place in musoorie to get the valley view. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to go to musoorie and enjoy the luxury that the resort provides.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the main building just above the reception in 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankitsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    73
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
165
112
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Thank you Mr. Saluja and team....for making it a very pleasant and memorable stay. The approach made us wonder whether we had made the right choice but once we reached, we were pleasantly surprised. The ambience, the serenity and above all, the very friendly staff makes us want to return. The rooms are beautifully done up and every little care has been taken care of. Surprisingly the food was better than expected, in fact it was very good. Looking forward to another vacation here....a bit longer, we hope.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BhupinderC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

The hotel is aesthetically furnished and rooms have been done up with great taste. Service is great and attention to details is immense... my wife loved the electric blanket. The food is also great, too bad they don't have a liquor license yet. The only problem though is that the otel doesn't get Sun for a long time ..but thats really overshadowed by the warm atmosphere. They provide a shuttle service to town which makes it an ideal place to stay ... its like staying in the village calm and enjoying all the facilities of the city...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paritosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This hotel was beautiful. The view of the valley from my room and from the restaurant was stunning. On my last day I could see the snow capped Himalayas. The staff was utterly fantastic. I have never had service like that in my life. I felt like I had paid much more for the stay. They also recommended several nice hikes from the hotel and fixed my a sandwich for the road. The hotel is of course outside of the busy mall road, and a bit far for walking but they do have a free shuttle service so it was not a problem. In fact, the peace and quiet from being outside the main area is what made it so special. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrissysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

The general impression: Before deciding for a hotel in Mussoorie, we looked at several hotels in the higher category. This one is by far the most charming one. It is not a tasteless hotel chain and even though it is luxury, you never have that artificial "posh" feeling, it is almost like home. Great value for the money!
I love the way, the focus is on the details of the hotel, the style and the decoration of the room. It is a nice harmony and done in a very tasteful way. You can really feel the genuine colonial style. The outside is not overwhelming, but the rooms and other facilities are great!
The location: for travelers who are looking for a quiet place off the crowd of the mall road. This hotel unfortunately never catches direct sun, but the stunning view makes up for that. Nice walking ways nearby. It can get a bit chilly in winters. The hotel is a bit hard to find, there are not many boards and you need ideally a car.
The staff: Excellent. Very friendly, genuine, not too pushy, very attentive and professional.
The food: yummie! I am not a big fan of Paranthas usually, but go for those. Also non-Indian is very delicious. Reasonable prices and very good portion sizes.
The room: definitely opt for a room in the 1st floor, otherwise you might not be able to enjoy the view on the snow covered mountains. They only have 1 category, so make sure you ask for the valley- view. We had a balcony and a huge window, so you can see the mountains from the bed. It is really nice, because you have privacy, nobody can see into the room from outside. My favorite: the bed has a heated blanket, which is amazing in winter. The bathroom samples are from “Biotique”, a very high quality brand, all natural and Indian. This all shows, how much focus is on the details in this hotel.

All in all: book in advance, make sure you get valley view - and enjoy!

Room Tip: opt for the ones in 1st floor, number 302 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reise_christiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.3 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 km away
Fortune The Savoy
Fortune The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#10 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.1 km away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amber - Vermont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - Vermont Estate

Property: The Amber - Vermont Estate
Address: Hathi Paon Road, | Near Company Bagh, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — The Amber - Vermont Estate 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber Vermont Estate is a boutique retreat in the Himalayas. Vermont Estate was originally built in the latter half of the 19th century by a Britisher and is one of the oldest estates in the Himalayan town of Mussoorie. It has been refurbished to retain the atmosphere of a traditional English cottage with the addition of modern amenities. The property is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Mussoorie. The location, and the mix of modern comfort, old English charm and personalized service make The Amber Vermont Estate a treasure in Mussoorie. In the early 1800's, Vermont Estate was part of a grand estate called Logie Estate owned by the well-known Dr. Hugh Falconer. Dr. Falconer was a Scottish geologist, botanist, and paleontologist. He was the first to discover the remains of fossil mammals in the Siwalik Hills of India. In 1832, Falconer became the Superintendent of the Saharanpur Botanical Gardens, one of the oldest existing gardens in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Amber - Vermont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing