We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Temple on Ganges(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Ganesha(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$15
US$13
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ali Baba Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$20
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$17
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aanvi palace(Varanasi)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
54
56
18
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
56
18
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantassi ghatnice and spacious roomscolorful birdsgreen gardennice hotel with friendly staffwalking distanceper devicehotel teammodern hotelfree wifiexcellent locationexecutive roomplus pointtakes placewonderful hotelyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. All staff are very friendly, helpful and with smiling face. The rooftop restaurant with beautiful panoramic view of the Ganges river. Food is delicious. Room and front desk decoration is good. I love this hotel very much. It is just like my another home ❤️

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Chiayee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Rooms and bathroom are clean, rooftop restaurants offers a nice view and good food.
When you want to be close to the Ganges but prefers a more tranquil neighbourhood. I loved my room at the end of the hallway, looking out on a dairy farm ‘Indian way’. And Open Hand, a really nice coffee place is just around the corner.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SuiteJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Manager at Hotel Banaras Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Respected Guest,
Thanks for your precious time on tripadvisor.com and appreciating our hospitality.
We always try to make our guests feel at home.we have a vegan restaurant.we always serve fresh and delicious food to our guest.
We are ready to serve you upon your next arrival to Varanasi.
Regards
shyam sundar pandey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Only a five minute walk from Assi Ghat makes this an ideal location in the city. I was there for a week and as simple as my plan was I never ran out of things to do. The room was clean and furnished beautifully (though a bit noisy since I was underneath the rooftop restaurant. The staff was very helpful when I asked for help getting rides or directions to the local pharmacy. The cooking in the restaurant. Prices reasonable. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryedT2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Manager at Hotel Banaras Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your reviews on tripadvisor.com.we are really very much motivated from your reviews.We try to provide a home away from guest home.we give our best to make our guest happy.We pay high attention to cleanliness,food quality and taste.
we definitely wish to serve you in future on next visit to varanasi.
regards
shyam sundar pandey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The Pros of the hotel are:

1. Incredible rooftop restaurant with a breath-taking view of the Ganges River and its banks.
2. Accessibility and location of the hotel. It is situated at a stone's throw away from the Assi Ghat, the only ghat that is accessible by road.
3. Small room sizes with great interior designs.
4. Bathrooms are fitted with all the necessary amenities. There is ample space inside them as well.
Cons:
1. Immature hotel staff who need a lot of training. The best they can do is smile and greet.
2. Foreigners tend to spend a long time on the rooftop restaurant, which causes an unnecessary delay to other guests. The staff will NOT say anything to them.
3. Bad sleep quality.

The location and the rooftop restaurant are the USP of this hotel. One crazy staff, the night duty one, would barge into your room after knocking the door. I mean, who does that.

They definitely need a lot of training. But the hotel overall is very good. All the rooms are designed differently. In case you are looking for good views from inside the hotel room, then there are no such rooms with great views. The best view is from the rooftop. The reception has a small aviary behind which has colorful birds inside. Its a treat to watch.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the main road. Rest of the rooms are either looking at a building or a cow stable
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PrateekTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Manager at Hotel Banaras Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear guest
We thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com and writing for HOTEL BANARAS HAVELI. Its a case of immense happiness that you have appreciated our hotel and rooftop restaurant .we are really sad for your inconvenience you faced but We have very mature and trained staff .it is right sometimes guest spend more time on roof top but not only foreigners but Indians also.We can not say a guest to leave the place either to Indian or foreigners.
We look forward to serve you and your friends in your next. visit to Varanasi.
Regard
Shyam sundar pandey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Having just returned from my trip to Varanasi, I have to complement this lovely uplifting hotel in Assi Ghat. First and foremost, her own manager Mithlesh ji who helped us out in late notice and set us up with a beautiful executive room...his genuine presence & communication, I can see, is an integral part of the ambience of this hotel. (We miss him already!) The entire smiling staff from security at front door to waiters are down to earth and helpful. Attendees were accommodating in our frequent requests. And how relieved we were to see an elevator lift! Makes such a difference given you are often climbing stairs on the ghats.

The free breakfast rooftop sittings were wonderful with a view of Ganges and the city. There’s seating options for both outdoors and inside where buffet is set up to get shelter from the sun. Food was strict vegetarian in respect to the nearness of Ganga Mata, with varied selections of porridge, fruit, curd and aloo (potato) dishes. Also bread and parantha. I can’t say nice enough things about the waiters. Shiva Shiva went the extra mile in serving us.

The room we had was very spacious and clean. Nicely equipped with fan, a/c, coffee/tea maker, shelves and a big wardrobe. Beds & bedding were soft and comfortable. So many different lighting options in the room. Bath was refreshingly modern, water stayed hot and new towels & water bottles were brought to us on request.

With all this good, I was surprised to learn that WiFi is an additional 100 rupees each day per device after initially seeing it advertised as free WiFi. Here you have to put in the code given to you at front desk frequently throughout the 24 hour contract. Not only is that a bit of a hassle having to hold onto your receipt for the code if you can’t remember it, but this should be free as part of room charge like all hotels. (To be fair, I did read hotel reply on a review sharing that they’ve often experienced big file downloads from guests that slowed down the server, I can understand that but it’s best to at least notify here the additional WiFi fee as an option to consider. Am sure other hotels have to bear the same weight).

And yes it’s true there are nights of continuous dog barking and cow mooing, but it’s all part of Shiva’s home. Dogs and cows are everywhere through the streets, secret alleyways and ghats. Come with earplugs to adjust but then settle into the ambience of Shiva. This town, including Hotel is a true blessing. Will make it a point to stay here on next trip to Kashi for sure.

Foto: a point of view from rooftop...Ganga Mata near distance

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Butterfly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews